We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Paekakariki Holiday Park

Paekakariki Holiday Park
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paekakariki
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paekakariki Holiday Park
Save
You added Paekakariki Holiday Park to your Saves list
Wellington Road, Paekakariki, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great Spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We first stayed here 3 years ago when both our beautiful dogs were still with us and we stayed in the Dog Bay. We had checked the camp out several weeks before hand and had chosen a site which we booked. When our holiday was upon us we made our way to Paekakareki Camp and booked in and went to our site. Set up and relaxed into our 2 week holiday. The following day we were enjoying the whole thing of being in this wonderful place for 2 whole weeks.......A woman approached us and informed us we were on her site. No we said we booked this site 6 weeks ago and confirmed it when we arrived.........Fast forward three years and here we are again and had followed the same procedure of checking out the spots and making a choice of site booking it three weeks hence and going home looking forward to our two week holiday. The arrived and we turned up at the camp and got our password and proceeded to our site......yes you've guessed it someone was on our site. We had some of the other campers come to our rescue and we ended up in the next bay on a very good site for us, so no harm done. On the whole we have enjoyed our stay at this camp and continue to go back. There is a great coffee shop pizza place pub fish and chips beach and walks. Close to Wellington and Raumati Paraparaumu, What more could you ask for!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    6
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
12
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We discovered Paekakariki Holiday Park through friends of ours 3 years ago and highly recommend it to families who want a safe place to stay with their children. We’ve stayed in January and were there for 5 nights again over easter. It seems everyone knows about it now because the camp was full with happy campers and a lot of children having a great time. For such a full on weekend the facilities were kept clean and the staff super friendly – they even had someone come and show the children the eels and to talk about how they need to be protected. This was one of the highlights of our childrens stay. We appreciate the staunch approach taken by management to keep this camp family friendly and somewhere we want to return each year. Roll on summer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taupo, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We travelled from Taupo to Paekakariki so that we could spend two nights prior to travelling to the South Island. It is in a well maintained position, very close ro the beach. You can hear the waves at night which makes for a very peaceful place to stay. My husband needs power, water and drainage for his dialysis machine and the staff where very helpful in choosing a site for us. We will return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Stayed with friends and family on a recommendation of others and were greeted by the a female manage whose best described as a "pit bull" with a poor, non-service focused attitude! Rubbish and recycling bins overflowed into nearby camp sites and pathways, appalling! On a positive note, its located near the beach with some great activities for the kids.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here over Easter and had we not already payed, would have left. The woman at reception spoke to us as if we were intending to hoodwink her somehow. Other people at the site said they'd also found her rude. The site is near the beach, in park setting with streams and lovely walks. There are playgrounds for children and also BBQ, kitchen, laundry and bathroom facilities. Nevertheless, we shall not be staying again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paekakariki hotels

Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Stayed with friends over Easter, camp was full and the toilets/showers needed to be cleaned more frequently that it was, they were dirty and smelly with bugs/spiders everywhere. The rubbish was also overflowing a couple of times. The camp itself has a great layout but I was also disappointed in the customer service when booking, I tried to find out if I could tie my dog up with friends in another part of the camp during the day and the girl told me to email, which I did, asking for a response asap or I might have to cancel my booking, but to date no reply! When I added my sister-in-law to my booking (and we became 4 adults) I suffered a lecture on how they're a family camp and not a place for excessive drinking (just because we booked for 4 adults, seriously!!!!).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This site is in a lovely setting right next to the beach and Queen Elizabeth Park which is great for walking and mountain biking. Our pitch was right next to a stream and surrounded by bush - so relaxing. Facilities were clean but a bit dated and the light's didn't work when I was there so had to shower in the dark. We biked to Raumati through QE Park which was just beautiful. We had breakfast at a cafe called The Perching Parrot in Paekakariki village and can strongly recommend the pancakes! Not many amenities in the immediate vacinity but Raumati is just down the road and has some nice shops and cafes, and Paraparaumu is where all the supermarkets, fast food outlets and mall is.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Paekakariki Holiday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paekakariki Holiday Park

Address: Wellington Road, Paekakariki, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Greater Wellington > Kapiti Coast > Paekakariki
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Paekakariki
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Paekakariki Holiday Park Hotel Paekakariki

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paekakariki Holiday Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.