We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A magical thing to see” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Vieques Adventure Company

Vieques Adventure Company
Calle Robles, Esperanza 00765, Puerto Rico
+1 787-994-0050
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 8 attractions in Esperanza
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Vieques Adventure Company is the Only Clear Canoe Bio-Bay provider in Puerto Rico. Proud to be a grassroots eco-tour company providing gear and guidance for your island exploration since 2007. From fully supported Clear Canoe Bio-Bay Experience to the Original Island Mountain Bike Orientation , Kayak Fishing Excursions or a custom tailored itinerary. Clear Canoe Bio Bay Experience limited to 14 people. As a small sustainable provider all your tours will be private except our group biobay tour. Remember...... life's an adventure:)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Concord, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A magical thing to see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Can you imagine water sparkling white, twinkling, being able to see surface fish swimming, flashing by in white light, stirring up white light with your hands? Take a clear canoe ride (2 to a boat) and immerse yourself in the wonder of it. Make sure it's a near moonless night. You'll enjoy your guides.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    334
    33
    7
    3
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, pa
1 review
“Deserving of No. 1 rating”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Clear canoe troop into bio-luminescent bay exfraordinary. Look through the bottom of your boat and see thousands of points of light-like liking into the Milky Way. The boat's wake glows. Your hand in the water results in lighted droplets of falling water. A passing spotted eagle stingray is outlined in bioluminescent light. Guides who are knowledgeable about the bay and sensitive to the environment, who also know enough astronomy to help point out costellations in the night sky from a perfect vantage point. They want you to experience all that is good about the place you are exploring. These are the things that make this the No. 1 bio- bay experience.

Then there was the mountain bike excursion with Gary, the owner. No one I met is more passionate about Vieques or more enthusiastic about showing you why. We start at the oldest tree on the island, cycle past red banyan and almond trees, taste the fruit from a local plant. Cycling past eerie bunkers left by the Navy and speculating on what beneficial uses could be made of them. On to the ruins of a sugar mill that we completely missed when we drove past in our Jeep the day before. And down to Playa Grande, a secluded beach and Gary's secret coconut grove where we compared the taste of milk from various coconuts which he expertly opened with his machete. Our 2-3 hour tour turned into something considerably longer-- I'm convinced because he was enjoying himself as much as we were. Yeah! I'd ride with this guy again!
Terry loves adventure

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Jamaica
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“bio Bay tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The company's guides are very nice and entertaining.

The tour itself is amazing. I'd say there aren't many places in the world where it's possible to see water glowing.

In this tour you'll be amazed when you see the water glowing in blue below your clear bottom (transparent) kayak and also when you paddle the water with your paddle. You can also get water in your hands and see tiny creatures glowing!

To see the water glowing more, I'd recommend to do this tour when the moon is new or crescent and avoid first quarter moon

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA FE
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Enchanting night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

M guides were both personal and professional. It was a unique experience. Loved the magic of nature. Loved the see-thru canoes. Only suggestion would be that they someday get a larger van to cram us all in on that bumpy road to the launch site.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“biobay clear kayak tour & escorted bike ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

the biobay tour using the clear kayaks was spectacular. The luminescent plankton is visible under the kayak as well as along the sides. We discovered we were not good kayakers (first time) and our guide helped us a lot. guides were also very informative. We scheduled far in advance to go when the moon was totally dark. Well worth doing.

We also did a morning guided bike ride on the western end of the island (about 12 miles). Got into areas I would not have found and enjoyed the ride a lot. There are some hills, you should be in some degree of shape

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vieques Adventure Company also viewed

 
Fajardo, Puerto Rico
Isla de Vieques, Puerto Rico
 

Been to Vieques Adventure Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Vieques Adventure Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Vieques Adventure Company to your Saves list