We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous View From Beautifully Finished Bungalow” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Platis Gialos
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
Save
You added White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous View From Beautifully Finished Bungalow”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This complex is clean, tidy, friendly and very attractive,the pool area is clean & overlooks the sea - the walk down to the beach is extremely steep and the private beach is shingle with rocky sea, the sun bed's get filled very early in the day so used the public beach on the opposite side of bay which was comfortable & clean, sandy and much more gentle on the foot when entering sea -but you pay for the use of bed. The restaurant views are gorgeous -straight over the sea, the food was good & plentiful, although not much choice for a gluten free diet. Some music in the bar area would have been nice, it is a little walk to the village so not too remote..the only downfall is: No tea or coffee making facilities in the room is annoying.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very private and do not overlook each other, the balconies all overlook the sea an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    169
    74
    14
    17
See reviews for
93
441
14
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Since returing from 2 weeks at White Rocks Hotel in Augus 2012, we can honestly say what a wonderful honeymoon me and my husband had. Our first visit to Greece and what a wonderful visit it was everything we could have wished for and can not add any further comments that have already been mentioned.

So so looking forward to returning in the future......many thanks once again to all the management and staff at White Rocks

Room Tip: Well recommend sea view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband, 18 year old daughter and I stayed at WRH at the end of September, and had a great stay. We'd read all the reviews, and were aware of the negative points regarding the queuing for dinner, the lack of entertainment and soulless bar area, but, although true, non of these things affected our enjoyment.
Accommodation: We were delighted with our bungalow (no 7). It's position was fantastic,with a view to die for! The balcony was very spacious with good quality table and chairs- the perfect place to watch the sun go down. The newly completed refurb is very stylish, chic and spacious. I would strongly recommend splashing out for a bungalow- the benefits are priceless!
Food: In a word - "excellent". We had read varying reviews about the food, but found very little to fault. The now notorious cold hard eggs at breakfast time failed to put in an appearance; we did have to wait a couple of times for a replenishment of fried eggs, but perhaps this is better than having them sitting around getting cold. Dinner was of a very high standard. All the options were authentic greek recipes, ( we have greek friends and recognised some of the less well known dishes). One of our reasons for visiting new countries is to experience local food. Normally you have to "eat out" to enjoy authentic local cuisine - so nice to have it served in the hotel.
I have to mention the queuing for meals as it gets lots of comment in other reviews: It is tedious to be standing on the stairs for up to 10 minutes each time, and I wonder why they insist on having one maitre d personally seating all the guests. Perhaps it prevents a bottleneck at the buffet. Who knows, but the food is worth the wait.
The lack of atmosphere in the bar area is a problem in my humble opinion. The clientele of WR isn't the type to participate in Karaoke, but a little Greek music would help diminish the "Saga holidays" feel. It's still an ok place to play a game of scrabble or enjoy a post dinner digestive though.
Finally, the staff were very friendly and helpful.
Altogether a lovely hotel!

Room Tip: Choose a bungalow! Well worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WhiteRocksHotel, Public Relations Manager at White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for your very positive comments about the White Rocks. Please rest assured that we are working towards eliminating all the queuing issues by initiating changes that were not possible to take place while the hotel was open. In regards to entertaining kindly be informed that pleasant surprises are waiting to be revealed to our guests the following season. We are sorry we cannot share any details with you yet.
Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you on 2013.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went during the refurbishment work and whilst we weren't disturbed by it (we got upgraded to a bungalow) it did mean some of the facilities we're out of use.

The newly up-dated bungalows were amazing (and once they replace the portable TV with something more in keeping with the decor will be first class) The view over the ocean was amazing especially at sunset.

The hotel is walkable into Lassi, although I'd recommend walking via the beach access road instead of the road outside the hotel (as their is no pavement on that section).

It's well worth getting a car and pushing up to see Fiscardo (very relaxed fishing village with plenty of amazing places to eat) and Myrtos Beach.

The only issue we had was with the door locks, the round handles aren't the best and you need to pull and push at the same time to open them (we had a few trips to reception to get help from the porters, as they stick in the heat)

Room Tip: If you can afford it get a bungalow, you won't be disappointed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed in early July so the refurb wasn't really yet complete (in our first room in the main hotel the handle to the door hadn't been fitted, mirrors only arrived on the day we were checking out, no chair, pictures or soft furnishings as shown in the hotels photos). However the rooms were completely clean and functional so not the end of the world - think IKEA and you will get a sense of the look and standard.

We were lucky to pay a small upgrade on our first morning and moved up to a bungalow which gave us more room and more of a sense of boutique hotel which I have to say I prefer to vast hotels with long corridors.

We don't normally like hotels that offer half board as standard as typically the food isn't great and half of the joy of going on holiday is going out in the evening for a nice meal. However we were pleasantly surprised, the food was really quite good and we ate in on at least 3 of the nights, with the food being different each night and always with a good veggie option. If it is a choice of eating on the Lassi (Blackpool!) strip, or the hotel, the hotel would get my vote every time. Please do take the opportunity to get in the car or a taxi though to Argostoli for dinner as there are some really lovely restaurants and bars there.

The staff in the dining room worked really hard but we do feel there weren't always enough of them. Each morning getting a cup of tea or coffee was quite a challenging experience, expect to wait at least 20 mins...I guess though this is because the hotel is quite sizeable with ~160 rooms and feeding everyone at more or less the same time is a challenge. Perhaps a self-service tea and coffee section might help?
Also to accomodate guests sitting outside which is really a beautiful space, you were practically on top of each other, not great given it isn't table service and you need to get up between courses and negotiate your way through the tables.

Having stayed in Kefalonia a few times, I have to say White Rocks is really on the most beautiful public beach, just 5 mins from the dining room and you are on white golden sands, with clear blue water. You can hire beds and an umbrella for only €6 for the day and just a few strides from this is an excellent coffee bar where you can get drinks, rolls and salads for lunch.

As others say in the evenings there is little atmosphere and perhaps some tea lights and background music could help.

Would I stay again, yes - if a deal was to be had as although I prefer a hotel with fewer rooms, it is modern and clean, right on a the most beautiful beach and is very close and easy to get into Argostolio for a nice evening out.

Room Tip: Makesure you pay for a sea view room Bungalow rooms are considerably bigger than the hotel rooms if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitley Bay, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Just returned from another fabulous holiday at White Rocks Hotel, We were really impressed by the recent refurbishment and will definately be back next year.. The staff are all really pleasant and helpful, the reception staff, bar staff, porter and restaurant staff we recongnised from last year . We were met by the porter at the top of the steps and he told me to put my case down he would take it to our room by the time we checked in and got to our bungalow the luggage was there. We had Fantastic views looking over the hotel pool and sea. The whole site from the private beach to the Corner bar is very clean and tidy, they work really hard to keep it that way. No complaints at all the rooms are really clean and comfortable, the food and service were great and the location perfect. The whole island is stunning, it is well worth booking a trip to other parts of it, we did the island tour last year and this year we did the 3 island cruise,

Room Tip: We have stayed in both the main building and the bungalows if you can't manage steps and walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at Kelalonia airport on Sunday 27th May in the evening on a flight from Manchester,where we transfered to a coach the journey took about 10mins White Rocks being the first drop off. We discovered that the hotel had been refurbished in time for this season and looked very grand. Our room was beautiful and with a balcony that overlooked the beach and you could here the waves lapping the shore. After unpacking our suitcases we went down to the restaurant for dinner and we were warmly greeted by the manager and shown to our table. The front of the restaurant has glass sliding doors which run the length of it. There was a huge range of self service food and it was delicious after dinner we had a drink in the hotel bar before going up to our room. After a good nights sleep in our very comfortable bed went down to breakfast again we were greeted warmly by the staff again a good selection of breakfast food to suit all tastes(this high standard of food continued throughtout our stay). Most evenings we walked to the White Rocks Corner Bar where we spent many hours and made friends with other guests staying in the hotel.
There are so many places to visit on Kefalonia that I would need an A4 to describe them. We did many of the excursions offerd by Thomson and on other days we used a local taxi who was reliable and good value for money and had a wealth of knowledge of the island. PLEASE READ THS REVIEW.
Mike & Kate

Room Tip: Choose a high level room with a balconey for privacy and views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Main Restaurant and stairs down to a ground floor Panorama Bar & A la Carte Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Cephalonia - Platis Gialos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.