We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Property!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Nice Property!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Was here mid-July for work. We arrived around 9pm, check-in was fast and the bellman was very quick to get the bags to the room. My room was close to the elevators, but I never had a problem with noise. Comfy bed, grand bathroom, great service - what more can you ask for? Pro tip: the hotel offers a shuttle to the nearby stores. Was a lifesaver when we wanted to run to the Honolua Store and it was pouring rain! The clerk at the store called the hotel to call the shuttle back when we were finished shopping.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,281
    479
    211
    112
    68
See reviews for
441
1,009
33
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westford, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

First visit was five years ago for our tenth anniversary. This was for our fifteenth. Will definitely be back - hopefully before five years!

This Ritz property just does not disappoint. Our arrival was flawless. After a 13 hour flight, we were bushed. The valets and bell staff were so nice and upbeat, it put a bit of wind back in our sails. We had a fine check in process, highlighted by special flower leis and an upgrade to a corner two bedroom ocean front residential suite (we had booked a garden view). More on that in a moment.

Steven, the bellman who escorted us to our room, could not have been a cooler guy. We had the farthest walk in the hotel from the front desk, so we had some time with him. He educated us on any changes since our last visit, gave us great advice on where to eat for dinner that night and handled the considerable amount of luggage six people take with them for two weeks in Hawaii. We saw Steven throughout our stay and he always had a kind word, or another great restaurant location (his top three were Pineapple Grill, Honu and Mala Ocean Tavern - also had a great meal at Merriman's). The thing that knocked our socks off is that, later in our stay, he found my father in law and asked him what day our anniversary was. That day, two Ritz coffee mugs were delivered with a nice note from Steven, congratulating us on our anniversary, hoping that the mugs served as a future reminder of a great trip and a reason to come back. I work in a customer service business and so I am always attuned to this stuff, but that attention to detail and the genuine way that he wanted us to have a great time was truly spectacular. If the GM of the hotel is reading this, please give that man a raise. We probably would have come back anyway, but Steven sealed the deal.

The room was AWESOME. Huge King bedroom with a bathroom and closet that were just as big as the bedroom. Living room, full kitchen with high top counter to sit at. Second bedroom with two queens. Two full lanais with great deep seating outdoor furniture. Great place to watch the ocean, watch the kids playing on the grass, have a glass of wine at night. Spent more time here than anywhere.

Food in the resort is consistently good. We had breakfast in our package in the Terrace. I never eat breakfast but my kids love it so we went. Every day they couldn't wait to see what the handmade juice of the day was. Service was great. Lunch at the pool a few times. Good food, good service. Beach bar was the same. Different food in each place, but the service and quality rings true in all of them. It's all expensive though. Cheaper options at the Honolua Store. Sad to see that it was bought by ABC stores. Although they did remodel it so it's very nice, it's much more commercialized than it used to be - it once was a quaint place that the locals frequented. Oh well. Still have good food at a decent price, along with everything else that ABC sells.

Played golf at both the Plantation and the Bay courses. Great deal on kids golf - free with an adult and free rentals for resort guests. Also an all you can play deal for three days. That was worth it to me.

The concierge was helpful in delivering flowers to our room for my wife. That day we also had occasion to visit the hotel's on-call doctor (long story). Great that they have that. Also spent that day at the spa. I am NOT a spa person. Second massage of my life. Never felt like it was worth the money to me, although my wife likes it, so off I went. This one was worth it. Felt amazing afterwards. Would definitely go again. Wife reports it was the best massage of her life and she has lots more experience than I do.

There was a Prudential Insurance meeting ongoing while we were there. Really couldn't tell other than the big beach party. That was the best thing about this place....you just get to unplug and relax. It never felt busy (although it was); it was never loud (other than the beach party but it was good music); never really had to wait for anything. We had so much fun, I really can't think of a bad thing to stay.

Stay here. See Steven. Repeat.

Room Tip: I didn't think the ocean view was worth the extra money, especially considering that this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We started our trip at the Fairmont Kea Lani and didn't make it a day but that's for another review. Since we had to change last minute and wanted a kitchen this seemed to be the best choice. The resort itself is beautiful and the service too notch. The weather however was windy every day....and not just a little! When we went to pool the first day and asked the pool attendant if the wind died in the afternoon she cheerfully replied, " no"!! The breakfast is lovely but 100% indoor as are most the restaurants and I presume this is also due to the weather. The sun was out every day and it definitely did not get too hot, but would stay in Wailea next time.

Room Tip: Get ocean front room.. Beautiful panoramic view but I am guessing most rooms had excellent views wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed our time at the Ritz Carlton and would have given it a higher rating but also stayed at the Four Seasons and it pushed our rating of the Ritz to a very good. We had a lovely suite and just needed a few updates to make it perfect. The beach is a quick walk down the hill and is nice but a little rougher than others on Maui but beautiful none the less. The pool is good but cabañas are for rent and most remain chained during the day. The hotel does a wonderful breakfast buffet and is well worth it as the choices pleased everyone in our party. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

3 stayed here 3 nights in June. The resort is beautiful with the most amazing views ever. Friendly staff. Ocean was too rough to swim while we were there but the pool was amazing. Food was great but expensive. Loved the idea of the shuttle to take us places, but we never used it. Room was very nice but toilet was extremely loud when it flushed. Kids loved the pigs. Love all the activities - tennis, basketball etc. Loved the pool bar and grill and service at the pool. Had the most amazing breakfast ever at the Plantation Golf Course down the street! Views are breathtaking! Had a great time here - will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My first time in Hawaii.. Maui is just majestic and amazing! The ritz Carlton is located in a quieter yet beautiful location in Kapalua. Staff is friendly, warm and very attentive..always ready to attend to our needs. Concierge were very informative and the staff is very knowledgable of their surrounding and gave us great recommendations including dirt roads and walking paths to explore.
Our valet attendants were great.. Special Thank u to Josiah, Derrick chef Annie Marshall and Sarah at Concierge..I felt safe here and the view is just amazing. Great running and walking area! Close by to the bay to snorkel. It's right off Route 30 which is just an amazing view of surfers, kayakers, campers and great waves, eating places and twists and turns..
Clean environment..food is expensive but plenty of other options not too far. Highly recommend car rental.. If possible get a jeep!! It's worth it!! It's just paradise!! Would recommend to family and friends and defiantly come back again!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The rooms were nice and clean but not that big. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pools had no umbrellas which is not acceptable for a Ritz! Things disapeared from our room(shorts and underwear), we filled a report with the hotel security, problem was never resolved! We were told we would be given a $50 discount at check out, and when we brought it up, the receptionist said that he can't do it! Seriously Ritz Carlton?!!! We could not believe that this can happen at the Ritz, we are not coming back so this year we are staying at Marriott at Wailea!!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Aloha Camelia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While I was happy to hear you enjoyed the resort overall, I was disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your experience did not exceed your expectations. I will personally follow up with our Loss Prevention team as to the status of your missing items and the discount you were to receive. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail and I invite you to contact me personally at 808-665-7037 or ian.mcphee@ritzcarlton.com at your earliest convenience.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
(With Warmest Regards)
Ian McPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.