We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Breathtaking views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Fifth Night
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

You definitely won't be disappointed. They packed a picnic for us for our day in the high country. The breakfasts were amazing with wonderful natural condiments. The staff was very friendly and so helpful in many ways,, definitely go there if you are considering this hotel!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,080
    417
    186
    102
    56
See reviews for
363
870
22
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have stayed here 4 or 5 times in the past and always try to stay here when I am in Maui. While it is not the top hotel in Hawaii, it is by far better than anything you would find in Oahu with the exception of the Royal Hawaiian. If you are coming to lay around the pool or beach there are probably better choices. When the trade winds are blowing it can be quite windy. The beach is pretty non existent, but there is one of the finest public beaches next to it. The wind does make a nice surf to play in and also keeps it cooler than Wailea.
The grounds are very nice and the paths can take you on a nice 1 to 1 1/2 mi. walk/run. The breakfast buffet is very nicely done and the bed and breakfast package is a great value. The three golf courses are the best in the state and include the world class Plantation course.
Even if you are not catholic attending mass at the chapel on the grounds is an unforgettable experience. The sides open up and the hymns are sung in Hawaiian. Consider a day trip to Molokai to tour the old lepper colony. It is a short flight out of the Kapalua airport. Also Kaanapali and Lanai are just up the road and offer great shopping.
For the most part the physical property is in pretty good shape with the exception of the filthy worn out hall carpeting. The pool area is very pretty with the exception of the awful cabana's. They are falling apart and I don't understand the TV's.
When visiting Maui, Kapalua offers something not found on other parts of the island, and a no brainier if you are a golfer.

Room Tip: Bed and Breakfast great value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

With the range of opinions stated here about this hotel, it was hard to get a "fix" on what to expect before I arrived. I can only speak for my husband and me, but we really loved it. Staying on Marriott points, we feared we might be treated as second class citizens, but the contrary was true. The entire staff went out of their way to make sure we were warmly welcomed and happy with our room. These folks are really genuinely good people. Not a single hint of pretentiousness or stuffiness.

We especially enjoyed the comfortable bed. The frette linens were the smoothest I have ever encountered. We slept like babies, and that's saying something because we are really OLD and usually full of aches and pains. Room was kept really clean. Absolutely no complaints.

Another thing we enjoyed was the new restaurant down the large staircase from the main lobby. It's called the Terrace. Apparently it's only been open for a few weeks for dinner (has always been the breakfast buffet location). We just happened upon it our first night because we were too tired to drive anywhere. We liked it so much that we ate there every night they were open (3 of the 5 nights we were there). We found the service really top-notch and the food exceptional. Fresh local ingredients and even their own restaurant-made ice cream (the Kona coffee ice cream was addictive!) I loved the lobster veloute soup, too. From what we were able to learn, the folks from the recently-closed Banyan Tree restaurant have transitioned to this new one. I never ate at the Banyan Tree, so I can't compare the two. I just know we loved the food and felt really at home here (a variety of options, from fine dining to flatbreads and salads).

Speaking of food, I can honestly say I never had a bad meal at any of the venues here. Ate two lunches at the Pool Restaurant and several other snacks and lunch items at the Lobby Bar and Cafe. Things take awhile to be prepared, but truly a cut above. (You can tell that I focused a lot on eating while I was here, can't you? It's kind of embarrassing as I read back over this review, sigh)

Enjoyed the hot tub and pool. Didn't use the beach. We patronized the Aina coffee shop in the morning instead of the pricey $32.00 breakfast buffet. Found the folks there delightful! (There I go, talking about food again).

Would return to this hotel in a New York minute and feel that some of the criticisms here are based on unrealistic expectations. This is Hawaii and there is just a different vibe and a different way of living. It is more laid back. That is a GOOD thing. You might find a mainland Ritz-Carlton in a metropolitan area more formal and --- perhaps --- more spiffy, but that would be out of place here. This is a wonderful hotel in a beautiful setting, with lovely people and ultra comfortable rooms. The food is really good. If some of the carpets are a bit worn, etc. etc. etc., I don't think it detracts in any way from the experience. The physical plant takes more of a beating in the tropics and it's almost impossible to keep things totally pristine all the time. Between renovations, some things may show a little wear and tear. I've found that to be the case wherever I've stayed in Hawaii. I will say that groundskeepers and maintenance people were always working while we were there...it's obvious to us that the hotel takes great care.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013 via mobile

Last night in Hawaii after 2 at Halekulani and 5 on Lanai. This place is way too big to have any kind of intimate service. Tons of kids, families and groups. Nice grounds and landscaping but way too crazy to qualify for a relaxing vacay. Go to Lanai.
Room is standard Ritz. Recently updated and nice. Off label amenities look cheap.
Not upset we are leaving this place tomorrow. Probably great for golf or family. Otherwise, keep it.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Late in posting, but stayed here about 2 yrs ago in April for 3 nights. Got a good deal through Orbitz, where I booked flight, hotel, and rental car. Grounds were very nice, staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable with nice amenities. We were supposed to have an "ocean view" but it was more like a sliver of a view. There was a pretty well equipped gym. There were definitely a lot of families with small kids, which was fine, but if you're expecting a quiet getaway with mostly adults, I would say this was not it. The beach was small, and definitely not as nice as those on the western side of the island. If you rent a car, the hotel is a short drive away from Lahaina where there are a lot of nice restaurants to eat at. If I had to stay in Maui again, I would probably try somewhere on the west side of the island, so that I'd have closer access to the beaches there.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, California
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Well, what can I say. Wow!! This was my 2nd year on an assignment in Hawaii. Last year I wrote a wonderful story about my stay in Kauai. This year we were placed at the Ritz-Carlton in beautiful Maui. Folks, all I can say is now I know what heaven will look like. Everything about this property is heavenly! The staff are very attentive. And their security team was amongst one of the best! Kudos to the team. The scenery is right out of the pages of what the Garden of Eden would look like. All I can say is this: “If planning a trip to Hawaii and you want to be in EDEN, then stay at the Ritz-Carlton in Maui!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

I stayed 4 nights for a work function. The hotel is "nice" but I kind of expected more from a Ritz - not sure why but, I did. There was nothing particularly exceptional about the hotel. From the grounds to the service it was okay. The food was mediocre at best - in fairness the meals were for a rather large group but, a number of dishes were very poorly executed and the breakfast was terrible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.