We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice property, however not worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Fifth Night
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A nice property, however not worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Stayed at the Ritz-Carlton Kapalua property with my wife from February 14-21, 2013. Upon check-in, we were graciously given an upgrade to an oceanview deluxe suite by the attendant.

The resort sits on an expansive, beautiful and well maintained property in northwest maui and offers good beach access and is within close proximity to multiple golf courses. Our room was quite nice and the hotel facilities, with the exception of the tennis courts, were in good shape.

However, my wife had big problems with the bed as it was quite lumpy and offered little-to-no back supports.

I also found that the hotel was not quite as polished as one would have expected of a Ritz-Carlton property. While the housekeeping service was among the best I've ever experienced, the poolside service was lacking severely, and on one occasion, we actually felt we were being neglected/ignored by the poolside waiter.

The restaurants are also very expensive for the quality of food. For instance, the breakfast buffet came to almost $40.00 per person for a sub-par offering. I would truly recommend going to the nearby Honolua store, which offers a good quality breakfast, especially when compared to the hotel offerings.

I will also warn people that the pool area, though facing the water, is incredibly windy. While we were there, pool loungers would frequently get tossed into the pool by the wind. We were actually concerned that someone may get hurt. That being said, the pool and hot tubs are nice, clean and in good shape.

Overall, while a nice hotel, I certainly didn't feel that it was worth the money in any way.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,916 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,122
    436
    192
    108
    58
See reviews for
386
904
24
113
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (333)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Markham, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We spent six nights in this hotel. The hotel is situated in Kapalua, which is quite a distance away from almost all of the activities. If you are seeking for an isolated place to getaway or you are there mainly for golf playing, this may be for you. It is only 2 mins away from the famous Plantation golf club. The suite was very spacious, with a living area, 2 balconies, a kitchenette, and the bedroom en-suite. Shuttle service was excellent, with minimal waiting time catering to individual needs.

Because of it's "remote" location, we were always the first to be picked up and last to be dropped off for any excursion tours, meaning you spend more time on the bus and had to get up way more earlier.
This resort is consistently surrounded by cloudy, rainy and windy conditions, even though the other areas was sunny and dry (just may be 15 mins drive away). The water by the D.T Flemming beach is very rough, you don't see many people on this beach, never-mind doing any water activities. On some occasions, we tried to chill by the pool, but it was so windy and cloudy that it wasn't very enjoyable.
The shower stall was very small and basic, water pressure was weak and there wasn't a hand held shower (only a rainhead shower). Toiletries were not replenished completely daily, e.g. shower cap etc.
House keeping service was rather lousy (for a 5+ star rating hotel). Our fridge in the room has a pretty foul smell when you open it and garbage in the kitchenette wasn't emptied at each housekeeping visit. I have also spotted crawling ants on the couch on one occasion.
Concierge was unhelpful most of the time. We tried to get directions of how to get to the restaurant Sansei the first night when we arrived, which is approx a 5 mins walk north side of the main premises. The staff kept directing us to the Kai restaurant in the lobby right next to the concierge desk, despite a few clarifications.

I would not recommend this hotel because of its only-average quality and its remote location (with poor weather). It didn't live up to the Ritz Carlton brand. I would sacrifice for this location if the quality is superb and excellent, but it definitely was not.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erlangen
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013 via mobile

The property around the hotel is beatiful as well as the beach. even though it is important to know that the beach is located 10 minutes walk down the hill.We had a fine week here end of Februar - but I would not give it 5 stars. On the positive side: the room was nice, spacious and clean, the houskeeping staff very friendly and helpful, the breakfast buffet is a really good value with a great variety of dishes and drinks. We had a room with a garden view but that was ok since the view was of perfectly maintained golf course.we didnt try any other resturants at the hotel but mostly dined in lahaine or bought stuff at the nearby shop which had good selection. As for the negatives: we didnt find the reception stuff very friendly or helpful, the carpets at the hotel are really dirty, pool area coud be a bit tidier, we also didnt like tehe food orderd by the pools- the coctails didnt have any alcohol at all!!
But what bothered us most is a thing hotel management cant really help- the location is incredibly windy- i mean windy to the point where you are blown away togather with your pool chair. when its windy it is also chilly and you cant really swim in the pools- thats why everybody gathered around whirlpools and they became overcrowded.Like many people stated before- you just need to drive 1-2 miles southwards and the weather is much better.
What is a puzzle to me- how come the golfers are not bothered by the wind- since such ghastly wind must definetly affect trajectory of the ball.
if you fly all the way from europe in the middle of the winter and expect tropical paradise and relaxing sunbathing holiday it is a huge dissappointment if there is not one single day where you can relax on the pool and enjoy the sun.
i would defintly never go back there again- but if you are not after sun bathing und swimming it might be ok for you.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Arrived on Sunday afternoon for our honeymoon, the hotel staff didn’t seem to know it was our honeymoon even though they were informed at the time of booking !!
My parents ordered chocolate covered strawberries and champagne delivered to the room with a card after checking in and a bouquet of flowers with a card, chocolate covered strawberries and champagne were already in the room when we arrived, general card didn’t say who it was from, the flowers were delivered the following day with no card after my parents gave concierge clear instruction on what, how and when.
First night were awakened by load noises as if demolition is taking place on our floor at 6:00 AM !!, after complaining to the manager he said the reason for the noise was they were installing new carpet, he did apologize, gave us free breakfast and changed the room.
We will not stay there again, 5 star price with a 2 star service.

Room Tip: read reviews before booking !
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easley, SC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

This was a business/vacation, and the Ritz really knows how to provide great service. The seven pools was visible from my balcony as the ocean. It was a picture post card view. The food, beverages and the service was fantastic. All the employees seem to have a great time working there. I recommend renting a car to drive over the mountain on a one lane road with NO guard rail. Also the bike ride down the Haleakala was breathtaking and well worth the cost and the early morning pick up.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

We have been to this resort several times over the past years and we have had very good experiences in all of our stays. Before we decided to stay here the first time for our honeymoon we had our doubts since there are a lot of mixed reviews, but we decided to take our chances and we where pleasantly rewarded, after that first time we have been going back every year to spend our weeding anniversary at this hotel. So here is my review:

Location: Many reviews say that this place is located far from everything else on the island and that there is not much to do around this area. Well this is true this hotel is not located in the main areas where other resorts are (Wailea, Ka'anapali) but I think that is the whole point of this hotel, this is definitely a place to come and get away from the crowds and have some quiet time and relax. There is also some restaurants walking distance from the hotel like, Merriman's and Sansei which both serve extraordinary food. So for the location if you are looking to be in the middle of the busy tourist areas this is obviously not the place, but for those looking to go to a relaxing place and some peace and quiet this is a great part of Maui.

Weather: The weather in Kapalua is somewhat rainier than the other side of the island but from our experience and we have been to this hotel in the months of October and April, it usually rains in the afternoon around 4pm for 30 - 45 minutes and then you get quite a bit of sun. There is always going to be a breeze at this hotel and this part of Maui, but the way that I see it, is that it keeps you cool when you are out in the sun allowing you to enjoy all day out at the beach or pool.

Property: This is a beautiful property with some breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean. I have been to other hotels in the area and most of them have the same tendency to show some wear from years of use and this is the case at this property as well, it is also the case at other Ritz Carlton beach hotels, such as the Key Biscayne property. In general the time we have stayed at this hotel our room has been in very good shape including beds, linens, bathrooms etc., with no complains in this aspect. The pool area is beautiful and very large making easy to get a lounge chair without having to wake up at 7am to get a chair like other hotels in the area. The beach directly at the hotel is a different story, there are limited use of lounge chairs on the actual sand so you might have to use one at some type of grass terrace right before you get to the sand, from my understanding this has also something to do that this beach is within a national park, so this is not so much the hotel's fault they are just following the guidelines. In regards to the restaurants in the hotel there are different options; for breakfast you can eat either at the Terrace Restaurant where they serve a full breakfast buffets with all types of different food options, there is also the Alaloa Lounge next to the lobby, here you can eat a more on the go type breakfast (the croissant sandwich is very good), both of these options are very good. For lunch there is the Beach House that serves pretty good lunch and the drinks are very good, at the pool you could also order a good variety of food and then there is the pool bar and restaurant, we usually ate something at the pool or at the beach. For Dinner there is Kai Sushi and the Alaloa Lounge, Kai Sushi is GREAT, one of the best and freshest sushis I have eaten anywhere, the Ahi Poke is amazing, however it is pricey but again you are at a Ritz and in Hawaii so what could you expect. In Alaloa Lounge you can order sandwiches as well as most of the items from Kai Sushi, so it makes it a great option for dinner.

Staff & Service: Most of the staff at this hotel have been pretty good, however we did have a not so good experience at the beach and at the pool with ordering food and drinks, service at both of these was just not acceptable, I quickly advices the front desk about this and it was quickly delat with and I even received a follow up call that same day letting me know that this issue was addressed and it was, service was a lot better the next day. For the restaurants the service was very good, there is a person by the name of Rogelio that worked at both Kai and Alaloa and this individual was great, I mean he went out of his way to make sure you where 100% happy with the service. At the front desk and the concierge desk everyone was very helpful and pleasant. One thing that does stand out for me is that the few time any issue was raised with someone at the front desk this was dealt with immediately and the follow through was pretty impressive.

I hope this information can help anyone that is on the fence about staying at this property or going elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel! Very friendly staff. Everything in the hotel is kept neat and clean. Great pool, several bar areas, outstanding view, good food, and a very nice beach area. The work out equipment could be updated but it is more than most hotels have.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.