We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise, Paradise, Paradise.....!!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Ari Atoll, Republic of the Maldives, 20187   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Paradise, Paradise, Paradise.....!!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

Just come back from Vilamendhoo and what a fabulous week we had…starting of with a flight on the new Dreamliner, we upgdraded to premium seats, lovely plane, flys higher and faster and is quieter in the cabin, my only grip is that they have one row of seats too many as it is a struggle to get out past the person you are next too especially when seats are reclined but I understand this is being dealt with later in the year.
Thomson crew were brilliant and looked after me really well after I became very ill mid-flight so thank you to them!

Island
Vilamendhoo is a lovely island, this is the second island we have been to and we absolutely loved every single moment – even when it rained!.
It is beautiful and you just have to stroll around it a couple of times a day which takes about 20-30 mins even longer when you stop of at the Asian Wok for a drink or 2.
The sand is fine and not gravelly, we were on the non-windy side that has a smaller sandy area but beautiful none the less, plenty of space for sunbeds and there is shade from the palm trees etc if needed.
It is just amazing to see the black tip sharks feeding and swimming by your feet, and just walking out to the reef at low tide to see the fish on the coral is quite surreal!

Villa
We were BJV number 218 and was the perfect location for us, 2-3 mins from the sunset bar and lovely pool, perfectly positioned sunbeds allocated to our villa on the beach, ideal for the sunsets too!
Lovely room with everything you need, very clean inside and our room boy did a fantastic job maintaining it throughout our stay, the Jacuzzi was nice to have and we used it quite a lot, this also has the water changed weekly so it is clean etc..

Restaurant/bar
Excellent food in the main restaurant, all buffet but everynight there was also a grill and often a meat carvery. We cannot fault the food it was lovely and there are many choices so there is something for everybody.
I liked the fact that we could sit anywhere we wanted unlike some islands where you are allocated the same table.
A big thank you to Hassan our waiter who was brilliant and knew how we had our drinks etc..
We ate one night in the Asian Wok and had a fabulous meal, we went for the a-la-carte and it was one of the best meals on a holiday I have had, a really nice evening that I recommend.

SPA
We used our free massage and also booked additional treatments, a lovely experience and had we had 10 days or more would have gone again, really nice to have.

Snorkelling
Best Snorkelling I have ever done and the house reef is just amazing, such a lot of different fish to see, it was just breathtaking at times.
I have swum with Turtles a few times previously and really wanted to do the Manta Rays etc, but as we only had a week I had decided to leave excursions to next time as we will somehow come back here.

Conclusion
One of, if not the most relaxing holidays ever on a marvellous island, from what I heard when speaking to other people on holiday is that this is one of the best islands they have been to.
All the staff here are wonderful and make the holiday as well, nice friendly and happy staff help make a holiday a fantastic holiday and they certainly did, I cannot remember names of staff im afraid but they all deserve a massive pay-rise!!!!
A reall shame Thomson have been priced out of the Maldives but we are planning to come back in 3 years time for our 25 wedding anniversary – so Vilamendhoo until then a huge – THANK YOU

Room Tip: JBV 218, perfect location great view out onto beach and the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Paul,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo!

Thank you very much for taking your precious time in giving us insight of your holiday experience with us.

We feel really special to see our guests’ grade the holiday with us very special and best ever.
I have heard so many good comments from guests who flew with Dreamliner and I am glad you had a wonderful journey too. It is a pleasure to learn you enjoyed the room that we allocated you with the gorgeous surrounding and of course not too distant from the sunset bar 

Our house reef plays a vital role in making our guests’ stay with us incredibly memorable and I am glad that you enjoyed it so much too. The reef is so rich with thousands of different colourful fishes, different types of corals and many other creatures around and it is so special that you swim with turtles at the reef. I am glad that you have left swimming with Mantas for the next time you stay with us. It sounds promising and my team is so excited to learn that you will be returning to stay with us on a special occasion of 25th wedding anniversary.

We are so lucky to witness newborn sharks inshore and in shallower water than the adults who roams around the deep sea and our divers are able to spot them at times. They are timid and skittish by nature and it is not a danger to humans. They normally eat small bony fishes, cephalopods and crustaceans.

Thank you for your compliments to my team and it is certainly very special for me and the General Manager Mr. Thoha Rasheed to be part of this amazing team. And certainly the management takes care of the team and that’s one reason many of our return guests are able to see the same faces every time when they return as staff turnover is very minimum. I will share your feedback with the whole team, especially with Hassan, your waiter and Zahir, your room boy as well as Duniye Spa team who would be delighted to know that they managed impress you.

Paul, please let me know if there is anything that I can do to help your next holiday with us.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operation
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,175
    291
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
183
1,171
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2014

This was our first trip to the Maldives and we'd read so many amazing reviews about Vilamendhoo island , so we decided to go to see what all the fuss was about.We would of left a review earlier however we have had holiday blues and couldn't believe it had been and gone.We stayed on the island from 17/02/14 - 03/03/2014.

We traveled on the Thomson Dream liner from Gatwick airport on 16th Feb 2014 .This plane is very smooth and really high tech.The plane its self had mood lighting and you could tint the windows when you felt you needed to sleep which is really nice. Our flight took 11:30hrs so you do need the rest.

We arrived at Male early on the morning around 9am on 17th Feb and after immigration we were sent to the sea plane terminal via a small bus which was only around 5 minutes away from the airport .The terminal gave us refreshments as well as lunch which was beautiful. we were waiting for the sea plane over an hour which really didn't bother us because we were so excited to be there and experience this .We then boarded the seaplane and views were outstanding it took around 20minutes to arrive at Vilamendhoo island.

When our sea plane landed next to Vilamendoo we were blown away the island looked like something out of a story book and the sea was crystal clear.We were not aware that places like this existed in the world .This exceeded our expectations by far it actually brings a tear to my eye knowing its been and gone.We were placed onto a pontoon for around 5 minutes and a boat from the island came and collected us .

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly staff and also the Thomson rep Lou.We then walked along to reception. We were given a cold towel and refreshments .A lady came and spoke to us and gave us our room key and some info on the island.We were also informed that we'd been upgraded for two nights into a JWV room 309 , this left us speechless. We couldn't believe how well this holiday was starting off and to be upgraded was just amazing.The lady advised that if a room was free then they offer clients these rooms for the experience .We had booked a JBV which were also amazing too .

We then checked into our room.The JWV's are spotless clean and very spacious.You have a mini bar which gets refilled daily and also a room boy who cleans "twice a day".There is also a safe to store your possessions which can be used free of charge.The views from this accommodation were outstanding to say the least.We saw reef sharks , sting rays and many species of fish just from standing on our balcony outside . You have your own private entrance to the sea down a set of stairs . The coral reef is breath taking and i cannot put this into words.

We decided to sleep on arrival as we were exhausted from our travels.The beds are very comfy and we slept very well . The air con works a treat as well and waking up the next day was like waking up in a dream.

We went for lunch the next day and met our waiter Muaz . Muaz was very sweet and nothing was too much he'd always greet us on arrival with a really big smile and catered for our every need.The chefs in the Ahima restaurant were also very friendly and welcoming we met a chef called Walter who always approached us and told us about the different foods etc and asked how we were and what our plans were for the duration of our stay.The food was beautiful lots of choice and different every day.We cannot fault a single thing we ate.

On our second night in the JWV we had a phone call from the reception asking if we wanted to go on a cruise for 1 night all inclusive absolutely free the next morning, we jumped at the chance of this.

We took a day bag on the cruise with us with our snorkels a change of clothes and wash products. We left early morning and my partner left our personnel belongings in the safe behind reception , which included an ipad and over $1000 in cash and many other things.We were greeted at the reception and then boarded the cruise.We then met Moosa who was a room Boy on the island / supervisor .Moosa was our host and made our trip everything and more we cannot say enough about this guy. Moosa was extremely professional we'd thought he worked on the cruise often but was advised this was his first trip with guests. Moosa went through the boat safety with us and explained what the trip would consist of including visiting a sand bank , whale sharks, turtles,manta and also a BBQ on a nearby island as well as a spot of line fishing.We were lucky enough to see all of the above including dolphins too.The boat was spotlessly clean and we were waited on hand and foot from all the staff.You have a shower as well to freshen up and the food was beautiful.This boat was amazing.We would advise anyone who wishes to take the opportunity of the cruise to ask for Moosa to be host as he made the trip what it was, we left a comment at the reception about his professionalism and hosting skills as these were second to none.

One arrival back to island after our trip we went to the reception to collect our keys as we were being placed into a JBV which we'd booked originally.My partner had placed our belongings in a safe and DIDN'T lock it ooopppss. (men ha) . However nothing at all was taken to our shock this just proves the trust and loyalty of this place and staff.The JBV are gorgeous too and just steps away from the beautiful sea .These rooms are very spacious.You also have your very own patch of beach and sunbed to relax which is brilliant as u don't need to fight for beds like some other resorts out there.

I visited the spa on the island too.The ladies were lovely i booked a manicure which was well worth the money.On arrival you are also given a complementary massage for 15 minutes.

We decided to ask about the cruise again as we wanted to go back onto it as our first time blew us away.We spoke with reception and Moosa's supervisor about going back.We were kindly booked to go back on the trip free of charge for 2 nights plus we asked if Moosa could be host and our wishes were granted.After this trip we were kindly upgraded to a JWV free of charge until departure in room 329 which was located at the end of the pier.

If anyone is reading this review and thinking about visiting this island PLEASE just book it you WONT be disappointed this island is heaven on earth.We have recommended our friends and family to visit and WILL definitely be returning without a doubt.We hope to return next year.

Thank you so much to all the staff on Vilamendhoo island we've had the time of our lives.We now call this island our home from home and nothing will compare to it. We will be returning.!!!

William & Louise

Room Tip: I would recommend 100% that you choose JWV. .I would recommend room 329 on the south side of the isl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Louise & William,

Greeting from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for taking your time to give such a detailed description of our facilities and services.
In addition thank you very much for the rating and your recommendations.

It is so pleasing to read how thrilled you are by staying with us and that all your expectations were met.

Sorry to hear that you have encountered a delay on your seaplane transfer to Vilamendhoo. On the brighter side we are very happy that you were taken care by our Lounge staffs.
Thank you for your great comment on the variety delicious food in the restaurants and our executive chef will be more than happy to learn you loved it. I am thrilled to read you appreciate the great service we have provided during your stay.

We really appreciate your kind words and I will share your marvelous feedback with Muaz (Waiter), Walter (Chef), Moosa (Cruise Host) and our entire team.

On behalf of the entire team, we hope to welcome you again. For further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact me or the Reservation team and we will be glad to assist you.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operation
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

This was our first trip to the Maldives and a lot of research was done prior to booking and It certainly paid off. We arrived by seaplane, a good experience in itself with wonderful views of other islands and on arriving at the jetty we were met by the Vilamendhoo boat and representative. From that moment on we were made to feel very welcome on this paradise island. We travelled with friends and had requested that we had rooms close to one another so as to spend time on the beach together. Our request was granted with lovely rooms next to each other on a beautiful expanse of the beach. Perfect, and thank you Vilamendhoo for granting our wishes. We stayed in a Jacuzzi beach villa which is the adults only part of the island. The room was clean (thank you Shazzy) and comfortable and any reservations I may have had about an outdoor bathroom were quickly dispelled, it was fascinating lying in the Jacuzzi watching the fruit bats flying around!
Vilamendhoo runs like a well oiled machine. I find it quite mind boggling to think of how they achieve such a slick service and supply such good choices of food and drink on such a small island. Staff on Vilamendhoo are wonderful; so friendly and attentive. Our waiter Mallik knew by our second breakfast our choice of hot drink and served it exactly to our liking every day. He waited at our table for every meal and pre-empted requirements for drinks, smiling all the time. The food choice is excellent, lovely salads, curries, cold cuts, in fact too many to mention but always presented well and delicious to eat. A special mention to Joji the chef who greeted my husband at every meal to guide him round the buffet to dishes he could safely have on a gluten free diet. It made his eating experience so much better rather than having to stick to the obvious safe choices. He particularly enjoyed the curries! The beach sweepers were also always ready with a cheery smile each morning and they kept the place looking pristine - thank you to them too.
We took advantage of the free snorkelling lesson which certainly encouraged me (never been keen to be in the water with fish!) to give it a go. By the end of the holiday, having snorkelled every day, I was spending longer on the outer part of the reef, surrounded by myriads of colourful fish of all sizes and was rewarded by seeing a turtle too. Snorkelling is definitely a highlight of this lovely place and it is easy accessing the reef. If I can do it - anyone can!
The free sunset cruise, as part of our AI package, was also worthwhile - luckily we did see the sunset as some days of our holiday we did experience rain. The weather on the whole was very good but even when we did get rain it was warm and we just went walking in our swimsuits and then swimming in the pool, which turned out to be quite a fun experience when the rain got really heavy!
We did one paid trip to see a whale shark and were very fortunate to see one. It takes about 2 hours to get to the site and there are no guarantees but if you are lucky then it is very exciting and worthwhile. I would warn however that you need to be a competent and strong swimmer to snorkel in the sea with them. It was quite choppy and there were probably a few more people than ideal going in the water. You also definitely need flippers! Two men without flippers had to be helped back on board as the currents were too much to cope with. I stayed on the boat but still saw this magnificent creature quite clearly, I would have been in trouble if I had entered the water!
I could continue to wax lyrical about Vilamendhoo, it is the most relaxing place and contrary to other holidays (also good) where I begin to feel the holiday has done its job and it's time to go home - I could quite happily have stayed indefinitely on this jewel of an island in the Indian Ocean!
A big thank you to everyone who looked after us so well. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear fairbankredds,

Warm greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

I am so please to read your amazing holiday experience with us and thank you so much for taking time to share it.

Certainly the experience of Seaplane is unique and it makes the ultimate holiday experience of all our guests very special.

As you have experienced, Jacuzzi Beach Villas here are spacious, with wood floor, an iPod docking station, a private, walled-in outdoor area featuring a Jacuzzi for two “under the stars”, a wooden sundeck with chaise lounges, a shade umbrella, tropical plants and a beautiful view of the lagoon and it is satisfying for me to find out that you loved it so much.

From food, room to the nature we are very lucky to live and work here and all my team is very satisfied that we managed to deliver the service that you expected and I will convey your compliments to Shazee, Manik and Joji who works very hard every day to make our guests happy.

When visiting Vilamendhoo, there are must do activities for our guests - Whale Shark Excursion , Manta and Turtle excursion, visiting on Dhangethi Local island, house reef snorkelling - which makes holiday experience memorable.

We are very fortunate to have a lively house reef at our door step with plenty of colourful fishes and corals. It definitely enriches the beauty of the island.

I am very happy to learn that you took the free sunset punch cruise excursion for AIP guests and it is indeed a great chance to see the dolphins and enjoy the extra ordinary scenery of the Maldivian Sunsets.

Fairbankredds, thank you so much for letting us know that we did well meeting your expectation and it excites me along with my team to hear that you will be returning soon to see all of us.

Kind Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

Vilamendhoo was the best beach holiday we had so far! Upon arrival, we were greeted with absolutely good service and very refreshing ice tea. Our request via email was noted and we were given a very nice beach villa with amazing beach front and view. We took the whale shark excursion on our second day and us, being poor swimmers, were not as quick and confident enough to chase after the big animal in the sea. Fearing that we will not be able to catch a glimpse of the whale shark, two extremely helpful and sincere staff actually grab our hands in the sea and pull us along while swimming to see the whale shark. We were speechless and appreciative of their act. Without them, my partner and I will sure not see anything in the vast ocean. Unfortunately, we did not catch their names. However, we did gave each of them a small token of appreciation to show our gratitude.
The spa was nice, the food and desserts were fantastic! The coral reef were amazing! We really hope to come back again for another romantic getaway! Till then, please remain or become more awesome!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Xdsy,

Warm greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking time in giving us a great review of your recent holiday with us.
It is always our pleasure to cater for every guest demand and the email requests regarding rooms, special diet etc are well taken care of and subjecting to the availability of the rooms we always try our very best to allocate the exact room number guests requests or the range given by the guest.

I am very impressed that you saw whale sharks and enjoyed the exceptional service by our team. We always highly emphasize these excursions for the swimmers only.

I will share your compliment with Duniye Spa team who will be delighted to know that you enjoyed the spa very much.

Thank you once more for staying with us and I hope to welcome you back very soon to Vilamendhoo.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Malling, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Having researched almost every island in the Maldives, my wife and I finally decided to spend our Honeymoon at Vilamendhoo for 2 weeks in February - and what a fantastic decision it was! The island offers the perfect balance between secluded barefoot luxury and plenty to keep yourself occupied if you really feel the need to take a break from all that sunbathing and relaxing in the crystal clear lagoon.

We flew with Thomson Dreamliner from Gatwick which was perfectly comfortable and arrived at Male after 10 hours. The air-conditioned sea-plane lounge is a welcome relief and we were soon flying over the Atolls towards Vilamendhoo. On arrival we were provided with a cold drink and flannel and were requested to take a seat and wait for a member of staff to provide our room key. Now this is probably the one area I think the resort could improve on - first time guests are quite blatantly deprioritised during the check-in process without remorse in favour of “repeater” guests. I understand guests returning to the island should be recognised to some extent however I don’t feel that first time visitors should be made to feel quite so second-class. The resort could adopt a more subtle approach rather than announcing “repeater guests follow me to the front desk, everyone else take a seat!” Nonetheless we were soon in our gorgeous JBV with allocated sunbeds and sea views. The rooms are spacious and comfortable with a mini-bar, hair-dryer and iPod dock, and the open-air bathroom is fitted to a high spec with a lovely Jacuzzi. We were allocated a detached JBV on the north side of the island but requested to move to the south side after a couple of days where the sea is much calmer and the wind isn’t quite so strong. The beach is wider on the north side and it obviously doesn’t get as hot as it does on the south side due to the wind however I think it comes down to personal preference - we much preferred the sun-facing calmer lagoon in the south to the wider, windier and more rugged beach on the north side. The resort staff were more than happy to oblige and reallocated us at the next available opportunity. It is worth noting here that I did request a JBV on the south side months in advance of our stay but I soon learned from the front desk that it doesn’t matter how far in advance you request a certain type of room, they only look at special requests during the normal allocation process which occurs a day before guests arrive. They then allocate on a best effort basis depending on what is available at the time. I suppose it’s unreasonable to expect anything more really as the island operates on full capacity and cannot hold rooms empty while they wait for the arrival of certain guests, but it is worth knowing in case anyone reading this is hoping to request a specific room.

OK, small grumbles aside, everything else about the island is first class. The house reef is stunning, the food is unbelievable and rarely repeated over 2 weeks - no matter what plate of food I put together, it always tasted exceptional, the grounds are well kept and the scenery is breath-taking. Every single member of staff is a credit to the resort (especially our waiter Muaz!) as they are all so friendly, genuine and kind-hearted. How anyone could ever mistake this for arrogance is beyond me - yes, culturally the Maldivians are slightly more reserved than westerners but all you need to do is speak to them, show some courtesy and their warmth and humility will soon become obvious.

The highlight of our honeymoon has to be the Valentine's candle-lit beach dinner. The food was amazing, and the acoustic band playing on the beach combined with the full moon and the barely audible ripple of waves, made it one of the most memorable nights of our lives. Thanks Vilamendhoo for such a perfect honeymoon - we really do hope to return one day, and sincerely hope that when we do, the UK tour operators haven’t been completely outbid by international competitors… but that’s another story…

Room Tip: In our opinion the JBVs on the south side of the island were best located: sun-facing; less windy; m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 25, 2014
Dear Vaughn,

Greeting from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

Our professional and friendly team members are here to make each and every guests’ experience as comfortable and memorable as possible.

We are very much disappointed to hear that you were saddened with our check – in procedure.
We strive to deliver a personal welcome to all our guests. Thank you very much for sharing your opinion, we will share your review with our management and will improve the check – in procedure in future.

Please note that we cannot guarantee to our guests the room numbers or locations in advance as the room allocation is done only upon the guests arrival and subject to the availability.
However, we always well note guests request and give our best effort to honor the request. If we are unable to honor the request on arrival we always honor the guests requests on the earliest possible availability.

I apologize for the inconvenienced caused on your arrival for the room and I am glad to hear that our staffs we able to provide you with an accommodation that satisfied you.

It gives us a great pleasure how much you enjoyed and that you liked the accommodation we provided you with. It is always lovely to hear that the guests have enjoyed every minute of their time with us.

I am delighted you were impressed with the special Valentine’s Day dinner and the beautiful surroundings and that the staffs from the Food & Beverage department were able to exceeded your expectation.

Please note that your kind words have been shared with the entire team and have been passed on to Mr. Muaz specifically.

Once again, I would like to personally thank you for your lovely feedback.

We are delighted that you chose to stay with us and we hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa in the near future.

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operation
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

From the moment you arrive at your seaplane departure point. You know this is a special holiday flying low over the islands, until vilamendahoo appears a green isle set in a blue sea.
On arrival the nothing is to much trouble for the staff.
Once settled you can begin to enjoy the magnificent food ( deserts to die for).

The home reef makes it easy for even the most timid of swimmers to see a wide variety of exotic fish
(dolphins a regular feature ).

The only sad thing apart from coming home is that direct flights via Thomson will no longer be available. But take the trouble to travel independently it's worth the effort.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Rodney - June R,

Sunny greetings from Vilmendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you for taking your precious time in writing a wonderful review about your recent holiday with us.

I am so pleased to learn that everything went so well during your stay. It is always very satisfying for me and the team to hear the true experience of our guests so that we can focus on improving.

We are truly blessed to live in such a beautiful place and it is pleasing to have guests who appreciate the beauty of our little paradise. We try our very best to keep the flora and fauna untouched.

I am truly grateful for the hard working kitchen team for preparing amazing food for every meal time, 3 times a day and glad that you liked the food especially desserts.

Vilamendhoo has one of the best house reefs in the Maldives and you are so lucky to see dolphins at the house reef. We also have different colourful tropical fishes, turtles, napoleons right at our door step.

Rodney - June R, I am really excited to hear that you will be visiting us again and I am sure there will be direct flights from UK in future too. Should you need any assistance in booking your next holiday, please contact us.

Many Thanks,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

We have been to the Maldives 6 times and this was our favourite of all the Islands. The beach villas were amazing, food very good and the service was excellent. Sadly Thomson no longer go to the Maldives because they were the most reasonable travel agent for cost, so this will probably be our last holiday there

Room Tip: The garden rooms were very good but the beach villas were 50 yards from the beach-amazing. We stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MohamedSolah, Director of Operations at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, March 12, 2014
Dear Eve J,

Sunny greetings from Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

Thank you for your kind words and grading us so high on your 6th visit to the Maldives and it gives me a lot of encouragement that are on top of all the other islands that you have previously visited.

Please note that we will have other UK operators along with some of the Thompson Group still selling the island in future. If you need any assistance planing your next holiday to Vilamendhoo, please feel free to contact us directly on reservations@vilamendhooisland.com

Warm Regards,
Mohamed Solah, Director of Operations
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Address: South Ari Atoll, Republic of the Maldives, 20187
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 30 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 111 Beach Villas and 13 Garden Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.