We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Hotel, dodgy service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Avanti Mohammedia Hotel

Save Saved
You added Avanti Mohammedia Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Avanti Mohammedia Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Avenue Moulay Youssef, Mohammedia, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mohammedia
Bristol, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable Hotel, dodgy service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed at L'Amphitrite Beach Hotel in May 2012 on a business trip to near-by Ain Harrouda. On arrival it looks like a fairly nice hotel with a large welcoming reception area.
The staff on reception were fairly useless to be fair. 3 of them behind the desk but only one of them remotely capable of doing anything. Anyway, finally got checked in and went to dump bags in our rooms.

Room:
Fairly large with decent comfortable beds and good showers. The room I was in was spotlessly clean with no maintenance issues.

The bar:
We knew it would be expensive just not quite HOW expensive! €7 for a small bottle of local beer, €11 for an import beer. The service seemed good and the barman advised us of the Happy Hour between 19:00 and 22:00 where it was buy 1 get 1 free. This sounds good until you get the bill and they claim you had 1 beer each during the Happy Hour period and 7 each after it ended. I happily argued this and left the money we owed, not what they tried to charge. The barman then tried emotional black-mail by claiming he'd have to make up the shortfall. Oh well, my heart bleeds for him!

Restaurant:
The restaurant off of the reception area does a fairly decent breakfast but evening meals are just a very average buffet.
We went to the "authentic" Moroccan restaurant in the hotel grounds and it was awful. To be fair to them they originally said they couldn't fit us in due to a private function but then made room. We should have walked away as I think they just served us (overpriced) leftovers.

Staff:
We tried to get a taxi to Casablanca. No chance! The receptionist kept banging on about us needing a "big taxi". We told het to get us a "big taxi" then but even this failed. Lost in translation maybe.

Overall a fairly decent hotel just lacking in a bit of service quality.

Room Tip: Go for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    27
    16
    6
    8
See reviews for
6
14
5
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Mohammedia is a great place to visit for a beach experience in Morocco, where the numbers of tourists are to the minimum, something to be very glad of! And to be fair, l'amphritite did seem to be one of the best options for luxury stay.

However there were some things to take a slight shine of what is intended to be a top class resort. Breaking your neck going down to the pool toilets would not be difficult. The maintenance in the rooms and in general was of pretty poor standard, but the hotel in general is definitely as plush as the pictures show, if not close-up! One morning the management for some reason tried to prevent hotel guest from using the pool-side beds, in order to offer them to a public event but gladly guest-power prevailed, and the event was over-priced anyway. On the subject of price the food was to a good standard but extortionately priced - plenty of good affordable food on offer within a few hundred metres - the spicy hotdogs from the stalls are HIGHLY recommended...!

Room Tip: Beach view was a great plus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bursa
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2012

The hotel has a bar ground level and some private parties including hotel management are given even in late night causing your wake-up at 3 o'clock in the morning.
Very poor management.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baza, Spain
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

Although the staff were friendly enough we had to move rooms as the toilet and TV didn't function as they should, the TV in the second room worked but the power socket were you slot your pass card in fell out exposing bare wires and the bathroom was dirty.

Exhausted from our journey through Morocco we headed for the bar and were told by a waiter that there would be half price drinks between 7 and 10 that evening so we indulged, he was attentive and when we went to settle our account in the morning the reception staff said that the 'Happy Hour' advertised all over the hotel was not indicating half price drinks but a singer that had come in and performed in the bar to make people happy! Our drinks bill amounted to more than our over priced rooms and we weren't exactly partying.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money there are other hotels that are better value for money. If you're stu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012 via mobile

They incorrectly charged me taxes that were included in my Expedia booking. While I called from reception to confirm with Expedia, they threatened to charge me for the call after I was proven right. Most hotels would trip over themselves to apologise.

Other than that the service has been friendly. Nice facilities, free gym, great pool. A 33cl beer will set you back almost GBP 6,USD 9 and nowhere else sells alcohol.

Watch your bill and hopefully the same manager won't be on site to ruin your day!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

This is a nice 4* hotel with courteous staff. Rooms are decent size with comfortable bed, tv has one or two English channels. The hotel is a good 40mins drive from the hotel; if you are not here for business I'm not sure why you would go to mohammedia though. Most people staying here are there for business or family/festive gatherings. We were guests at a wedding. The beach is very long and wide. However, when we were there the garbage collectors had been on strike since may and the beach and roads were piling over with rubbish. Still there were lots of people playing football on the beach and lovebirds on the promenade. We were happy just to stay at the nice big pool. Breakfast is large buffet with good mixture of foods. Diner is ok, pasta nice and good price, steak was awful. Wines are only local wines and all drinks are expensive enough at european prices (4/5*) gym is actually one of the best hotel gyms I have been in Europe. Any treatment you want in the spa you need to book ahead for the next day at least which is disappointing if you want to have a treatment on day of arrival. As it was always booked out we didn't get to have any massages we were looking forward to. Nice hotel, but not much to do there.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the beach but slightly higher floors will prevent promenade walkers looking into...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2011

We were attending a godson's wedding in Casablanca and this was the base hotel. Mohammedia is on the coast North of Casablanca and off the track for many British tourists. We were surprised to find a large, well designed, modern hotel with every facility you could wish for, including a spa which my wife found excellent. There was also a superb pool and sunbathing area with bar and restaurant service.
Be sure to reserve a room with sea view overlooking a very large sandy beach. Our room matched the best room one could find in any European hotel.
There was a choice of several restaurants including French and Moroccan cuisines. We had the 'menu du jour' on the first evening which was very good value, but the choice did not change for the few days we were there.
Mohammedia is on the main railway line which joins Marrakesh with Casablanca and Fez. The train service is fast and to a very high standard.

Room Tip: Reserve a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Avanti Mohammedia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avanti Mohammedia Hotel

Address: Avenue Moulay Youssef, Mohammedia, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Grand Casablanca Region > Mohammedia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Mohammedia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avanti Mohammedia Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open in 2011, Avanti Mohammedia, presents the ambience of a boutique-style hotel. Your City RESORT with Atlantic Ocean beachfront location,only 20 minutes from Casablanca & 45 minutes from International Mohammed V airport. All 157 guestrooms (30 sqm) including 18 suites from 70sqm to 350 sqm) feature modern amenities and personal workspaces. There is a choice of 3 restaurants offering a mix of international and local cuisine.Drinks and refreshments are served in the Lobby Bar, evening Lounge, and poolside, whilst the Night Club is the spot for late-night clubbing. The spa offers a comprehensive menu of treatments, therapies and pampering to relax and rejuvenate the senses, while a generously-sized swimming pool and well-equipped exercise room add to the pleasures of wellbeing. For meetings, seminars and private parties, Avanti Mohammedia, offers a convenient and dedicated venue, including four meeting room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Avanti Mohammedia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avanti Mohammedia Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.