We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely would stay here again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Save Saved
You added White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Platis Gialos
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Definitely would stay here again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Just left Kefalonia and already miss it... White Rocks is in a great location for exploring the island. There are two great public beaches nearby. The hotel's beach is small and the rocks can be slippery.
We had bungalow 15 for 2 adults and 9 year old daughter. Very spacious, modern and CLEAN. There were pine trees blocking our sea view but it didn't bother us too much. Breakfast was very good with nice choices. Dinner was a decent buffet but quite pricey if you don't eat much. Heidi was so lovely and sweet to our daughter.
The grounds are just lovely but there are steep walkways.
We had lovely drinks on the cliff top bar at sunset and Katerina took good care of us.
Only complaints are the lack of WiFi in rooms and no room service menu in the room. They did make an outstanding spaghetti bolognaise though!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    148
    65
    13
    15
See reviews for
78
355
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from a family holiday with our 3 grown up children plus one girlfriend. We all had a fantastic relaxing holiday. The rooms were kept meticulously clean. All staff were always really friendly & helpful. They work very hard to make sure everything is kept to a high standard. Special mention to our cleaner (rooms 101 103 & 105), check in receptionist and maitre d'hotel who seems to be able to remember everyone & their room numbers. He was always cheerful.
Buffet breakfasts & dinner with plenty of variety at both. Everything was plentiful whatever time we went into dinner. If a tray became empty it was quickly replenished.
Dress Code - one minor downside was that after our first 2 nights, where men had been allowed to wear shorts, the manageress decided to enforce the trouser rule. So from that evening on, any men wearing shorts had to return to their rooms to change. I can understand that they don't want beachwear in the restaurant but the shorts the men were wearing were generally smart casual. We were on holiday after all. Meanwhile the ladies dress code stated "elegant casual". This was not enforced as women were allowed in wearing shorts. If there is to be a dress code, it should be the same for both genders.
Beaches - hotel beach is small & pebble / shingle but is lovely & quiet. Good for snorkelling.
Nearest public beach - busier & a lot of the locals use it so it must be good. 2 beds plus umbrella cost 6 euros for the whole day. This beach is sandy & better if you want to swim.
We had a brilliant relaxing holiday & would highly recommend a stay.

Room Tip: Booking a seaview is a must. I was tempted to upgrade to a bungalow after reading the reviews but ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Having read the reviews and seen the majority were very good, we had high expectations of White Rocks. From the moment we arrived the service and facilities were top notch. We arrived at 9:30pm and got off the coach. A porter was waiting for us and took our cases straight to the room while we went to check-in. We were told that evening meal normally finish at 9:30pm but they'd made arrangements for us to be able to get something to eat.

This leads me on to the hotel food. I have to say that the quality was nothing short of amazing. So much choice and variety, no two days being the same. There were no queues to get in, the head waiter directed you to a free table and away you went. Note that there is a dress code in place for evening meals which I pleased to say was enforced. I found it amusing seeing people turn up in shorts and flipflops to be turned away.

There was entertainment on two nights while we were there, which we found just enough. The other evenings we spent either soaking in the atmosphere or having a quite drink in our bungalow. We had bungalow 46 and I thought it well worth the upgrade cost.

The grounds of the hotel we fastidiously maintained. An average sized pool with plenty of loungers. The private beach is quite small, but it never got overly busy. The most annoying thing we found were people leaving towels and belongings on loungers for hours without actually being there (English people as well, not the Germans). There are more than enough loungers for people as and when required without staking a claim all day.

All the staff, whether working in the main building, resteraunt, bar or cleaners, where amazing. Everyone was polite and couldn't do enough to help you. I think the staff make the hotel what it is. Without them it would just be a nice place to stay.

Other than the hotel, we rented a car from Pefanis which we found was cheaper than elsewhere. Take note though, I was quote three different prices for the same car. One when I email the company direct, one when I went via their website and another from the Tour Operator material we received on arrival. The cheapest of these was via a direct email to the company.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
c
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Have returned to this hotel for the third time and the first post renovation. It's still a lovely hotel and the staff are very efficient but it has much of its friendliness. Tassos on reception has retained the old lovely friendliness and was an absolutely star.

Note that the junior suites are only suitable for couples, the sofa beds are just sofas and the bathroom facilities are not private at all, being open in the middle of the room. We had asked for an extra bed to be made up before arrival. It wasn't although it was made up very quickly. However, it was a camp bed and not really ideal for their most expensive room. The telephone didn't work throughout the week.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Man, West Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our first trip to White Rocks hotel and we were not disappointed. Lovely staff and very modern clean hotel. There are Two beaches within walking distance plus the hotels own private beach and pool. Food in this hotel was excellent with a good choice at both breakfast and evening meal. The cocktail bar was lovely and the pool bar offers really good food at lunch time it stays open until 6pm and the views over the bay are stunning(felt like Shirley Valentine just looking out onto the horizon ) We hired a car and toured the island which enabled us to visit many of the bays around the island. The staff could not have been more helpful in providing directions for us. We had a room at the back of the hotel this does face the road but we were on the ground floor so the traffic noise did not really bother us although I can well understand being higher up it may have caused some upset but the road was only busy at certain times of the day We did ask if we could have a sea view room but the hotel was full although the staff did try to move us. When I return I think I would be prepared to pay the extra for a room overlooking the bay or a Bungalow. All in All we loved it here and will return it seems like they are updating it constantly and care what you think about their hotel. Any suggestions are taken seriously so I look forward to going and seeing what they have done.

Room Tip: ask for a sea view or bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Just returned from a relaxing week at the White rocks quick summary:
Rooms: We had a garden view which should be road view stayed in room 344 and our view was lorries and car passing 25ft from our blacony. The Bugalows are far better.
Location: Great couple of choices on beaches pubilc one sandy private one rocky easy walk into Lassi
Food; Pretty avarage fair with a reasonable choice bored after a few days thou and went to eat in Lassi
Service; This was excellent all over the complex from maids to bar staff
Pool; Very small and was getting busy the last few days and difficult to get a bed
Entertainment: Simple there isnt any.
Last day checkout: This was a joke checkout is 11.00am you cannot have a late checkout and because they a so fall there is no other room where you can even have a shower!
Transfers: Got a taxi from Airport to hotel on arrival got the Thompson coach on the way back to the airport be aware lots of people had to stand on the trip back which is totally unexceptable.
Airport: Speaking to a couple of people in the Airport around 40% of the flights out are delayed by at least 2 hours, we had a 4 hour wait as this tiny airport can only take 3 planes at a time. This was to be honest a nightmare so be warned and with ice creams at 4 EUROS each make sure you have plenty of money for the one small kiosk.

Overall: 3 Star Hotel not 4 nice place but very hilly and you must be good on your feet

Room Tip: You must have any room other than Garden view or a Bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

Had a fabulous time and the food was excellent. However the hotel maintains to have a dress code for the evening meal. It was disappointing to see people turning up in day time shorts and being allowed in. Either maintain the code or not have one, a little effort in your dress does not harm anyone. Also I can see in the busy holiday time there would be a queue for the restaurant at night

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Main Restaurant and stairs down to a ground floor Panorama Bar & A la Carte Restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Otel so you can book your White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Cephalonia - Platis Gialos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.