We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kapalua Villas, Maui to your Saves list
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful Resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

My young daughter and I had an amazing stay at this resort. The grounds are clean, full of flowers and birds with a lovely, professional staff. We spent hours wandering around the many different pools and walking along the waterfront path. Each morning we would rise early and grab a cup of coffee and the freshly baked muffins and head out for a walk to one of the easily accessible beaches. And we saw many whales frolicking in the water out front. This is a five star resort and I highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mahalo for your extremely positive review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of the Kapalua Trails as well as our world class beaches located on property. I will pass on your positive comments to our staff who do their very best to assure your stay is both memorable and worthy of returning. The Humpback Whales are truly a spectacular sight to see, I'm glad you were able to experience them and share your comments with our valued guest and readers on Tripadvisor.

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay and we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    364
    141
    44
    50
    22
See reviews for
226
230
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed in the Gold Villa in February and this was our first time on Maui (but third trip to Hawaii). We booked through Outrigger and had a 2 bedroom golf villa for 4 adults and 2 kids. The condo was very nice, newly renovated and well equipped kitchen allowed us to cook some meals which saved money and it was also very convenient. The beach by the resort is nice, but rather small and unfortunately it was quite a walk from our villa (15-20 minutes). It may not be a problem for some people, but we had to carry our 14 month old son or take the stroller which was a hassle. I would prefer to be closer to the beach.
The property is very nice, but you definitely need a car to get around. I took one star away because of the location, it’s a far drive to Ka'anapali and Lahaina and even though we had a car I would rather not spend so much time in a car while on vacation. This fact limited our excursions little bit. Overall we had a great time and the condo was very comfortable and had a great kitchen. I would recommend eating at Pineapple Grill, it’s within walking distance and the food was very delicious.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. We are pleased to hear that our accommodations worked well for your family. The beaches can be a nice walk from your villa, but I hope that you were made aware of our complimentary shuttle service that services all our villas in Kapalua on an on-demand basis. Operating between the hours of 6am to 11pm, The Kapalua Shuttle is on call to service any pick-ups and drop-offs located within the Kapalua resort. They service 3 beaches, 2 golf courses, and all restaurants on property. Often return guest who have already seen much of the island choose to not rent a car and utilize the shuttle to get them where they need to get on property. The Kapalua Shuttle will also transport guests to and from the Kapalua Airport

The Pineapple grill is a great restaurant, and their Pineapple Upside down cake is ONO (Delicious)! We hope to see you return to The Kapalua Villas again! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

After reading countless reviews on the Kapalua Villas, we decided on a Ridge Villa and rented direct from the owner. We had a 2 week stay at Ridge Villa 2823 -- and it was wonderful.

The property is exactly as described in the listing. Great views -- very quiet location. Many, many conveniences, including televisions, DVD player, wireless internet, washer & dryer, dishwasher. WOW! Having a lanai on both levels allowed us to enjoy coffee upstairs while our son enjoyed his extended sleep. Watching whales while sipping Kona coffee is highly recommended! The storage closet had everything we needed -- a cooler, beach chairs, umbrella, boogie board, and beach mats. This condo is in a great location within Kapalua Ridge Villas -- close to one end and with incredible views. We went for lovely walks through the property and the beaches were very close. Highly Recommended!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

The pictures don't do the grounds justice. They are beautiful and very quiet other than the mowers, etc., that happen by in the morning. Early on the lanai, it was just me and the several sorts of birds, including very friendly mallards. (Grounds are an Audubon approved bird sanctuary). The pine trees and acacia looking ones look like a weird jive of African and Norwegian trees sprinkled on an English countryside rather than what you really expect from Hawaii, but it is green and beautiful, with lots of shrubs and flowers. The overall impression was open space and green vistas.

We were in the Golf villas on the lowest floor (12P6) and it was extremely quiet other than that the mowers and other big equipment tiling parts of the course, etc. We had a two bedroom, two bath which gave us plenty of privacy and very nice decks off the living/dining and master bedroom (all glass fronted), big bathrooms, a huge shower in our room which had two single beds, a small washer and drier with some detergent in our bathroom, and very well set up full kitchen with a pineapple in the frij, dish soap, and plenty of dishes, etc. No housekeeping for the five days we were there ($50 if you want fresh towels delivered and trash dumped rather than doing it yourself at the bins across the way, or well over a hundred per bedroom for full service cleaning during your visit), but plenty of coffee and towels for the room and beach were available at the check in building, and there were free chair loans available at the beach. There was a vacuum and other cleaning stuff in the room and not having housekeepers in made it feel more like our own place for the week. Other guests were quiet and friendly.

Sunsets on the beach were gorgeous, and the snorkeling was better than the several other places we tried here and on Oahu, including Hanauma and a snorkel tour trip. There were sea turtles at one of the beaches over by the Ritz. Waves were very light, and it wasn't crowded, though we were there in mid-April and things were a little slow. Pools were small, but the beach was a five or ten minute walk or shuttle ride away.

It only took twenty minutes to half an hour into Lahaina, though one day it took over an hour to get back to the room from the aquarium because of all the "rush hour" traffic...I think mostly tourists and surfers pulling on and off the beaches along the two-lane highway between there and Ma'alaea on the south end. Most times it only took an hour or less to get all the way across to the airport from Kapalua though. Lahaina was great for whalewatching in that season (we had a great experience on one of the small boats with Pacific Whale Foundation), the Atlantis submarine was fun and more of a unique experience than I expected in terms of seeing the reefs and fish after all the snorkeling, French toast on Hawaiian bread at the Pioneer Inn by the harbor in the morning, drinks and people watching anywhere along the main drag at night (though the sidewalk rolls up fairly early). The banyan tree and museum beside it are great, and the craft fair over the weekend under it is a great place to find a unique and locally-made souvenir (you can watch local wood carvers...listen for the tapping), and the Blue Lagoon across from the park had excellent mid-day happy hour Mai thais and fish tacos.

We had nice free covered parking, though rooms were definitely not handicap accessible, and you would definitely want to ask for one closer to ground level if you had trouble with stairs or luggage and stairs. There is only a set or so, but the rooms had a step or so in and out.

The condo itself wasn't perfect, but I wouldn't complain either. It was nicely decorated with sturdy and comfortable furniture that showed a little wear. There were a few stains on the living room rug, and sheets were a little worn but very soft and fresh smelling. No bugs at all and very clean, with everything in good working order including efficient and quiet central AC (though the dish washer was more of a rinser). I slept on the couch some nights due to a snoring roomie. I think it folded out, but I didn't bother. I'm short, and it was comfy as it was. I hate sleeping in a bright room but left all the blinds open even though the whole front of the living and dining room was glass because only one distant house light, stars, and the trees were visible.

The spa was extremely nice and had a salt pool with a bit of an ocean view, plus a separate womens' area. They let us have a late check out and then use the spa on our last day- we had a red eye flight out. We went into Lahaina and then drove back for showers and free tooth brushes at the spa in the afternoon, then picked up our luggage that was stored at the front desk since rental cars are such a theft target. Thanks to United, it took us an extra seven hours to get home, so we were very grateful for that final shower! The treatment rooms were isolated bungalows in a beautiful garden, and I wished I'd scheduled a massage!

Lots of weddings took place on the beach, and women would get ready in the spa, which seemed like a really nice way to do things. This is a great place for a couple, a group of friends, or retirees, but I wouldn't really recommend this for families with young kids. (I think the Hilton we first stayed at on Oahu was crawling with families because of its convenience to the pools, entertainment, and other necessities, but this really isn't, and honestly, if you just want a pool, save the airfare and get a membership to a local one). Rooms were big enough, but there wasn't much close to entertain them, and the ABC store at Kapalua seemed more expensive than others ($12 for a small NyQuil, for example, but decent snorkels for $30 or so). The Times Supermarket near Honokowai is closer than the Safeway, seemed to have a better selection and prices, with lots of cheap coffee and some fun souvenirs and beach stuff.

Overall, if you want to spend the extra money for a large room in a more remote area, this is a very nice place. If you want perfection in your furnishings, I suspect the Ritz or similar would probably fit the bill better. The spa is great no matter what. Don't know much about golf, but it looked like paradise on that count. The beach is simply amazing with tons of coral, lots of different types of fish, and a few turtles. I hope folks who use the beach will learn a bit about why they shouldn't step on rocks and coral or try to pet the turtles so it will stay nice and not turn into a baron sandscape! If you go, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did!

Room Tip: Higher floors on the golf side might have had some view of the ocean, but a smaller lanai.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Kapalua Villas are all individually owned but the one that we stayed in was EXCELLENT. It was a 1 bedroom, 1 1/2 bath that had a balcony overlooking the water, it's own kitchen with a bar to sit at, 4 seater table... There is a little shop/deli type store that you can purchase some food at by order or snacks as well as souvenir type things (this is on the main road/Office Road). We stayed at a golf villa which was awesome & there are pro golf tournaments held on the course that is alongside the villas.

Safeway is the place you can go to get groceries if you would like to save some money and cook in your villa. Also, the shopping is close. You can go to Ka'anapali beach for some great snorkeling or Lahaina for shopping along the street or to see the Banyan tree. All within about 10-15 minutes.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Southwest
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

We stayed in 2721 at the Ridge Villas and it was the best stay we have had in Maui yet. The location is great for the true traveler. Out of the hustle and bustle of Lahaina and Kaanapali with great views of the channel. Nothing beats watching whales play while enjoying a fresh fruit plate on the patio first thing in the morning.
We have stayed in both a standard golf villa as well and it is definitely worth the money to stay in the gold villas, although both were great. The bed was very comfortable, the furnishings were up to date, and the floor plan is very roomy. About half of our party stayed at the Kapalua Villas. we were able to experience the gold one and two bedroomsat the Golf, Ridge, and Bay Villas. I personally thought the ridge villas had the best views, while the Bay Villas had the best soundtrack. I really felt at peace sipping a vodka tonic and twist while listening to the waves crash on the rocks.
We were married at Kapalua Bay beach so we definitely enjoyed the property. The nearby beaches are some of the best on Maui...great snorkeling at Kapalua Bay and a sick shore break for those brave enough to hit up Flemming. We ate at Sansei, the Iron Imu, the Plantation House and the Honolua store...all within a short walk except for the plantation house. They were all very different but very good. The access to the Ritz facilities and spa and the associated discounts were fantastic. My wife enjoyed the Spa and had her make up and hair done at the Ritz for the wedding.
Finally, the staff. All very friendly...right from the GM Mr Osterling and the Manager Mr Hill to the grounds people and the front desk were very friendly and cheery. They checked on us upon check in to make sure everything was in order...it was. After that, we did not here from the staff until check out, not because they weren't attentive, but because everything was perfect to begin with. We will be back!

Room Tip: The higher number ridge villas have great views. The Golf Villas are a little older, but a great va...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC, CA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We booked three separate units for our family group of 12 for March 2013. It was booked through Outrigger. It is not clear from the outrigger site that each unit has very different furnishings and is of very different quality. One of our three units was terrible. Stains on the ceilings, not updated in at least 20 years, musty smell. The smell was narrowed to a particular piece of furniture that we put out on the lanai. We complained and said the unit was unacceptable but the villas were sold out and we were given no options. My unit was definitely better appointed but again appliances that had to be 20 years old, the oven barely got hot at 500C. We left a list of deficiencies with housekeeping including a toilet that wouldn't stop running. We booked this based on a recommendation from a friend who's judgement we trust but it must be that you have to book a ocean front gold villa to get the quality that outrigger advertises. We have had good stays at outriggers before so was very disappointed in the misleading site info. While we still had a great vacation, we would never come back to the villas.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ikena H, Front Office Manager at The Kapalua Villas, Maui, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Aloha AandB1015,

Mahalo for taking the time to comment on your stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you had some problems with your villas. Our villas are individually owned, and thus do have different furnishings from one to another. I would like to ask that you contact me personally with your reservation details as I would like to address the issues you mentioned in your comments. It's unfortunate that we were unable to find you another villa for you, as we always try our best to accommodate our guests requests, although occupancy constraints can be difficult to avoid.

I'm glad that regardless of the issues you encountered, you were still able to enjoy your vacation. If you choose to return to Maui one day, I hope that you will give us a chance to change your opinion about our villas to a positive one, as many fellow reviewers have testified to.

Mahalo,

Ikena Hill
ikena.hill@outrigger.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.