We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great views, but many problems with room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas

Save Saved
You added The Kapalua Villas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Kapalua Villas
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Williston Park, New York, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great views, but many problems with room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

The good: We had a gold ocean view room for 8 nights, and the view from our living room and backyard area was breathtaking and amazing. Furniture was all Ikea brand - acceptable but certainly not the granite countertops, stainless steel appliances or luxurious accommodations we were expecting for the higher price tag of the gold rooms. Especially considering the tv in the living room was very small, and the one in the bedroom was even smaller than my laptop monitor.

There were 3 beaches within walking distance from our room with lots of sand, but the water was a bit rough most days limiting snorkeling and swimming opportunities. Not super crowded, but if you drive a bit further north there's more private areas to relax and swim in. Supermarket was a quick 5 min drive down the road, and even closer on the resort itself was a small market to grab lunch, drinks and snacks which was convenient. Laundry within the condo unit itself was a nice bonus, but the dryer couldn't handle more than 3 items of clothing at a time - everything was still wet after an hour, had to break it down into 4 smaller batches to get it dry.

The bad: Housekeeping kept leaving our screen doors open after they came in to clean, allowing critters to enter the unit. We personally killed 10 giant roaches and had to get maintenance in here to kill 3 more for ones that ran under the fridge and we couldn't reach.

Our unit (28-15) was located next to the pool storage closet, so on a daily basis the maintenance workers passed by our dining room window as they went in/out and waved to us since there were no curtains on the window for privacy. On a daily basis the landscapers were out in our backyard with either a mower, weed wacker, or leaf blower climbing through the flowers making it impossible to relax out there on our "private" lanai. No furniture on the upstairs lanai, so we couldn't sit out there either. This was every single day. They were nice and would wave, but when I'm sitting in my robe eating breakfast, I don't want people staring at me through the window.

When I called to complain about the roaches after killing our 10th one, I was told "this is an island, it's to be expected that there will be bugs." No compassion, no sympathy, no offer of compensation. I get it, I don't even mind the occasional visitor. But when I'm paying $280/night for a "luxurious" resort, I don't want to see 3" big roaches on a daily basis when I come home at night.

Daily $25 "resort fee" - only aspect of the fee we utilized was the internet, but it was so slow it was nearly a joke at times. Upload speed was 0.02 mbps, download speed not much better at 1 mbps. Ok for sending a quick email home (no pictures attached), but couldn't do any work or file transfers onto FB.

Last day there I stepped on a piece of broken glass and cut my foot. Neither of us had dropped any plates or cups or broke anything, so not sure where it came from or why housekeeping didn't clean it up if they had. Again, mentioned it to the front desk and was given the business card for the manager to email him when I got home. Sent him an email on December 11th, and still have received no response or acknowledgement.

One last note - the resort is located in Kapalua, not Lahaina. It is FAR from EVERYTHING. If you're looking for a resort you don't ever have to leave, this is great. But if you want to explore the island or do anything at night (zero nightlife in Kapalua), expect to do a 20+ minute drive to get into the town of Lahaina or anywhere else.

For the price we paid, I'm very dissatisfied with our visit and won't be returning here. The resort was very beautiful, but for the problems we had and the fact that we got zero assistance or acknowledgement from management left a bad taste in my mouth. Definitely not worth the money we paid, but if you can get a great cheap rate and don't mind being in the middle of nowhere it may be right for you.

Room Tip: Avoid room 28-15, it's next to the pool and you have to see the maintenance and landscapers dail...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    342
    129
    38
    45
    21
See reviews for
207
214
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 10 days in 2 villas. Staff were attentive and helpful. Quick to come to the villa to stock up on towels, soap and ice

Oceanfront views, manicured lawns and immaculate rooms. Well worth the price. A bit of construction going on but nothing worth writing about. A home away from home but with a view!

Will definately come back

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, OR
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We rented this unit in mid- November for. November 28 through December 12 stay. In the past we have stayed at Kapalua Ridge or Golf Villas but, as this was last minute, we took this unit. The rate through Sullivan Properties in Maui was a bargain $133 per night as our dates fell within the Fall discount period. This was for a unit that generally rents for $250 nightly.

Units are either ground level or bridge level to take advantage of the sloping terrain that provides lovely views toward Molokai. There is lush landscaping with spacious lawn areas. Palm trees are everywhere.

The development has three pool and gas barbecue areas accessible through security- coded gates. Each has well-equipped bath and kitchen prep facilities, though one evening our barbecue was out of propane causing just to migrate to another area. Barbecues are upscale Webers.

Our unit was a one bedroom townhouse accessible via a bridge from the roadway. The small kitchen opened up to the living area with large windows toward the South and the sea. The bedroom is up a flight of stairs and features a large bathroom and a small lanai. Living and bedroom areas are carpeted, not tiled like many Kapalua upgraded condo units. Given the large windows and many louvered vents near the floor, one can get a lot of light and fresh breezes in the unit. There is no air conditioning and it was missed.

Despite the low price this unit proved to be less than a bargain as it had not been upgraded or reasonably maintained. (Kapalua condos date from the late 70's and 80's).
Carpets were not very clean. Windows were dingy and after two days the patio screen door collapsed forcing us to keep the patio door open for a breeze. There was no lock on the patio door. My wife spent an early morning (made available due to jet lag) cleaning the kitchen, vacuuming, and sweeping. The only broom is an old corn type for use inside and out. The kitchenware including pots and pans appeared to have been garage sale leftovers.

Oh, and there were ants. In the living area and bathroom.

Upon changing linen after five nights we discovered that the mattress pad...well, let's just say, the pad showed signs of use.

All these issues were discussed with Sullivan Properties representatives Tim and Erin, who are great. (The mattress pad was delivered to the office). We were told that the unit is owned by a foreign family that seldom visits. This neglect shows everywhere. The screen was repaired within three days and a Terminix man stopped by to treat the unit.

High points: upscale location, view, and great pool spaces
Low points: lack of maintenance and cleaning; dated feel in this specific condo

Recommendation: this unit might be okay at a discount. If you pay full price, you are paying too much.

Room Tip: Be selective. There are better Kapalua Villas than this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

When we made our reservation, nobody warned us that a large part of the property was under roof repair construction. There was loud hammering and construction vehicles right outside our room, which made our lanai unusable during the day. We were also unable to use the pool for the same reason. Thus, we left the property during the day so we could enjoy our vacation.

The other issue was the lack of air conditioning in our room. It was so hot we couldn't spend time in the unit during the day until the sun went down, and sleeping was also difficult. We had maintenance in our room every day and they were unable to fix it. So basically we couldn't use the inside or outside of our condo. For this reason we checked out early and went to another property.

I would not recommend this property. There are plenty of others on Maui for the same or less price, that are much better and offer much nicer customer service.

Room Tip: Away from construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

We stayed here for a week at the Ridge Villas and an ocean view. We were concerned at first and even decided against staying here last year due to two things we had heard: (1) it's windier on this part of the island and (2) it's away from the main part of the island. Well both might be true, but the Villas are worth it. Out of 7 days, it was pretty windy two of the days, but so was the whole island. Plus, it actually made it nicer in some ways because it kept thing cool. The cross breeze enabled us to keep the windows open and not have to use air conditioning which we all hate.

There are many beaches within walking distances and many nice routes for walking and running throughout the resort.

There are not many cheap dining options for dinner here inthe resort. Best bet is to eat the more affordable breakfast or lunches on the resort if you want to try out the resort options and go outside the resort for dinner. Nearby is Kahana which has a great new grill called Kahana Grill which was for really a Roy's.

The villas are nicely furnished and have full kitchens. The lanais are amazing for drinking your morning coffee or having a glass of wine at night. The grounds are really nicely kept up. They only provide maid service every three days but that was fine.

All in all, we'd recommend and stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We were in 20 B-4 which was oceanfront standard room (not gold) and it WAS AMAZING. We were so close to the ocean, and could hear the waves even with the door closed. We did not have two floors, loft style, instead it was condo style, but still gorgeous. We still had granite countertops and steel appliances being in a standard room. We were upgraded which we were really thankful for, so thank you to the staff at kapalua villas for making this trip welcoming for us. It was our first time in hawaii, and we will definitely be back. The bathroom was huge with granite countertops and huge shower...could not complain. I AM A VERY PICKY TRAVELER AND IT can take me forever to find the right hotel with the right amenities, but after two weeks of deliberation I did end up choosing the villas for our holiday. I am glad.

PROS:
on a hill which is very private
beautiful rooms
huge bathrooms
quiet and peaceful
pools everywhere (which we did not use)
clean condo
closest grocery store is only 5-7 min drive away
nice staff
even though you pay $25 a day, you get free long distance, shuttle service, wii-fi and parking for no extra charge.

CONS:
VERY windy and can rain quite often (hard to enjoy when so windy)
cannot swim in ocean upfront because rough waters
was cloudy almost the entire week, especially coming from rainy vancouver, b.c
drive to lahaina was 20-25 minutes unfortunately.

In the one week we were there, we visited the crater and the drive to HANA IS A MUST. It will literally take your breath away. I will NEVER FORGET THAT DRIVE. Stop at most of the places if you can, and try to spend one night in hana to truly experience the other side of maui. Also check out the show called "old lahaina luau" it was a great show, awesome service. Wow, I wish I was still in maui. ahhhh maybe next year. Have fun!!

Room Tip: All rooms are different, some standard rooms are amazing as well. MUST CHOOSE OCEANFRONT.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sanda-shi, Hyogo, Japan
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I have been visiting this wonderful property for more than 20 years.
I like Grand Wailea Hotel but on the other hand, I love this property since calm, nice and great outfit.
You can expereince living in Hawaii here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kapalua Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your The Kapalua Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.