We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding property, can't wait to return” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Kapalua Villas, Maui to your Saves list
The Kapalua Villas, Maui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Best Available Rate
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Outstanding property, can't wait to return”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

At the start of July, we stayed in a Gold Ocean View unit 15G2 in the bay villas. Our stay was perfect in a unit that was very well decorated by the owners, spotlessly clean and had great views. The kitchen was a delight, well equiped and recently renovated.. The area was quiet with no one on the beach where a morning surf was the ideal start to the day. The pool just below the unit was rarely used and the area clean and well kept. The BBQ was a bonus too. I can only say good things about the accommodation that we had here. We did look at one of the other non gold units and if we had of recieved that one I think I would have been disappointed as the furnishings were very ordinary. The owners of 15G2 are to be complemented on making our stay ideal. So much so that we will return again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

665 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    388
    151
    50
    53
    23
See reviews for
240
248
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Estes Park, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed in one of the 2 bedroom villas with an ocean view and it was amazing. Woke up to a soft morning rain outside of our bedroom balcony each morning, cooked our own breakfast and dinner in the fully equipped kitchen that has everything a chef needs, enjoyed morning coffee and evening wine on the balcony that overlooked the golf course AND ocean. Villa was within walking distance of every beach and each restaurant, inlcuding a 3 mile trail that wraps around the entire resort area. My husband and I ran on the trail twice that rests along the beachside. The Kapalua Villas were amazing and Kapalua itself was very private, clean, and just overall impressive. Highly reccommend!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We booked Gold Ocean Front, 2 bedrooms villa. We got a villa in the 25 block which is straight behind the pool, should be called Pool Front, not Ocean front. We moved to a block 19 villa which was much better but still strange. Now we were looking at THE Ocean via an angle.

The two issues are lack of privacy and you will not know what you will get. There are only 150 or so villa's rented out and of course each owner has a different taste. The villa's are large enough but very close to each other and you will see each other on the balcony. Ground level villa's have people walking by. Privacy is very limited.

The management applies some creativity in calling villa's ocean front, really only one or two blocks have that lable, rest should be Ocean view.

Beaches are nice, great body bording. Pools are small and not really special. We did not care much about the restaurants on property nor the management attention. It was said several times "you only stay here three nights" so I guess that 's why we got that Pool View Villa. They did move us but that was not without delays and sloppyness.

Anyhow, large villa's, be prepared for surprises as styles differ and the front desk is really only à rental middle agent.....

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Bernardino, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

The villas themselves are lovely. Be aware that at least two of the Ocean Front villas (building 25 and possibly 24) are pool side and are not ocean front. According to management, these two properties are taxed as ocean front even though they are set back from the other ocean front villas and the pool is between the villa and the ocean. If you have kids, this proximity to the pool might be just what you want.

Also be aware that regardless of what a travel agent or anyone tells you, the number of beds in the 2nd bedroom is not guaranteed. We specifically requested 2 beds and had a late check in. We got a villa which had one bed in each bedroom. We also requested an ocean front villa and got a poolside villa (see above). After discussions with management and our travel agent and the booking agency, we came to a mutually agreeable solution. However, the frustration factor was very high for the first day. We also requested the big safe be fixed and no one fixed it during our 4 day stay.

Also be advised that if you have a 1st floor villa, you will likely hear every step taken by your upstairs neighbors, especially if they are heavy walkers. Nothing to do but tune them out.

If we had known we were not guaranteed two bed in the 2nd bedroom, we would not have chosen this property for this particular vacation. We also discovered exactly how rainy this portion of the island really is. Any future vacations will be further south on the island.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We really liked these two floor studio type of villa apartment. It has very good facilities in the villa with everything you may need for a self contained stay and the mini market was well stocked and only a short 2 min drive away. I would recommend these villas to anyone wanting self catering on Maui.

However there are some issues which were not ideal which partially spoiled our stay.

1. We found ants in the kitchen area who had invaded our breakfast cereal box and appeared to reside under one of the kitchen work tops.
2. One of the lower floor room blinds was faulty and would not fully close properly.
3. The tumble drier kept stopping with a fault error which still occurred after being looked at by the maintenance man.
4. The main TV was not set up correctly and you had to select the input format every time it was switched on which was disconcerting until we were shown what to do. The TV in the bedroom did not have this problem.
5. One of the bins had not been emptied from the previous guests stay when we arrived.

Room Tip: Check out the villa 100% when you arrive for any issues and report them first thing to reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

Impeccable service, elegant attention to details, romantic sunset / ocean views to remember, beautiful infinite pools, prompt knowledgeable and excellent concierge support, nice light snacks. We all look forward to returning soon. Ritz Carlton Hotel and Villas, in our opinion the very best in Kapalua Bay.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
151 reviews 151 reviews
133 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

This was our second time back. I love this place, however, the fairway villa we stayed at in building 17 was showing some age. Overall, the staff is great, the location is incredible, plenty of space, modern accommodations and the views are even better. We noticed some of the villas going through renovation, see if you can request a renovated villa as it will be a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Kapalua Villas, Maui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Address: 2000 Village Road, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Kapalua Villas, Maui 4*
Number of rooms: 126
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kapalua Villas are located on the beautiful Kapalua Resort on the west side of the island of Maui. Offering 1, 2 and 3 bedroom condominium accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Kapalua Villas, Maui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Kapalua Villas Hotel Kapalua
Kapalua Hotel Lahaina
Kapalua Resort Lahaina
Kapalua Villas Maui
The Kapalua Villas, Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Kapalua Villas, Maui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.