We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Chicago
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

I'd give the resort 4.5 stars if I could. It's not quite a 5 Star, but close. It is everything you would expect from a Ritz-Carlton, but for some reason it just wasn't as nice as a few other hotels I've recently stayed at.

The pool was decent size and broken up into multiple pools so you never felt like there were a lot of people there. The service was as expected at a Ritz, top notch all the way.

The restaurants are very good, albeit extrememely expensive. $32 for a breakfast buffet is ridiculous, cost us $120 for our family of 4......for eggs!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,077 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,233
    462
    204
    111
    67
See reviews for
427
980
30
124
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (385)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Of course the ritz offers what one would expect: perfection in all aspects ....definitely the place to come back to...professional, friendly, quiet and perfect service...prices within the expected range...the pool area fabulous and of course the golf course at the door....

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Just returned from a corporate sponsored conference at this resort. The level of service far exceeded the resort which is a bit tired, but well-maintained. The staff was very friendly and professional - "can do" attitude! It is a bit of a walk down to the remote beach, but worth the steep hike (plenty of golf cart taxis if you can't make the climb).

Room Tip: The connecting rooms are not desirable if you are seeking peace and quite. The dividing door is ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We have stayed in Kapalua over 10 times. We fell in love with the area back when the Kapalua Bay Hotel was in operation. After Marriott decided to level it to build the Ritz Carlton Residences (now in bankruptcy and under new management), we shifted over to the Ritz Carlton Hotel.
We love the property and the service.
It's nice to have easy access to DT Flemming Beach. RC provides beach chairs at no cost - they used to provide lounge chairs but ended that service in 2011.
You can take walk/hike the new ocean front access trail to Kapalua Bay or just hop on the shuttle. There is a rental shack at Kapalua Bay where you can room charge your beach chair or lounge chair rental ($20 / day)...and the snorkeling is great in Kapalua Bay.
RC has 3 connected pools: top one is for everyone, middle for adults only and lower for kids.
Kapalua Shuttle will take you all around the area (restaurants) so you don't need a car unless you plan to go with the masses to Lahaina or on a day trip to Hana!
The only downside to the property...and it's not a deal-breaker...is that it is very WINDY in Kapalua, and if there is rain on the island, Kapalua will get some.
RC just added a nice coffee bar with local products and fresh coconut water!
Great local restaurants: Merriman's and Sansei
Book trading: concierge

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff at the Ritz are friendly, will to do anything to make your stay perfect. The Club level staff really cares and enjoys their work, when we would go in they remembered what drink we like and would be ready to help with tours and airline check ins. Housekeeping is exceptional. The front desk is willing to do what ever it takes to make you happy. We had a perfect stay. My husband did not want to leave. Have stayed there 5 times now and will return.

Room Tip: I like a room facing the pool and ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Ritz Carlton's rarely disappoint and this is no exception...with one exception. The beach.

Many of the hotels on Maui along the west end have direct beach access. Walk out of the back of the hotel, past the pool and there is the wide beach and the beautiful Pacific Ocean. At the Rtiz in Kapalua, not so much. For some fascinating reasons (but too much to go into here) while the hotel had been planned to be on the beach, it is now set back perhaps 3/4 of a mile. The hotel will gladly run you down to the nearby beach in one of their shuttles/carts, but when you get there you'll find a lovely, but small cove. It's a fine beach, but if what you want is miles and miles of wide, white sandy beach, best head a bit closer to Kanaapali. The hotels there won't be quite as nice as the Ritz, but the beaches will meet your expansive needs.

The Ritz is a not a huge, dominating tower, but set far more nicely into the landscape, melding into the land, not overpowering it. Service is outstanding, as you'd expect and everyone from the house keepers, to the front desk has a smile for you. Rooms are comfortable, bed delightful and every room has a lanai (porch) that is wide enough to sit out on and enjoy the ocean breezes. And, this end of Maui is breezy, so there will be no lack there.

The real reason most people come here is the golf. Two great courses the Bay (a couple of holes along the water) and the Plantation which is a full PGA course, where they play the Hyundai Tournament of Champioins every January. Courses can't be beat, but can be windy, better head out the first part of the day, unless you like watching drive after drive dance in the wind.

The hotel often has local musicians in the lobby in the afternoon/evening. They are never overpowering, but a treat to listen to if you like your music island style.

You'll need a car to get to most restaurants not in the hotel, but you can walk up to Sansei. Great little sushi place, with plenty of rolls, if that's the way you roll, or lots of fresh local fish.

Location note, you're close to Lahania and its harbor, which makes for easy access to boats to take you whale watching (winter), diving and snorkeling. And Lahania, though certainly touristy, has lots of history on this island. Shopping? Whaler's Village will run from kitsch to Louis Vuitton. However, if you have the Road to Hana (which I love) in mind, it will be a long drive by car (about an hour) to get to Paia which is just the beginning of the 200 plus curves run. Haleakala is also a bit of a drive, especially the winding part up the volcano, but another sight worth the trip.

Room Tip: All the rooms are nice but the premium for the ocean or partial ocean views is worth the expense in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

The more I travel, the more I stay away from highly developed areas with giant beachfront resorts. Perhaps when I have kids in tow one day it will make more sense. That said, I have been to Maui and Kapalua twice now, once in a villa and more recently at the Ritz. Maui is amazing, and I completely understand why it has been so widely developed. It is as close to natural perfection as I've seen.

The Ritz is immaculate. The rooms are clean, refreshed, not overly "islandy", and comfortable. The grounds are lovely as well, all set against as stunning of a backdrop as you'll find anywhere. Laying by the pool was great, though occasionally a little noisy as this is a resort that caters to families and kids which really isnt a big deal to me but some folks might not love it. Pool service was great, seemed a cold drink was never far away. Down by the beach was my favorite though, very quiet and the beach restaurant had solid sandwiches and such for lunch. The valet service crew was spectacular. We got friendly with one of the guys early in the trip, took good care of him, and he made sure we had our own private escalade every time we were leaving from or returning to the hotel. Couple small complaints, and would only point these out because its a Ritz and that comes with certain expectations. The concierge service was seemingly overwhelmed and had trouble with any requests that were at all "outside the box". Not a big deal and easy enough to do some googling and find your own fun. Also, one night we stayed in the room for dinner and had a fantastic bottle of wine from home chilled for the cozy night in. I walked downstairs and asked for wine glasses that were slightly more suitable for a top notch bottle than the little ones in the room and was told, even after pressing, that these were unavailable unless I ordered a bottle from their "reserve" list. I understand pushing for purchase and all, but it's (supposedly) a Ritz and this was a truly minor request to make our one night staying in the room a little better. Just details and only pointing out because of the brand and the expectations it comes with.

We ate at the hotel a few nights and were very pleased. The Banyan Tree wine specials on Wednesday made it worth the trip if you're into wine, otherwise maybe not worth a trip. My favorite was sunset dinner at the Plantation House, where the food, views and service was all top notch. Outside the resort, we really enjoyed Merriman's which is just down the beach by the new residence club. I'm not into big breakfasts, so we went to the little general store on the property and picked up fruit and granola bars. Really good deals and a nice little store which is also good for lunch or if you wanna grab some supplies before exploring the island a bit.

I'm a golf nut and the Plantation Course is spectacular. Sure it's got great views, but the course would be world class even without them. My girlfriend is not a golfer, so I got up with the sun most mornings, got over to the course and was paired up with a couple of the other guys who were getting in an early round before doing the couples thing in the afternoon. Not to be missed, world class golf and one of the earliest designs by Crenshaw & Coore.

Despite being a large resort with plenty of development, Kapalua seems to be in its own spot in Maui. Little else around it and if you drive just 5 minutes north of the gates you are truly removed and feels like the end of the earth.

Overall, had a great time and if I find myself in Hawaii again, this is where I'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.