We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living The Ritz Life” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Fifth Night
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Redding, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Living The Ritz Life”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Wd have stayed at the Ritz on Maui a couple of times over the years. It is a hotel that has both good and bad qualities. On this trip I give it 5 for everything.
We first visited the Ritz on our honeymoon several years ago and absolutly fell in love with the location, vistas, people, and service. Unlike some of the other hotels on the island, this hotel is a quiet and relaxing place in Maui,
On previous stays the Ritz Kapalua was not completely up to par with many of the other very high-end Ritz hotels. I have also had some problems with the service now and then. I attribute that to the union situation at this property.
This time, however, the resort was fantastic.
The ritz's hotel grounds are beautiful and there are many nice places to walk. If you want a relaxing vacation on Maui, this is the place to visit.
I'm glad the Ritz was better this trip.

Room Tip: The larger rooms on the right side of the hotel are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,136
    437
    193
    109
    58
See reviews for
391
911
25
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fayetteville, Arkansas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed in March 2013. The service was great and the rooms are extremely nice and large. Many of them are suites. The beach is a walk down the hill but they have a shuttle that will take you back up if you don't want to walk it. Walk up the hill to the Honolua store for cheaper breakfast or lunch (and great T-shirts). There are wonderful restaurants very close and often times the hotel will shuttle you to them. Just ask them...
Loved our stay! We will go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Kapalua at the end of February. The hotel itself was a lovely property with a beautiful view and very nice public areas. The guest rooms was nice as well, but the hallways were "tired". Time for new carpet, the elevators was seriously confused and slow and the overall hallway feel was dark and dingy. That's too bad, because the rest of the property felt very upscale. Our guestroom was very nice, with one big exception... there were NO hooks or towel hangers in the bathroom!! There were double bars over the tub for clean towels, (keep in mind there was a separate shower unit, not one in the tub) but no other place to hang towels, or wet bathing suits! Not even for a handtowel near the sinks! Is it me, or is that just strange for a hotel? With four of us in the room, it made for a very messy bathroom - all of the time!!

The pool at the Ritz is very nice, albeit drinks are very overpriced, but what would you expect at the Ritz? Two margaritas and two smoothies for the kids came to over $50 with tip. Yikes! The gym was very well appointed and clean. The beach at the Ritz, although pretty, is a very long walk and dangerous! I couldn't relax having the kids there, so we spent our "water time" at the pool.

No fault of the Ritz, but the weather in Kapalua was interesting. There was a perpetual rain cloud hanging over the Ritz and the winds were sometimes unbearable at the pool. The way the buildings are situated, makes for a perfect wind tunnel coming up off the ocean. Between that and the raincloud, made it less than desireable for a "Hawaiian" vacation. Each day you could drive 10 minutes down the road and be out of the rainclouds and wind... very strange. Also, if you are the type that wants to be convenient to off resort activities.. reconsider your stay at the Ritz. The hotel is a long way away from activities. We spent a lot of time in our car just driving, which isn't ideal on vacation.

My final beef... the $18 daily resort fee that is charged at check out on top of normal room fees. When I inquired I was told it was to cover the "complimentary" services such as internet, coffee and tea in the room, the van shuttle service etc. Not for nothing, but I thought the word "complimentary" generally meant it was just that. Wish I'd known, i would have been sure to use some of these services!!

Anyway, we were not unhappy with our stay, but there was enough negative that it is very unlikely that we would stay at the Ritz in Kapalua again.

Room Tip: Ocean View offered as good of view as Ocean Front
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I guess some people just enjoy complaining...we stayed at the Ritz for 5 days before moving on and had a wonderful time so I am not sure what the complaints have been about.

The hotel staff was attentive. The decor was beautiful and the rooms were nice and big. We enjoyed the pool and the ocean. We watched whales jumping in the distance and did a hike along the shoreline on the lava rocks. It is also just down the road from Lahania and Kaanapali.

The only thing I might suggest is to heat the pool a little warmer in the spring months. It was quite cold and unenjoyable.

We have a time share at the Marriot in Kaanapali so it was fun to try something different.

We really enjoyed our trip and would gladly return!

Room Tip: We had a garden suite...you could still see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for our honeymoon. This was the perfect place to spend it, they have a private beach, which is great because you don't have to deal with all the tourist. They also have nice lunch spot to eat at that overlooks the ocean, but it is a bit pricy for what it is. Each room has a balcony that is great for in the morning to sit out on. The location is great the area is not over crowded and you feel like your getting away.They also have some great pools to swim in and at night they have hammocks in the trees to look at the stars.The rooms are nice they have recently been remodeled and look great the bathroom is nice ad there shampoo smells amazing. Room service is wonderful and I told them ahead of time that we were here in our honeymoon and they had strawberries and champaign waiting when we arrived, and the staff is super friendly ad will help you with anything. Overall it was a wonder place to stay, again it is costly but then again it is the Ritz.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui, Hawaii
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I have travelled to Maui several times for short vacations, before I had only stayed in vacation rental condos. This time I decided to live it up a bit and stay at the Ritz Carlton in Kapalua, and I am glad I made that choice. The rooms are nice and the property expansive, but the real difference was the services I received.

Upon my arrival I was greeted with a smile by the nice front desk person, he was very apologetic when he informed me that there was currently not a clean room available but promised to call me on my cell as soon as one opened up.

I decided to kill time at pool bar/café under a large shaded area and enjoy some of the local beers. My waiter, Maximus, was amazing from the start, he help steer me towards the Maui Brewing Companies Bikini Blonde ( I cannot believe that in all of my trips here I had never had a beer from this local brewery) and brought me out chips and salsa to help tide me over while I waited for my room. No sooner had the chips arrived than my cell was wringing, it was the front desk letting me know my room was ready. Maximus boxed up my chips and salsa and put my beer into a plastic cup so I could take them with me to my room.

I ended up having lunch at the pool bar/café each of my 3 days in Maui and was lucky to get Maximus as a server each time, I say lucky because he ended up being one of the best adventure guides I have ever had on a vacation. He directed me to 2 different snorkeling sites ( too special to share on trip advisor, lol) that we both less than 20 mins away by car and let me know where I could pick fresh guava on morning hikes. His attention to detail on my food order, I cant each dairy, made my food ordering a surprisingly easy task and he even got me to step out of my comfort zone and to try their signature Pina Colada’.

The trip was short but great, and made more enjoyable by the attention of one very kind and extremely helpful employee. The service I received throughout the hotel was superb and to be honest the only reason that I will spend this much money on a hotel in the future- the team here has made me a true believer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel. The service is superb. The food, although expensive, is very good. The rooms are quite comfortable. We stayed here twice and one of the times was for a wedding. The wedding was done beautifully. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a little paradise.

Room Tip: A room with an ocean view ocean front
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.