We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“better than expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belan Bach Lodges

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Llangadfan
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Belan Bach Lodges
Save
You added Belan Bach Lodges to your Saves list
Llangadfan SY21 0QL, Wales   |  
Hotel amenities
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“better than expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

we booked this holiday one week before going I was forever looking at the reviews and didn't know if I had made the right choice. I was absolutely delighted when we entered our lodge (the banwy) it had everything you could want it was almost like being at home! everywhere was spotless the hot tub was great and it has a washer/dryer so you can dry your towels off we took beach towels for this purpose. Great holiday will go back!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    14
    4
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
35
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Selby
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

This was our second visit with our dog during one of the hottest weeks of the year so far. I cannot praise this site enough, we had a week of pure peace and quiet which is what we were looking for. The lodge is very well equipped and it's best to take plenty of food as it's quite a trip to Welshpool to the nearerst large supermarket.
The only niggle I had is that the mattress on the double bed has seen much better days and needs replacing, it was very uncomfortable and lumpy but apart from that, I love this lodge. Because of its shaded position, the sun left the decking around 5pm leaving it cool and comfortable. Lunch on the terrace of nearby Lake Vyrnwy is a must (dogs welcome too), the staff are so pleasant and the food great. This will NOT be our last visit, once again thanks Richard!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

had a great time - fantastic views - lovely place to stay and to visit Wales from would recommend and will be going again. Thw cabin was warm and toasty, the views from the cabin were fantastic and the owners were great. Stayed 18th to 25th of ~May and had hot and sunny weather.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

stayed in celyn 1 log cabin should of been 2 but there was a little mix up.both were the same size. one double and a twin. well equipt kitchen washing machine microwave cooker fridge freezer. the views well where do i start they were fantastic we had a lamb at the side of the cabin a rabbit lots of birds and birds of pray. the weather was great which was a big bonus!!! only six cabins on the site so not over crowded. nearest shop is 2 mile away in llangadfan we walked there from the cabin nice walk. also many walks near by. drove to lake vyrnwy about 15 minute drive. lovely place. you can drive around the lake or hire a bike or walk. we walked but it is 11 mile and not many picnic areas or seats so that was only the down side to this lovely walk. lots to see and the dam is very impressive. a few shops there and cafe parking is free to. we also drove to llanrhaedr-ym-mochnant a half hour drive to see the highest water fall in england and wales. we parked in the village and thought we would walk up to it. it was further than we thought but what a lovely walk we had again another sunny day... its four mile from the village to pistyll rhaeadr water fall you can drive to it but the roads are a little narrow there are passing points along the way. great place lovely sitting by the river with are hot feet in it! there is a cafe a little expensive and parking right next to the falls is two pound but many were parking on the road just before you get there.the drive back to the cabin is nice roads are a little narrow but nice to see so many pheasants along the way. back in the cabin we got in the hot tub lovely after a days walking with a bottle of champagne... great break fantastic views well equipt cabin.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013 via mobile

I booked bluebell lodge through hoseasons for my husbands 30th birthday.we had to pay for the 3 nights fri-mon but due to a party we couldn't go until the sat so we only had the 2nights.we had a fabulous time the lodge was beautiful when we drove in we though oh I hope it's nice as the top of the road and the dirt track to it wasn't very pleasing on the eye!but don't let this put you off as when we reached it it was lovely.
There was a well stocked kitchen with all the utensils etc you need.there was no tea/sugar or milk.but I'd packed a wicker hamper with all this is and food so it was fine for us.
The hot tub was great we loved it.all we could see where fields and sheep!red kites flying above and bats in the evening.the hot tub took a hour to heat up 1 degree so we had to leave it on For a couple of hours before I could get in but I'm a cold person anyway.it snowed when we were in the tub and there was something quite magical about that.
It was so relaxing and perfect to chill out and not worry about work.
The nearest town was a good 20mins in the car and everywhere was shut on a Sunday!so we stocked up at the big tescos and went back.
Overall a fab rural place and will defiantly do it again just maybe no quite as rural but you don't know until you try it!
would recommend it though for a 3 night stay.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Group of 6 friends, from early 20's to early 30's booked and stayed in The Derwen Lodge. In one word, our short stay could be described as 'breathtaking'.
We arrived on Thursday 21st Feb and stayed until Sunday 24th Feb and thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience.
We called the owner 'Richard' on route from Essex telling him our estimated time of arrival, and he gave us best route options due to extensive traffic on the M1 and M6.
On arrival at the lodges, we were met by Richards wife who was very friendly and welcomed us to the site. She gave us some local information told us we could come knock at any time if we had any questions or problems. (They live at the very entrance to the site on t a house)
We then went to our lodge, lodge Derwen. It was larger than expected and was fully equipped, which extras that were not expected. It was clean and warm and had been prepared to a high standard.
The lodge itself could be described as a modern luxury town apartment with 2 twin rooms with comfortable single beds, and 1 large double with a en-suit bathroom with shower.
The seperate shower bathroom was large and modern with quirky features.
The kitchen, dining area and living area were all situated in the same vacinity, but were secluded to their own space. Extra facilities such as a dishwasher and washing machine were pleasing.
The fun and excitment started with the large hot tub on our own private decking, looking out into the hills and moutains near by.
Absoluntely stunning and we will be returning some time this year! Highly recommended get away break!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

Booked the onnen lodge for me, my wife , my mum and our baby daughter of 10 months , we left home on the 18th jan a very snowy day for a three night stay at the lodge and had to battle through to mid wales on the day that the weather decided it was going to dump a foot of snow on the countryside around belan bach turning it in to a winter wonderland .

Got to within 300yrds of the lodges and had to admit defeat and rang Richard (owner) who advised us to head back to the village and he would come down in his little truck and collect us all from the post office come tea shop, which after the journey we had had was most welcome . Richard came down and did two trips back up to the lodges to get us and all the luggage and baby stuff (which for a 10 month old is an unbelivable amount) settled in to the most lovely, clean, homely ,little cabin you could imagine with the added bonus of a hot tub on the veranda which was used alot over the next 3 days, there is something quite magical about being in a hot tub while a blizzard is going on around you.

Over the next two days Richard was a god send ferrying my 80yr+ mother down the hill to the post office so that we could get out and about and explore the beautiful places around the lodges, that looked even more beautiful with all the snow. Myself, Sarah and baby Willow walked the 2 miles down to the post office on both days there and back , on the sunday we had a lovely carvery at the local pub called the Cann Office which we would highly recommend to anyone.

We are eternally grateful to Richard for helping to get us to this beautiful place and would recommend it to anyone , in the ten months since Willow was born we have not felt so relaxed and stress free like we did at belan bach , we will be back.

Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belan Bach Lodges? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belan Bach Lodges

Address: Llangadfan SY21 0QL, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > Powys > Llangadfan
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Llangadfan
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Belan Bach Hotel Llangadfan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belan Bach Lodges, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.