We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loving the Fish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fins Restaurant

Fins Restaurant
Fencebay | Fencefoot Farm, Fairlie KA29 0EG, Scotland
+44(0)1475 568989
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 3 restaurants in Fairlie
Cuisines: Seafood, Scottish
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Scotland
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Loving the Fish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

This was our first meal here since it re-opened last year. I wish we had gone sooner! The food was of the usual high standard but there were a number of noticeable improvements. Firstly, the service was excellent, a young team of waiters and waitresses could not have been more attentive, nothing was too much trouble. The other big difference was the prices, the main courses were all very reasonable, especially considering the standard of food we had, I always used to feel "Fins" was overpriced but not anymore.
It's all about the food here, hats off to the Chef, he sure knows what he's doing with fish, each dish we had was perfect, if you are a fish lover you really have to visit this restaurant and sample some.
We are already looking forward to our next visit (this weekend).

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

95% Recommend
    62
    9
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful Food, Wonderful Service = A very Special and Enjoyable Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I WOW what an amazing place, the whole experience was a total joy, the food was outstandingly delicious and the service second to none... The management totally understand how it should be done, and this is such a refreshing change. Well done to ALL concerned and a Big THANK YOU for making my husband’s birthday such a special occasion...one of the best eating experiences we have had in a long time... Congratulations for getting it SO right :-) We will definitely be back soon :-D

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“'Tasty delicious meal!'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Just home from a stunning meal at Fins! From start to finish it was just excellent.....and hats off to the chef! Delicious! Service was lovely from the two girls.....portion sizes were great and overall value for money was fab! I would definitly visit again and again as this was my 6th time there, a little diamond of a place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Couldn't do more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012 via mobile

Went to this amazing restaurant again last night for a belated birthday treat with my 5wee girl friends. The minute they knew it was a birthday treat they came out with banners balloons and sparkles for the table. Food was amazing as always but its the service that makes this place the gem you really can't miss. Love it love it love it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Been going to fins restaurant now for eight years twice a month and can not fault it in any way. We travel fifty nine miles return journey to have the amazing food. The welcome you get is great, Lisa always has a smile and what you don't see on the menu they will make you what you want. Keep up the good work and excellent food. Margaret and Kenny.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fins Restaurant also viewed

Dalry, North Ayrshire
Fairlie, North Ayrshire
 
Millport, Great Cumbrae
 

Been to Fins Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fins Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.