We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Married here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
65 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Married here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

What an amazing first class experience! From start to finish the entire ritz family made our wedding the best experience possible, we will continue to come back regularly for sure! Thank you Kristen and Maria for everything! Food, weather, drinks, staff, rooms, all perfect!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,385
    506
    225
    115
    68
See reviews for
488
1,080
33
161
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (451)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Maui is really amazing if you haven't been. I've traveled all over the world and this island is amazing. The Ritz is lovely, lush, nice beach area, great pools, and has the quintissential look of most Ritz's. We had very nice service and thought the staff was great. We only stayed for 1 night at the end of the birthday trip but loved that it's a bit more secluded for couples then some of the areas a bit further south. We will be back!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved our second stay at this property even more than our first! The staff is amazing and always friendly. The property is beautiful and private although it is only a few miles from all the action of Kaanapali. The beach area is really nice, definitely worth the short walk from the pool area. The pool staff are attentive and there to make you comfortable. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable (plus the bath amenities are wonderful!). There is a shuttle service providing access to restaurants within the resort if you don't want to stay on-site. Also the resort store has fantastic and affordable, food for breakfast and lunch. We walked over each morning for a latte and breakfast - then strolled past the little church with the most amazing stain glass windows!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
37 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We found a great deal on a travel web site for Ritz and decided to try it. Normally we stay In Wailea. The hotel itself is very nice and in a beautiful location (it's Maui after all). The staff were all very nice and helpful. There are a few drawbacks to it though in my opinion: the beach is quite a ways down and it is a public beach so the hotel doesn't offer chairs or umbrellas on the beach. there are three pools, one of which is designated as an adult pool but that designation is neither followed nor enforced. There are no umbrellas around the pool so the only option for shade is by renting an expensive four person cabana but nearly all of those were taken up by one of three conferences at the hotel which would be the most disappointing aspect of the visit: loud groups of people everywhere which for me is not really conducive to a relaxing vacation.

Room Tip: We had a terrace room overlooking the golf course to the south which had a great view of ocean and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You definitely won't be disappointed. They packed a picnic for us for our day in the high country. The breakfasts were amazing with wonderful natural condiments. The staff was very friendly and so helpful in many ways,, definitely go there if you are considering this hotel!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed here 4 or 5 times in the past and always try to stay here when I am in Maui. While it is not the top hotel in Hawaii, it is by far better than anything you would find in Oahu with the exception of the Royal Hawaiian. If you are coming to lay around the pool or beach there are probably better choices. When the trade winds are blowing it can be quite windy. The beach is pretty non existent, but there is one of the finest public beaches next to it. The wind does make a nice surf to play in and also keeps it cooler than Wailea.
The grounds are very nice and the paths can take you on a nice 1 to 1 1/2 mi. walk/run. The breakfast buffet is very nicely done and the bed and breakfast package is a great value. The three golf courses are the best in the state and include the world class Plantation course.
Even if you are not catholic attending mass at the chapel on the grounds is an unforgettable experience. The sides open up and the hymns are sung in Hawaiian. Consider a day trip to Molokai to tour the old lepper colony. It is a short flight out of the Kapalua airport. Also Kaanapali and Lanai are just up the road and offer great shopping.
For the most part the physical property is in pretty good shape with the exception of the filthy worn out hall carpeting. The pool area is very pretty with the exception of the awful cabana's. They are falling apart and I don't understand the TV's.
When visiting Maui, Kapalua offers something not found on other parts of the island, and a no brainier if you are a golfer.

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

With the range of opinions stated here about this hotel, it was hard to get a "fix" on what to expect before I arrived. I can only speak for my husband and me, but we really loved it. Staying on Marriott points, we feared we might be treated as second class citizens, but the contrary was true. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure we were warmly welcomed and happy with our room. These folks are really genuinely good people. Not a single hint of pretentiousness or stuffiness.

We especially enjoyed the comfortable bed. The frette linens were the smoothest I have ever encountered. We slept like babies, and that's saying something because we are really OLD and usually full of aches and pains. Room was kept really clean. Absolutely no complaints.

Another thing we enjoyed was the new restaurant down the large staircase from the main lobby. It's called the Terrace. Apparently it's only been open for a few weeks for dinner (has always been the breakfast buffet location). We just happened upon it our first night because we were too tired to drive anywhere. We liked it so much that we ate there every night they were open (3 of the 5 nights we were there). We found the service really top-notch and the food exceptional. Fresh local ingredients and even their own restaurant-made ice cream (the Kona coffee ice cream was addictive!) I loved the lobster veloute soup, too. From what we were able to learn, the folks from the recently-closed Banyan Tree restaurant have transitioned to this new one. I never ate at the Banyan Tree, so I can't compare the two. I just know we loved the food and felt really at home here (a variety of options, from fine dining to flatbreads and salads).

Speaking of food, I can honestly say I never had a bad meal at any of the venues here. Ate two lunches at the Pool Restaurant and several other snacks and lunch items at the Lobby Bar and Cafe. Things take awhile to be prepared, but truly a cut above. (You can tell that I focused a lot on eating while I was here, can't you? It's kind of embarrassing as I read back over this review, sigh)

Enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Didn't use the beach. We patronized the Aina coffee shop in the morning instead of the pricey $32.00 breakfast buffet. Found the folks there delightful! (There I go, talking about food again).

Would return to this hotel in a New York minute and feel that some of the criticisms here are based on unrealistic expectations. This is Hawaii and there is just a different vibe and a different way of living. It is more laid back. That is a GOOD thing. You might find a mainland Ritz-Carlton in a metropolitan area more formal and --- perhaps --- more spiffy, but that would be out of place here. This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting, with lovely people and ultra comfortable rooms. The food is really good. If some of the carpets are a bit worn, etc. etc. etc., I don't think it detracts in any way from the experience. The physical plant takes more of a beating in the tropics and it's almost impossible to keep things totally pristine all the time. Between renovations, some things may show a little wear and tear. I've found that to be the case wherever I've stayed in Hawaii. I will say that groundskeepers and maintenance people were always working while we were there...it's obvious to us that the hotel takes great care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapalua
0.7 mi away
Montage Kapalua Bay
Montage Kapalua Bay
#1 of 31 in Lahaina
5.0 of 5 stars 186 reviews
26.4 mi away
The Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui
26.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Maui at Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Hyatt Regency Maui Resort and Spa
25.9 mi away
Grand Wailea - A Waldorf Astoria Resort
25.3 mi away
Andaz Maui At Wailea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Marriott, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz Lahaina
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.