We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Kapalua Villas, Maui to your Saves list
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Use Promo Code & Save Now
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Beautiful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We had ocean view villa. It was very clean and open. Fully equipped kitchen, laundry and nicely furnished. The bad things were we had no beach access by foot and had to drive also they are very close together and no privacy on the back patio but very quiet and peaceful and 20 mins drive from lahaina

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    410
    164
    57
    53
    24
See reviews for
261
263
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mercer Island, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

I stayed here in a two bedroom, ocean view gold condo, which was very nice. The view was great and the furnishings were adequate. This was a loft unit, where the second floor was a master suite with nice en suite bathroom and covered lanai with a panoramic view of Molokai.

We brought our 2 year old daughter who slept / took naps in the downstairs bedroom which was very comfortable -- the upstairs bedroom got a little stuffy due to weak air conditioning and was hard to keep dark when the sun was coming up. Overall the accommodations were a great value.

We did find that the pool etc. was lacking. You used to be able to hang out at the Ritz Carlton which is nice enough. We tried that one day, but we couldn't get towels without a room and we felt like we were trespassing. We spent a lot of time at the nearby beach which was beautiful and great fun for me but a little rough for my little girl. Next time we'll probably stay at the Westin, where the rooms aren't as nice, but where they have a great pool scene for little kids.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

There are several restaurants nearby, as well as beaches and other activities. Just call the shuttle and they will take you where you need to go. Check-in took only five minutes. There are beaches to snorkel or dive. I never heard a peep in this neighborhood.
The condo was two levels and the bedroom patio overlooked the ocean. It was decorated very generously and with good quality, clean furniture.
The fresh pineapple was a great touch.
(Full kitchen, microwave, coffee maker, his/her upstairs bath, full downstairs bath, TV, washer and dryer, etc.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I waited to write this review after we stayed here the second time. We have been to Hawaii more than 10 times and at least 6 times to Maui. This is by far the best place to stay. The condos are large and have modern amenities. They are on the luxurious side if you select the gold package with partial ocean view. They are walking distance to Napili bay, Kapalua Bay and the Ritz Carlton beach. Their is also a great board walk along the beaches and of course a magnificent golf course. The property has beautiful landscaping and you are totally away from any street noise. The management is very helpful and shows plenty of the Hawaiien hospitality. It is well worth for the money. You also get free access to a fabulous spa and gym.

Room Tip: Ask for the gold rooms they have been upgraded
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

My brother was getting married in Maui. We stayed in 20G4 at the Kapalua Bay Villas and would definitely stay there again. The condo was awesome. Upon arrival our room was not ready. A little disappointing as we had been traveling all day. We were told it would be ready at 4 when checkin was at 3. The reason being was the previous tenants had not vacated the property. When we got to our room we were extremely satisfied. The view was absolutely breath taking. The bathroom could have been a little more accommodating. The water pressure in the shower was very weak, there were no hooks for our wet swimsuits or our towels, the shampoo and lotion had been used (not by us), the toilet leaked. Other then that our stay was great. When we checked out, we asked for a later check out as our flight did not leave till 9:35 that night. They told us that 11 would be the latest as there was someone else checking into our room. I argued that time as we had to wait till 4 to check in. We were extended till noon. I feel that the hotels should allow for later check out as we still pay $25 a day to use the property. So in actuality they get $50 for that day from the previous and incoming customer.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VITORIA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

The villa we got was awesome. It was huge, with a complete kitchen, perfectly equiped. The living room was very big. The bed was confortable and clean. The views were very nice, our lanai faced the golf course, and then the ocean. We had a swimming pool right next to our villa. The beach (Kapalua Beach) is not very big, but nice anyway.
The only problem we had was that the third day of our stay, we found one roach in the bathroom. We called housekeeping and they inmediatly sent one person to spray the whole villa. We had no more "surprises" during our stay.
Despite that incident, I must say that the villa is super clean, as well as the rest of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Our family of five stayed in the Ridge Villas for two weeks. The good news is that the 3-bedroom unit was very spacious, has a fabulous 180-degree ocean view, and was equipped with everything we needed (except a tea pot for adults and sandtoys for the tot).

I agree with other posters that there is deferred maintaince. Our first day I called and asked for a screen door for the master bedroom slider and it was delivered that afternoon. I also called housekeeping and asked them to remove the paint cans from the shelves in the laundry area and they did immediately.

I liked the furnishings throughout the unit and was impressed with the quality of the bed and bath linens. Housekeeping came every three days and did a good job. The wi-fi didn't work well and my engineer husband finallly hooked it up so we got cable access that was much better.

My main crticism about Kapalua Villas was about the two pools in the Ridge Villas area. (I didn't see any others.) The pools were clean, but the deck looked like it hadn't been resurfaced since the '80s. There just was nothing appealing about the pool area. No ocean view, no great furniture, and tired landscaping. Worst of all - no jacuzzi and no kiddie pool.

We spent most of our days at Kapalua Bay, which is gorgeous and perfect for little kids who need minimal wave action and adults who like to snorkel. Because we rented through Outrigger, we could get free lounge chairs and beach towels from the Activity Center at this beach and that was a huge convenience.

Room Tip: The Gold Ocean View units are the best. I recommend booking through Outrigger (see review).
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
4.3 mi away
Aston Mahana at Kaanapali
0.3 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
4.8 mi away
The Westin Kaanapali Ocean Resort Villas
5.6 mi away
Sheraton Maui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.