We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“5 stars for resort overall, 2 stars for poolside Cabana service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua to your Saves list
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Complimentary Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago suburbs
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“5 stars for resort overall, 2 stars for poolside Cabana service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights at the end of our 10-night Maui trip. This was a fantastic resort and we absolutely loved it - we were extremely sorry to leave! The Kapalua area is breathtakingly beautiful, and the resort is stunning. We stayed at the Westin Kaanapali Villas the first week of our trip, and both of us agreed that arriving at the Ritz felt like we were on a different (and far more luxurious!) vacation, even though it was just 10 minutes up the road.

With the exception of the poolside cabanas (more details below), we were extremely pleased with the service at this resort. The staff was super friendly and helpful, and really went above and beyond. This began with the wonderful front desk staff at check-in. We had booked an ocean view, one-bedroom suite, and upon arrival we were upgraded to an ocean view residential suite (one bedroom with kitchen), which was wonderful. The suite was spotless, beautiful, and well-appointed, and we loved the two lanais.

Our luggage was delivered to our room within minutes of our arrival, and the bellman was very friendly and gave us lots of great tips for our stay. We were celebrating our anniversary on this trip, and they treated us to a bottle of champagne and a plate of chocolate-covered strawberries in our room, which was a nice touch. The spa was incredible - possibly the best massage I've ever had.

Now for the cabana service. We had booked a full day cabana rental for $100, and our initial contact with our server was when he asked us early on if we wanted to look at a lunch menu. We had just finished breakfast, so we declined at that point. He then completely ignored us for the rest of the morning, though he spent lots of time catering to the couple in the cabana next to ours. We got the impression that they had been at the resort for awhile and "knew" this server, which is fine, but there was really no excuse for him to go to them on multiple occasions and then walk right by us without even a glance in our direction. I had to flag him down to order a daquiri.

Service markedly improved after I told him (again after flagging him down) that we would be ordering lunch. We concluded that because we had initially declined the lunch menu (remember, it was not yet lunch time) he had decided that he was not going to get a big tip from us, so we were not worth bothering with. By the way, we have always been very good tippers, and we did indeed tip him the full amount at the end of the day. However, when we were already staying in a very expensive suite and shelling out $100 more for a cabana, I expected better service. That being said, the poor cabana service didn't mar our otherwise wonderful stay. We will return - hopefully soon!

Room Tip: Try to get a package that includes breakfast, resort fee, and parking - great value!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,283
    481
    211
    113
    68
See reviews for
442
1,012
33
141
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (409)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manassas, Virginia, USA
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The room was pretty nice, as can be expected at The Ritz. The pool seemed good, but we didn't really spend any time there, or really in the hotel. The location is a bit far away from things, so if you plan to stay more in the hotel, then that shouldn't be a problem. If you want to go to a variety of beaches, be prepared to drive. However, sleeping was a bit tough as the pillows are all soft, but if stuff like that doesn't bother you, don't worry about it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

highly recommend!!! me and my wife were supposed to be on our honeymoon, but due to hurricane irene, our wedding was postponed but decided to still enjoy the honeymoon. first stop was in oahu at the hilton vacations club. day 2 our bag was stolen off wakiki beach with our camera, camcorder, cash, credit cards, licenses..etc.... hilton didn't do anything for us....however the ritz made a miserable trip into a fabulous and unforgettable honeymoon!! upon hearing about what happened to us, we were given free drinks at the bar and upgraded to an ocean view deluxe suite room. when we arrived to the room at night, 'unaloto taukei' aho- supervisor, had us greeted with a bottle of wine and champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a fruit and snack basket that lasted us the whole week. lastly, ehrn we went to the concierge, kaitlyn set up a spa and massage day for me and my wife to enjoy. the staff was always smiling and friendly. valet and bell service were always on point. the cleaning service was exceptional. i had the sign on my door to not disturb, and when i removed the sign hours later at night,i was greeted at the door with 10 cleaning personnel and management so that the room could be cleaned to ritz standards in matters of seconds. the grounds were absolutely amazing. and the complimentary breakfast buffet was delicious. they also provided a complimentary shuttle that picked me up from the airport and had golf carts and shuttles that took you around kapalua. this is by far the best place i have ever stayed at. i promise u will not be disappointed and will always remember your trip if you stay at the ritz carlton.

~ brandon

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel was beautiful and there was always staff willing to do anything for you...of course for a tip. However, the location was windy and far from the fun stuff.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The hotel and staff were spectacular. We have nothing but great things to say about the resort. If you want luxury, great service, and excellent food, come stay at the Ritz.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We arrived the day of the Tsunami. Right after we landed we were taken to the Ritz Carlton. We were suppose to stay at another hotel for the night but we were anxious and wanted to get to safety. Although there was a lot of nervous people around, checkin was quick and easy. Although we were not registered til the next day we were able to get into our club level room that evening. The club food was wonderful all day. Breakfast always included both hot and cold items. We did not eat out except for one evening. All of our meals were in the club lounge and we never felt deprived. We were also very pleased with the drink selections. We had the opportunity to try several mixed drinks along with beers and wines and it was awesome due to being included in the club lounge package. We also met great people and staff members there that helped us plan adventure outings. The view from the club lounge was also great. Husband used the gym and said it was satisfactory. We used the spa and it was pretty good. Overall it was a trip that we were glad we took even though things started put pretty scary.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We were there over week between Christmas and New Years. Didn't care for the property or hotel. Poor value and very put off by loud band that played till 2am on nye that kept guests from sleeping and was playing for largely a local crowd.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua

Address: 1 Ritz-Carlton Drive, Kapalua, Maui, HI 96761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Maui > Kapalua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Kapalua
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua 5*
Number of rooms: 463
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on 54 acres, The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua showcases a stunning, fully-renovated destination resort offering 463 guestrooms, including 107 residential suites, warm wood floors, travertine bathrooms, flat-screen televisions and Hawaiian-inspired artwork. The Spa beckons with treatment rooms framed by private garden showers, volcanic stone grottos, heat therapies, and a fitness center with spectacular ocean views. Jean-Michel Cousteau's Ambassadors of the Environment offers all levels activities from land to sea. Also featured are six restaurants, indoor/outdoor meeting space, an inviting children's pool and luxury cabanas. It is enveloped by picturesque Kapalua Resort’s two championship golf courses, dining and a century-old pineapple plantation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Hotel Kapalua
Ritz Carlton Maui
Ritz-Carlton Lahaina
Ritz Lahaina
Lahaina Ritz-Carlton
The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua Maui

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Ritz-Carlton, Kapalua, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.