We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be aware what type of condo when you are booking as it varies” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Save Saved
You added The Kapalua Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
so cal
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Be aware what type of condo when you are booking as it varies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We stayed at the Kapalua Villas In Nov 2012. First, I have to say that management was extremely helpful in resolving our situation. We booked our condo through Costco. Having said that, I would recommend upgrading or paying for the gold type of room. Otherwise, you run the risk from having a condo with zero upgrades and furnishings. We stayed one night in a condo with window air conditioning vs central air. Also, the first condo we saw had style from the 80s and had not been touched since. On the opposite side of the amenities comes granite counter tops, new appliances, upgraded sinks, nice bedding etc... If this is not your focus and location is priority, then Kapalua should be your choice. Having stayed at the Westin Villas which are more hotel like than this and on the Wailea side, Kapalua is great for walking, snorkeling, and restaurants. The walking paths are great and really has one of the best snorkeling beaches. There are also different villas which are closer to different amenities. The golf villas are a close walk to the tennis facilities which are amazing if you are a tennis player! Plus no court fee since your resort fee covers that. If you forgot your racquet, you can rent one for a nominal fee. They have all sizes of racquets. The other villas are the ridge villas which would have more of an ocean view, but the beach that is closest is good for boogie boarding, but not so much for snorkeling. It is an easy drive to Lahaina for groceries and for small items, there is a convenience store on the property. We loved the walks around the paths and our favorite beach was Kapalua Bay which we would see turtles daily among a lot of colorful fish. At Kapalua Bay, there was a "shack" that rented chairs or snorkeling or paddle boards. We bought ours at Long's and gave them to a family the day we left to pass to the next family. We loved walking in the Hawea Point seeing the seabirds nesting. You can also walk to the Ritz Carlton and DT Fleming beach, but we found the beach to be dirty, crowded, and the ocean rough in November.

Room Tip: Make sure you know what you are booking prior to your arrival as the condo condition, furnishings, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    343
    130
    37
    44
    22
See reviews for
200
211
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Just got back and we were very happy and pleasantly surprised with the Kapalua Gold Villas and their great location on the island! Each property is individually owned. We had a top floor two room condo. Both rooms were set-up as a master suite with king beds, their own private master bathrooms, and balconies (including the main balcony that wrapped around the living/dining area). Our stay was very relaxing, comfortable, and quiet (away from the busy hotel strip that was 10 to 15 minutes south). We had panoramic views of the golf course and ocean. Access to pools and beaches are only a short walk (and the walks had amazing views). This property's location and views were some of the best we saw during our travels up and down the west coast of Maui. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Get a top floor Gold villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silverdale, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We chose to stay at the Kapalua Gold Villas back in September 2012 having searched the internet for a quality stay in Maui. Wishing now I had of written this review back then and probably would have saved other people the utter dissapointment we had. This was a surprise from my wife to me for my Birthday and we stayed 7 nights. After being dicked around at reception for a couple of hours we were finally given the keys and directions to our Gold Class Villa. What a bloody joke, they must think Kiwis are stupid. This was most run down dirty room I have ever stayed in and there was no way I was going to pay the top dollar to stay in this. Ground floor, door frames and interior looked like some Rock Group had had a party there the night before. I phoned reception to get a room change but their response was WE ARE FULL ! Finally I got a Manager to sort something and to their credit they did managed to find another Villa just upstairs that was available (funny That)Room was much tidier and had a nice view and we were a little happier. However next day the landscapers arrived and started to rip up all the lawn around the group of villas, so had 7 days of noise from 7.30am to 4pm Great ! This resort is quite Isolated and is useless without a car which we had. The beach is nice but very small and can be quite a walk from most Villas. Restaurants are very expensive so found ourselves drivng to town (15 minutes) for dinner. I would give this resort a 4 out of 10 Very Disappointing . Staff totally blasé about guests comfort, obviously just corporate mangers??

Room Tip: Very Windy part of Maui so a corner villa would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in an oceanfront, one bedroom villa, # 20B4. The place was stunningly beautiful. We had a beautiful, spectacular unconstructed view of the ocean . Floor to ceiling windows enhanced the viewing of the ocean. The unit was spectacular with marble tiled floors throughout, granite countertops, new appliances, HDTV, jetted jacuzzi bathtub, very beautiful tile work. We absolutely loved the place! The spa was also a spectacular facility. The grounds were immaculate. We watched whales from our large balcony. We will definitely return to The Kapalua Villas!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I stayed at the Kapalua Villas this past December, we were a little bit on a budget so I was really surprised at how nice the Villas were. The front desk was excellent, they called each day we were there to make sure we were perfect, they truly exceeded my expectations. I was even more surprised when we were able to use the resorts spa and fitness center. I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havertown, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

These villas were spectacular and filled with all the amenities -- ours had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, a living room, a fully stocked kitchen, and a lovely patio on which we had a great view of the surrounding villas and the ocean in the distance. I can still close my eyes and envision the view. There is a shuttle that, if you call 10 minutes in advance, will take you to multiple places throughout the complex. We used it to get to the beach and the general store. The beach was so picturesque, and might be one of my favorite beaches of all-time. Lots of children, though, in case thats not your idea of a relaxing beach. The general store sold food and other items, and also prepared breakfast, lunch and dinner. Wasn't gourmet, but it did the trick.

The only negative I have to say is that it is a far drive to Ka'anapali and Lahaina, where there are other resorts and lots of restaurants. (In my mind, these two areas are the "heart" of tourism in Maui. Some may like this, others may not). To get to these areas, a rental car seemed necessary.

Overall, I would definitely return to the Kapalua Villas! I would just be sure to rent a car again in order to visit the rest of Maui.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Loved this place! Stayed at Villa 11C, fully equipped with all the kitchen facilities equipped to cook some serious meal. A pleasant surprise found when we opened the refrigerator in the kitchen, a whole Maui gold pineapples! Yay!

We stayed for 4 nights enjoying every moment of our stay. It was a bit far from all the main attractions and restaurants, but well worth a drive in the beautiful island Maui. Huge terrace overlooking the golf course every morning is was such a treat! We didn't get the chance to check out the pool nearby, but it seemed a bit too small compared to the vast area of the villas itself. The Kapalua beach is a must visit. It's only about 10 min. walk from the villa. We ended up driving down there and parked near the tennis court place.

The Kapalua overall is a very quiet and tranquil community. The place is truly for relaxation and some golfing if you're into it. Otherwise, I'd recommend to look for accommodations near the Kaanapali region.

This was our second trip to the island. Having stayed at a nice property like this, I'd want to keep going back to the place every chance I get.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Kapalua Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda and Venere so you can book your The Kapalua Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.