We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   South Ari Atoll, Republic of the Maldives, 20187   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We have only just returned from our perfect 2 weeks of R&R, on Vilamendhoo. I don't know how any other destination is going to live up to it, we had a jacuzzi beach villa (219) perfect, 22 little steps to our sun beds and the ocean. The food was without doubt the best all inclusive we have ever had, be prepared to gain a few pounds as the choice is vast. We were very lucky with the weather, the little rain we did have was during the evening or overnight so didn't stop our sunbathing or snorkelling. Walk around the island both during the day and at night it takes on a different feel under the moonlight.We have been lucky enough to have travelled to some lovely places over the years and up until now Turks & Caicos was our favourite, not anymore. Thats just been eclipsed by Vilamendhoo. Just go you will not regret it, we plan already to return for another holiday.

Room Tip: We had thought about booking a water villa, so glad we didn't, I think for us they were a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Guest Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Dear Karen S,

Very warm greetings from Maldives!

We are very happy to hear that you would return!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,176
    291
    57
    19
    11
See reviews for
183
1,172
21
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (553)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Romford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Wow I had an amazing stay with my now fiancé at this beautiful island. My review is based on our stay in a water jacuzzi villa (although all the rooms look good) . Well i'll start with the welcome , cool wet towels and a fresh juice brought straight away after landing in our sea plane , we were also handed a booklet explaining the excursions . Our Thomson rep Lou met us to make sure our previous tour (Sri Lanka ) went well , and invite us to a very detailed briefing. The WJV itself was big and very well appointed , on the first night we had a bottle of champagne (on ice room delivered compliments of the manager ) in our jacuzzi . The room itself was kept spotlessly clean and there is a turn down service in the evening. The bed was large and comfortable, the bathroom modern with an open wall to your jacuzzi deck (private area to sunbathe).The front sun deck was also nicely done with steps into the lagoon.My top tip is to go all inclusive , you get a wide choice included in your mini bar even white and red wine , it will save you a lot of money. Now to the restaurant , amazing service , you have the same waiter throughout your stay , and the food (buffet style) was of a very high standard. The island itself boasts an amazing reef , which I snorkelled on a daily basis . Again thanks to the all inclusive We went out on a kayak for an hour , it was free as was the sunset cruise excursion. As for tipping , no one expects you to carry money around , so it is acceptable to tip at the end of the holiday , it is your decision but the staff work very hard and deserve it, they also treat you well throughout the holiday without you needing to keep tipping (like some places I've stayed in). All in all it is an island paradise made even better by an amazing management staff team , I would recommend this to even my hardest to please friends with confidence and hope to return here.

Room Tip: A water jacuzzi villa is worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear DaveyG32,

Sunny greetings from paradise!

Thank your for your kind review! We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed a amazing time on Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa and we hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Makkah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Everything was great.
We loved this resort and we hope to stay again.
We loved the beach , sea , food , snorkeling , room and island.
staff was smiling face and kind.
WE SPENT A ROMANTIC MOMENTS :)))))))
We love you Vilamendhoo :-*

Room Tip: beach Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Fuad A,

we love to to read your wonderful review! Thank you!

It would be a great pleasure to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quezon City, Quezon City, Philippines
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

GOOD:

The house reef is really HUGE. But it is not that colorful compared to other reef houses. The food was actually excellent. I have no complaints at all. They tried to diversify their food everyday with different themes each night.
Highlights will be the great views, able to see little sharks in action and even if you are in a garden villa you can go to the water villas as long as you are an adult. The water villas are definitely the best locations.


BAD:
The service is not that good. We were in full board package and we thought that we could refill our water bottles in the morning for lunch and dinner as we have read that this is what other people do. But when we got there we tried to do it and 3 of the staff were just staring at us with contempt on their faces. (Unfortunately I was not able to take a picture). My companion was staring back as well because she felt really irritated. Then she said YES? and none of them replied. She repeated herself and said YES??? and finally one of the evil eye looking staff said that we can consume the drinks but not refill our bottles. We said OK we understand. They could have just told us so in the beginning instead of looking at us like we were criminals.

Also when we were trying to fix our bill for snorkeling gear, the woman there said "it was getting ridiculous" as I was saying that is it possible to group together snorkeling gear + fins so its cheaper. Because what they did was they split it into 2 rooms. It was not their fault and it wasn't our fault because we didn't know that was the way they were going to charge. However I think it would have been better if they just helped us fix the issue which they did eventually instead of saying its "ridiculous". Also be prepared to wait when renting or returning snorkeling gear.

We went on the whaleshark excursion and did not see the whaleshark. We cancelled our turtle excursion as we were really really sick during the boat even after taking the medicine before the excursion. Those who have a weak stomach be prepared for 4 hours of really rocky waves.

Also they told us that they will replace the towels twice a day. This is not true. I placed our towels on the floor in the morning. After lunch it was still there. After dinner it was still there. It will take a reallyyyyy long time for towels to be delivered so try to ask for it in advance.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tasukiph,

Very warm regards from Maldives!

We thank you for advising us of your experience. Your input is valued and is being addressed with the management team who will make sure that our standards stay of the highest quality!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

I really don't know where to start.
This place is heaven on earth, perfect for honeymooners.
We stayed in a jacuzzi water villa and if you didn't need to eat, there's no need ever to leave.
The villa was spotless on arrival and stayed that way for 2 weeks. The bed was changed every day, towels changed everyday (we left our beach towels on our chairs, nipped out for a beer, it pored down. By the time we went back to the room, housekeeping had been in, picked them up and replaced them with dry ones).
The food was excellent with an amazing choice for all three meals and service matched the food.
Our only problem was, only one suitcase travelled with us on the seaplane transfer and the other didn't arrive until late evening. I would suggest you mix and match clothes, toiletries etc in your cases.

Room Tip: A jacuzzi water villa a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Maria G,

Sunny greetings from heaven on earth!

Thank you for your generous review! We are very happy that your enjoyed the excellent food and the wonderful Jaccuzi Water Villa! We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

By far the easiest five circles I've ever given - this place is amazing.

It looks just like it does in the photos and is the most relaxing place I've been to.

The arrival on the sea plane is a fabulous experience, with mind-blowing views. On arrival your met with smiles that continue throughout your stay.

We were given a beach villa on the south side, the villa was lovely but we didn't think the beach space was as nice as the other side. The hotel were great at moving us and the other villa was just as lovely.

The ants etc in the bathroom can be a bit annoying but I found spraying the toilet with insect repellant worked well! I really liked the feeling of showering outside and it was better than a small pokey inside bathroom.

The resort itself is spotless - everywhere so clean. I am one of these funny people who when round the pool or at the bar goes back to their room to use the toilet but I didn't in this resort, which believes me speaks volumes!

We thought the food was lovely, always something new to try and nothing repeated, which was a shame as some things we had were so yummy!

The staff were amazing, so friendly and nothing too much trouble. Special mention to Robin and all the bar staff.

My only slight gripe was the bed in our room, it was two singles pushed together so the gap in the middle was noticeable and uncomfortable.

I would definitely go back.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear nichollsb01,

Sunny greetings from your amazing holiday destination in the Indian Ocean!

Thank you for taking your time to share your Vilamendhoo Island experience! We are very happy to read that you would return! We can't wait to see you soon!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Island
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This place really is paradise... I've travelled the world to many great places and this one is definitely top three.. The staff can't do enough for you, the food is the best I've had for a holiday resort, even being vegetarian there was a good amount of food choices especially if you like curry as different vege curries daily inc fish or meat if you like those. In my experience the reef is better than the barrier reef Australia for snorkeling. We stayed in a JWV, wow, worth spending that little bit more.. The only negative was the flight with Thomson but from what I've heard they won't be doing this resort from May next year. Not a negative but a small comment for the resort that with my experience with 4/5* all inclusive, all drinks should be within, including all alcoholic drinks & The Asian wok being such a lovely restaurant, would be nice to give all inclusive one meal within the holiday.. But Any one considering booking this resort, don't hesitate... Book!!!

Room Tip: JWV is a must, sleeping with the ocean below you!!!!!! What a dream!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CCRMaldives, Public Relations Manager at Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Ke22sa21,

Very warm greetings from paradise!

Thank you so much for your wow-feedback! We are very happy to read that you truly enjoyed your time on Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa!

We hope to see you back soon!

Warm regards
Vilamendhoo Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa

Address: South Ari Atoll, Republic of the Maldives, 20187
Location: Maldives > Alifu Atoll > Southern Ari Atoll > Vilamendhoo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vilamendhoo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vilamendhoo Island Resort, surrounded by a beautiful lagoon, an excellent house reef and long stretches of white, sandy beach, is the only Resort on the island of Vilamendhoo, South Ari Atoll. It is 900 meters long by 250 meters wide, about 55 acres. Your seaplane transfer from Ibrahim Nasir International Airport is a scenic, 25 minute flight. 184 Rooms include 30 Jacuzzi Water Villas, 30 Jacuzzi Beach Villas, 111 Beach Villas and 13 Garden Rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamendhoo Island Hotel Vilamendhoo
Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa Maldives
Hotel Vilamendhoo Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vilamendhoo Island Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.