We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Save Saved
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Fifth Night
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Had a great stay here in Jan. The staff really did make you feel at home! Always friendly and kind! Pool area was very nice with great pool side service! And the location was great! We would love to stay here again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,832 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,073
    416
    186
    102
    55
See reviews for
363
865
22
112
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

What can one say about Kapalua and what can one say about the Ritz Carlton? There you have it! AN incredible facility in an incredible place! If there is any negative, it is that there really isn't much of a beach. But, who cares! If you are really into beaching it, Ka'anapali is minutes away and the beaches are great. If you're into golf, the resort has two immaculate and picturesque courses to chose from. Breakfast overlooking the large pool that has an ocean backdrop is incredible. (Sit outside!) We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Well appointed resort, comes with the quality you expect at the Ritz.

Service at times, especially by the pool seemed slow at times.

Amazing views all over the resort property. Set back a little from the ocean, a short one or two blocks gets your toes in the sand.

Food was always good, very nice fitness center and spa, amazing golf courses, pools.

Prices are a little higher here but as expected with it being the Ritz and little hotel competition in Kapalua.

Room sizes were average, slightly smaller than expected.

Overall, if you plan on visiting (WINDY) Kapalua, stay at the Ritz.

Tip - Check out the General store - great prices open for Breakfast and Dinner. Also if you like sushi you MUST stop at Sansei.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We stayed in one of the residential suites. It is perfect if you have young children and do not wish to have every meal in a restaurant as there is a tiny kitchenette. No stove but has dish washer, microwave fridge, freezer and toaster. The rooms are comfortable although the furniture and drapes are very dated.

The pool and beach is always windy. The wailea side of the island has much nicer beaches and better weather.

The property is located near great spots for dining such as sansei and merriman's. there is also a Honolua store which stores the basics and even has a deli counter selling fresh fish sandwiches. We ate there twice during our stay.

We had a great time. But the service is not up to par for a Ritz hotel. We felt that the very average service and the dated furniture and decorations throughout the hotel did not give a five star experience.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

It's a lovely hotel indeed, but the service is what sets the Ritz apart from all other hotels on the west side of Maui... Again and again they really demonstrated above and beyond service - which really stood out after spending 2 weeks at the Westin down the road... Also, they don't nickel and dime you like they do at the Westin, charging for beach chairs etc etc... Kapalua is the place for golfers, for the weather is windier, wetter, and cloudier than a few miles away in Kaanapali and Lahaina, so keep this in mind... Kapalua is a different eco-system - beautiful but different. You'll be happy putting on the Ritz...!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
spruce grove
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had a two night stay at the Ritz-Carlton which didn't allow much time to enjoy the area as much as we wanted.
Greeting and check in process were very welcoming. We were offered a small upgrade which was a nice surprise and gave us a nice golf course view. The room was beautiful with hardwood floors and tasteful decor. Bed was very comfortable for our tastes with plenty of pillows. Grounds were lush and a short walk brought you to T.D. Fleming beach which I'm sure would have been great to relax on had the weather been more pleasant.

Dining options were not all that great unless you enjoyed sushi and ridiculous prices to pay for basic food choices. $18 for oatmeal....really??? Drinks at the lounge were not any better and I'm sure the cocktail I had didn't have any alcohol at all which means I probably paid $13 for some fruit juices.

That being said,,,we walked a short distance to a GREAT restaurant down the road. This restaurant unlike the Ritz-Carlton's sushi restaurant offered many options other than sushi and at better prices. This place was packed with customers while the Ritz's had only a few tables seated.

The pool area looked wonderful but unfortunately because of our short stay and weather conditions we did not have a chance to enjoy it. We noticed a small play area for children and ice cream kiosk which was nice.

If you don't mind being "nickled & dimed" for everything..this would be an alright choice. The grounds and room were really great, only found the lobby area a bit small and uninteresting.
A $25 resort fee is charged for every night booked. This is for 2 bottles of water, internet and pool access I believe. In other words...stuff you get free at even the cheap motels. There is also a $10/day parking fee which many other resorts in the area include with the resort fee charged.

Room Tip: rooms facing the golf course were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Beautiful hotel and grounds, world class service in a neat Village setting. Kapalua is definitely not a spot to be if you want to just lay in the sun and tan for 6 hours a day. After 10 days in Wailea, I felt like I was in a tropical storm when I was laying poolside at the Ritz. It was priced appropriately and the service was amazing. We got an early check in, and they upgraded our room after hearing we were at the Fairmont Kea Lani for 10 days. The spa here is the nicest one i've ever been to and on a rainy day its the spot to be. I would return for sure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Tingo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, Venere and Agoda so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.