We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, weather just so so” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Fifth Night
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
sacramento
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, weather just so so”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We started our trip at the Fairmont Kea Lani and didn't make it a day but that's for another review. Since we had to change last minute and wanted a kitchen this seemed to be the best choice. The resort itself is beautiful and the service too notch. The weather however was windy every day....and not just a little! When we went to pool the first day and asked the pool attendant if the wind died in the afternoon she cheerfully replied, " no"!! The breakfast is lovely but 100% indoor as are most the restaurants and I presume this is also due to the weather. The sun was out every day and it definitely did not get too hot, but would stay in Wailea next time.

Room Tip: Get ocean front room.. Beautiful panoramic view but I am guessing most rooms had excellent views wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,179
    447
    195
    109
    58
See reviews for
401
940
27
118
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

We enjoyed our time at the Ritz Carlton and would have given it a higher rating but also stayed at the Four Seasons and it pushed our rating of the Ritz to a very good. We had a lovely suite and just needed a few updates to make it perfect. The beach is a quick walk down the hill and is nice but a little rougher than others on Maui but beautiful none the less. The pool is good but cabañas are for rent and most remain chained during the day. The hotel does a wonderful breakfast buffet and is well worth it as the choices pleased everyone in our party. All in all a nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

3 stayed here 3 nights in June. The resort is beautiful with the most amazing views ever. Friendly staff. Ocean was too rough to swim while we were there but the pool was amazing. Food was great but expensive. Loved the idea of the shuttle to take us places, but we never used it. Room was very nice but toilet was extremely loud when it flushed. Kids loved the pigs. Love all the activities - tennis, basketball etc. Loved the pool bar and grill and service at the pool. Had the most amazing breakfast ever at the Plantation Golf Course down the street! Views are breathtaking! Had a great time here - will definitely return.

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My first time in Hawaii.. Maui is just majestic and amazing! The ritz Carlton is located in a quieter yet beautiful location in Kapalua. Staff is friendly, warm and very attentive..always ready to attend to our needs. Concierge were very informative and the staff is very knowledgable of their surrounding and gave us great recommendations including dirt roads and walking paths to explore.
Our valet attendants were great.. Special Thank u to Josiah, Derrick chef Annie Marshall and Sarah at Concierge..I felt safe here and the view is just amazing. Great running and walking area! Close by to the bay to snorkel. It's right off Route 30 which is just an amazing view of surfers, kayakers, campers and great waves, eating places and twists and turns..
Clean environment..food is expensive but plenty of other options not too far. Highly recommend car rental.. If possible get a jeep!! It's worth it!! It's just paradise!! Would recommend to family and friends and defiantly come back again!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

The rooms were nice and clean but not that big. The hotel grounds are beautiful, the pools had no umbrellas which is not acceptable for a Ritz! Things disapeared from our room(shorts and underwear), we filled a report with the hotel security, problem was never resolved! We were told we would be given a $50 discount at check out, and when we brought it up, the receptionist said that he can't do it! Seriously Ritz Carlton?!!! We could not believe that this can happen at the Ritz, we are not coming back so this year we are staying at Marriott at Wailea!!

Stayed September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Ritz Carlto... K, Manager at The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Aloha Camelia,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments. While I was happy to hear you enjoyed the resort overall, I was disappointed to learn that certain aspects of your experience did not exceed your expectations. I will personally follow up with our Loss Prevention team as to the status of your missing items and the discount you were to receive. I would appreciate the opportunity to discuss your experience in further detail and I invite you to contact me personally at 808-665-7037 or ian.mcphee@ritzcarlton.com at your earliest convenience.

Again, thank you for sharing your feedback. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Me Ke Aloha Pumehana,
(With Warmest Regards)
Ian McPhee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Yeah, you heard me. On Maui, we walked into this hotel and checked in. That's the short version.

The longer version starts with my recent review of the Hyatt and our desperation to get away from there. We checked out several options, flying out to Honolulu early being our first, but as it turns out, our hotel was (luckily) fully booked. Instead, we rented a car and drove around the west part of the island. At two in the afternoon, we drove up to the Ritz for a late lunch, at their beach restaurant. From there, our stay on Maui changed, for the better. All the staff members were friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome.

After lunch, we decided to walk by reception to see IF they had an empty room, and they did. Lucky us. We checked in right away, drove back to the Hyatt, checked out, and never looked back.

The property is big, but everything is quiet, serene, and every last staff member is friendly, smiles at you and makes you feel very welcome. Our ocean front suite was beautifully decorated and although we had to walk a long way to get back to reception and restaurants, it was totally worth it.

This is an amazing hotel, and there is very little room for improvement. However, there are a few small things that we look forward to seeing improved next time: for instance, our room attendant didn't replenish the tiny container for cotton swabs. Big deal, eh? Apart from that, I think the hotel shouldn't distinguish between their continental and American breakfast. First of all, there is only one buffet, so people easily choose the 'wrong' things, but more importantly, I overheard a conversation between a guest and a server where the server apologized for checking the guests' plates for what they had ordered. Embarrassing for the guest, not to mention awkward for the server.

Other than that, all I can say is I look forward to returning...

Room Tip: Their beachfront suites are to die for, but unless you get a room with a mountain view in wing 2, al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights in May and loved (almost - see below) every minute! Kapalua is stunning and this hotel is classic and elegant. I was a bit hesitant to stay here after reading some of the reviews but am so glad we chose the Ritz!

First, the hotel grounds are amazing. Yes the hotel is set back from the beach but it is so peaceful and calm. We booked a 'Deluxe Garden View' room and actually had a view of the pool and could see the ocean from our lanai! The rooms are classy and were kept clean and tidy.

The location of Kapalua was perfect for us. Some people complain that it is too far from "town." In my opinion, the farther the better! We came to relax and unwind :)

The drinks at the pool are pricey but so delicious! We were in heaven. The only places we ate on the property were Aiana cafe (overpriced and not great, but convenient) and the pool bar. The pool bar had amazing fish tacos. We went to the bar in the lobby two nights and watched the sunset. One night they had a band playing, it was wonderful and so relaxing.

There is Honolua Store and Sansei within walking distance, and the resort shuttle will take you anywhere in the Kapalua area. We used it to go to the Plantation House Restaurant, Merriman's, the Montage Spa, and Kapalua Bay.

The only downside to this hotel is the conferences. On our last full day there, a huge group showed up for a conference and it completely ruined the quiet atmosphere of the hotel! The people were so loud and completely took over every area. On our last morning we went to Aiana to grab coffees and the line was SO long and the conference people were all talking super loudly or talking on their cell phones and being rude to the people working at the cafe. I also sat out on the lanai, as I did every morning, and there was suddenly a lady in the room next to ours, also on her lanai, talking loudly to another coference participant on their separate lanai. Hotel management should take note that guests paying a high price for a peaceful vacation do not want to be swarmed with loud obnoxious people who have no consideration for other guests. While I LOVED our stay (I guess we got lucky in only having a conference on one day of our visit), I might be hesitant to stay in the future. Hotel management should seriously reconsider their policy on allowing conferences.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.