We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Condo, Beautiful Property” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Save Saved
You added The Kapalua Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
British columbia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Spacious Condo, Beautiful Property”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We rented a one bedroom villa through Expedia for a family of four. We had asked for twin beds and were very surprised to find that "they don't have them". We made due with the king bed, a very poor quality hide a bed and a futon. Other than that disappointment, the villa was well appointed, beautiful kitchen and lanai and the grounds were very lovely - it was an easy walk to the beach and once we got the hang of the roads, an easy place to get in and out of. It is bit of a drive from Lahaina and about and hour from Kihei and so you will want to be sure this suits you. Certainly a plus if you want to avoid the crowds and feel a sense of peace. There are some wonderful beaches in the area - DT Fleming and Napili Bay among them.

Room Tip: Check the bed situation thoroughly before booking if this is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    129
    36
    45
    21
See reviews for
207
213
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sugar Land, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

By all accounts, this place exceeded my expectations during my second visit to Maui. This place was absolutely gorgeous, as well as quiet, private, away from the crowds in Lahaina, and I felt very much at home. I enjoyed the hiking/walking/running trails on the premises, and if you are a runner, be cautious of dangerous blind spots you will encounter if running away from the resort. I loved the decor in my condo - modern and updated furnishings - something I personally would have in my own home. I definitely would return and highly recommend this place - it was well worth it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

If you are interested in golfing, spa and not leaving the resort, this is a great place. Our 1 bedroom condo was very spacious, with great views, right next to the pool (26-T8). The kitchen was very modern, comfortable bed, living room and patio. The Honolua store, ample beaches, shuttles, golf courses, restaurants, etc... Make this a great place to kick back and relax. The condos are under renovation, which is great for future stays, but a little too noisy for our relaxing vacation. The weather in this part of Maui is known as being colder, windier and rainier than South Maui in winter. Loved the lack of crowds compared to Kaanapali and close by amenities. Booked it because of amenities associated with nearby Ritz Carlton, however, upon check in,found that those amenities had been discontinued with new management. Would stay here again, depending on the type of vacation I was looking to have.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Loved the place. If I have a small house designed like the villas with a great location, I will be set. Honolua Market is awesome for groceries, to eat at or to buy packed lunch. Shuttle service is excellent. I didn't give a perfect score for these reasons 1) you will get lost trying to find the office & your villa. Tried to look for 500 Office Rd but you cannot even find the number. When you find the building, take note that the sign will say reception & not office. 2) you have to pay extra for exchanging towels & housekeeping. I didn't mind washing the towels but the washer/dryer is sub-standard. Towel exchanges should come with the $25 daily resort fee. 3) pools are small & not heated. My 5 year old was shivering coz the water was so cold.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We visited Kapalua after an absence of 10 years. We were saddened to see the hotel was replaced by a virtual city of condos and high rises. Very congested yet underused presumably due to economy and limitations of location. Every visitor must know that Kapalua can very windy, uncomfortably so. The small bay in front of the hotel is fairly well protected but the ones facing Molokai are not usable when it blows. Golf is no fun at all when it blows. Whales are everywhere in February. The villas themselves are very nice and I recommend them highly. Restaurants in area are good. Realize that you must drive to get to Kanapali and Lahaina. Villas are best for walkers and people who don't mind curling up with a book if golf and beaching are impossible or unpleasant due to winds

Room Tip: Ocean front really beautiful but windier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
so cal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Kapalua Villas In Nov 2012. First, I have to say that management was extremely helpful in resolving our situation. We booked our condo through Costco. Having said that, I would recommend upgrading or paying for the gold type of room. Otherwise, you run the risk from having a condo with zero upgrades and furnishings. We stayed one night in a condo with window air conditioning vs central air. Also, the first condo we saw had style from the 80s and had not been touched since. On the opposite side of the amenities comes granite counter tops, new appliances, upgraded sinks, nice bedding etc... If this is not your focus and location is priority, then Kapalua should be your choice. Having stayed at the Westin Villas which are more hotel like than this and on the Wailea side, Kapalua is great for walking, snorkeling, and restaurants. The walking paths are great and really has one of the best snorkeling beaches. There are also different villas which are closer to different amenities. The golf villas are a close walk to the tennis facilities which are amazing if you are a tennis player! Plus no court fee since your resort fee covers that. If you forgot your racquet, you can rent one for a nominal fee. They have all sizes of racquets. The other villas are the ridge villas which would have more of an ocean view, but the beach that is closest is good for boogie boarding, but not so much for snorkeling. It is an easy drive to Lahaina for groceries and for small items, there is a convenience store on the property. We loved the walks around the paths and our favorite beach was Kapalua Bay which we would see turtles daily among a lot of colorful fish. At Kapalua Bay, there was a "shack" that rented chairs or snorkeling or paddle boards. We bought ours at Long's and gave them to a family the day we left to pass to the next family. We loved walking in the Hawea Point seeing the seabirds nesting. You can also walk to the Ritz Carlton and DT Fleming beach, but we found the beach to be dirty, crowded, and the ocean rough in November.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you are booking prior to your arrival as the condo condition, furnishings, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just got back and we were very happy and pleasantly surprised with the Kapalua Gold Villas and their great location on the island! Each property is individually owned. We had a top floor two room condo. Both rooms were set-up as a master suite with king beds, their own private master bathrooms, and balconies (including the main balcony that wrapped around the living/dining area). Our stay was very relaxing, comfortable, and quiet (away from the busy hotel strip that was 10 to 15 minutes south). We had panoramic views of the golf course and ocean. Access to pools and beaches are only a short walk (and the walks had amazing views). This property's location and views were some of the best we saw during our travels up and down the west coast of Maui. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a top floor Gold villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kapalua Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Kapalua Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.