We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel amenities and very friendly & helpful staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows to your Saves list
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel amenities and very friendly & helpful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

My partner and I stayed at the White Rocks for one week 22 - 29 May. When you first go into the hotel as its a concrete building you feel you are in a dungeon, however you don't notice this after a day. The hotel is excellent, clean, with very good and friendly staff. Our room was cleaned every day and if we wanted we could have clean sheets every day, they give you the choice. The cleaner was excellent and she kept our room immaculate. We had a sea view which was very good, going to sleep hearing the sea. This is not the hotel beach but a small public beach. There is a private beach with a pool at the top. One word of warning if you have mobility problems this is not the hotel for you as its up and down steps all the way. There is a steep incline to the private beach but its worth it, its a very small beach and as I said private so you don't get lots of noise. If you want water sports there is a beach about five minutes away. They provide beach towels so don't bother to take your own and these are changed daily. Lassi isn't a big place just a few restaurants, hotels, supermarkets and hire care places. Argostoli (the capital) is about 1/2 an hour away by foot, and 5-7 minutes by taxi 7 euros. Apparently there are buses but these were not running when we were there. You can take a trip to Lixouri, although there is not much to see once there you take a ferry over which takes about 25 minutes and is very nice. Kefalonia is a very nice place and you go up in the mountains to get to most places and there are stunning views. Some very scary roads with hairpin bends. The food in the hotel is excellent, breakfast a typical self service, eggs, bacon, toast etc. or you can have fresh fruit, or both. also a selection of croissant and cakes. Plenty of coffee at the ready. The evening meal is four courses, which was too much for me but my partner managed to eat his way through it all. After a couple of days I had to skip two. Starters soup, then a small dish (one day aubergines with a sauce, another stuffed tomato, another pasta), then salad, then main course, then cake, ice-cream or fruit. So there is plenty to eat. Although the hotel doesn't have a shop of its own, which was a pity as you had to go up to the supermarkets to get any nibbles (if you were still hungry!), but sometimes that was nice to walk off all the food we ate. One problem I would say about this hotel is that at the evening meal the tables are so close together you feel like you are sitting on top of each other and sometimes it made it difficult for the waiters/waitresses to get between them to serve. However, this would not put me off. I would definitely go there again. Very good experience and all the staff were there to help and very polite.

Room Tip: Get a sea view or your are looking at the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    402
    169
    74
    14
    17
See reviews for
93
441
14
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2011

We stayed at the White Rocks Hotel in Lassi for one week. We chose the hotel because it had been recommended by friends, We should have looked on Trip Advisor first! Our room was very basic but did have a sea view which we paid extra for although the balastrade was high and solid concrete. The room was dated and looked like it had been designed in the 70's. Nowhere comfortable to sit apart from the bed. Very small TV and ugly mini bar with no price list. Lighting was poor, there were no cieling lights and dressing table mirror was in dark corner. Hair dryer was on the wall in the bathroom and was cracked letting hot air escape. The balcony furniture was old and unattractive, With a few changes it could have been stunning. The corridors were gloomy and not unlike the worst blocks of concrete flats. Bare wires hung from the lights in the ceiling with ugly low energy bulbs hanging from them. All walls were pebbledashed painted white. Ceilings were formed concrete painted a muddy grey.
Generally the food was good and most of the staff were friendly and worked hard. I agree with other comments about the head waiter who looked miserable most of the time and seemed to have favourites. There were a lot of steps and some steep slopes down to the sea,. It is not a good hotel for people with mobility problems. The hotel provides limited entertainment, piano playing a couple of times in the week. There were no other activities provided, they did not have any playing cards for us to borrow although there was a good selection of books to read. It is a good 15 mins walk into Lassi and at some places there are no pavements on the busy road. Lassi is a disappointment, Nothing there except Mini markets, tavernas, car hire shops and trip organisers. No harbour, no square, no character. There were several good beaches and the sea was clear, to hire a sunbed on the Costa Costa beach it was 6 - 8E for two plus table. Apart from sunbathing and swimming there was nothing to do. Buses were not running and the taxi fare to Argostoli 2 miles away was 7E each way.

Room Tip: To get the best room you must pay for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

The Hotel is excellent, the service cannot be beaten, most people agree on these , but I noticed some negative comments about the restaurant, these were noted before our first trip ,but the facts are that these negatives were not justified, this was proved on the first visit and the second visit confirmed it, the food was absolutely wonderful, good quality, and large portion size, as for choice, we had no problems, we took our two grand daughters and they asked the waiter for alternatives if they did not like either of the two options, they ate well every night.
The man in charge of the restaurant, George ,was the same Maitre D as last year, and he is extremely pleasant, always polite and helpful, which made me think I was reading about a different man in some of the reviews, there is no justification for the comments I have read.
The housekeeping in this hotel is the best I've ever seen ,clean towels and bedding every day, every area in and around the hotel is spotlessly clean and tidy, the staff on reception are great ,willing to help with Taxis, information ,and deal with all requests very quickly.
Early season visitors would be advised to take a wooly jumper as the evenings are cold ,and although there is air conditioning in the room this is only for cooling ,not heating, so take note the rooms are cold in early May, there is a log fire downstairs in the lounge so no problems there.
The beaches are very good ,the private beach is small but good sand , some good fishing there, and yes George did arrange for my fish to be cooked and served in the restaurant,I must also mention the waiter Panagiotis ,who looked after us so well, he remembered all of our preferences, and drink orders and made each mealtime a pleasure, the menu is posted near reception each lunchtime so you can check it out before the meal and arrange with your waiter or George alternative courses before dinner.
Finally the entertainment in the hotel is very limited, the corner bar in the grounds is one place for a different evening ,it has more modern music and is great for a nice coffee or brandy after your meal.
Locally you can find two good places to spend some time , Butlers is a beautiful restaurant /bar, the staff there are great and the building is something special, good traditional lunches can be found at Mystic Gusto ,just along the road , good prices ,good food.
A good day out can be had if you take a taxi into Argostoli, then the ferry (2.5 euro each way) to XI Beach and have lunch there, finish off with a home made ice cream in the square before you get back on the ferry.
We also made good use of the bus service from Argostoli ,we visited AGHIA EFIMIA, ate at Paradise taverna there, where the crew and stars of Captain Corelli ate whilst making the film, also visited Melissani Lake, and Drodarati caves close by then onwards to Sami to get the bus back to Lassi.
All four of us had a great week at White Rocks, the quality and value was incredible, the memories will take us back again next year.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

The White Rocks is an excellent hotel with fabulous sea views, great food and friendly staff overlooking a glorious sandy beach. Pine trees abound in the hotel grounds and they provide welcome shade in the afternoon while still allowing you to enjoy the sea views. For some reason I and my family just keep wanting to go back...

Every year we've taken a sea view room in the main hotel block - the view is well worth the extra charge - and despite the heat of the sun the rooms have always been pleasantly cool. Also, rooms in the main hotel are conveniently located for the reception, bar and restaurant. (Though next time we might opt for a bungalow near the pool area as they have just been refurbished and the ones we inspected did look impressive.)

The hotel has a private pebbley beach with free sunbeds and umbrellas but we prefer two public sandy beaches close by. The Blue Flag-awarded Platis Gialos is directly below the main hotel block and you can reach it within 2 minutes down a fairly steep flight of steps (there are hand rails). Alternatively, leaving the hotel towards the nearby town of Lassi you can head for the much larger Makris Gialos (10 minutes away) which is a wonderful stretch of sand that I presume gets very busy in the high season but was not at all crowded in early May. If you don't want sand between your toes, though, you can always relax on one of the many sunbeds that surround the excellent hotel swimming pool. This option has the advantage of being right next to a bar where you can get very tasty French bread 'sandwiches' - ideal for lunch we felt.

As for the food, well, we think the breakfasts are tremendous and the main problem is deciding what not to eat! For me, the natural yogurt with honey and fruit is the highlight, with perhaps some Greek pastries on the side. At lunch, the alternative to the pool bar is to eat outside below the restaurant, where you'll find a selection of delicious hot dishes and a self-service salad section where I routinely indulge my weakness for tzatziki, olives, tomatoes and feta cheese. In the evening, dinner is a relatively formal 4 or 5 course affair (I lose count!) always including soup and a choice between 2 main courses. There is a children's menu but you will probably need to ask for it at reception in advance so the chef can prepare the order.

For those thinking of booking half-board, it's worth knowing that the evening menu is usually pinned up in reception by mid-morning. If it is not to your taste you can get vouchers from reception to use at lunchtime and in the evening go to one of the many restaurants in Lassi or Argostoli. Whatever you decide, make sure you drop in at the Corner Bar (which you will pass if you are heading through the hotel grounds towards Lassi) for one of Stelios' refreshing cocktails. You'll also get a great view of the sunsetting over the sea.

Finally, I must say that the White Rocks staff made us feel welcome and cared for from start to finish. In particular I should mention Tassos in reception and George who runs the restaurant, who were both wonderful with our 7 year old son. And I cannot sign off without referring to the maids and others who maintain such a high standard of cleanliness in the rooms and throughout the hotel. They all helped to make our holiday wonderfully relaxing.

We can't wait to go back!

Andy

Room Tip: Pay extra to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

When I first arrived we were shown to our room in the main hotel.The building reminded me of the German Underground hospital in Jersey...all concrete. There were bare light fittings hanging from the ceiling in the hall ways. The bed was similar to that supplied at Centre Parks and was not very comfortable. The food was poor with the most memorable meal being 'Perch in a white sauce with cauliflower,boiled potates on a white plate....on a white table cloth !!!!
If I squinted I could hardly make out which was which.
The location is idyllic and I took the time to read 'Captain Corelli's Mandoline' which really added to the atmosphere.
In all a beautiful location with the most stunning views but spoilt by a hotel that really isn't up to it.....

Room Tip: Don't go with high expectations !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2011

This hotel was stunning, gorgeous setting fantastic coastal view.

Onsite facilities were excellent, this was a 4/5 star hotel by normal greek standards.

I found the staff to be so helpful nothing was never any trouble extra towels, pillows anything we needed we had.

The only downside is we travelled in a group of mixed aged and for our teens of the group it was a little too relaxing, the hotel caters more for couples or slightly older sophisticated travellers.

The food at the hotel was lovely and fresh.

I will be making a return visit but this time with just me and my partner.

Room Tip: seaview is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2011

Great location great staff especially Yiannis in the restuarant the location is ideal the hotel is quite basic but it is cleaned every day the grounds are also always being kept neat and tidy,the private beach was nice and sunbeds and umbrellas put out daily !!lots of food and yer so they do soup every night but nothing was ever the same we had no complaints overall we thought it was excellent and will defo return !!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows

Address: Platis Gialos Beach, near Lassi, Platis Gialos 281 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Platis Gialos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Platis Gialos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern square building designed by the award winning architect Niko Valsamaki, featuring floor to ceiling openings and clear glass balustrades. Set on the edge of a cliff, in a knock down scenic location with views of the Blue Flag awarded beaches of Platis and Makris Gialos, the White Rocks is found in the ionian island of Kefalonia. On one end of the property, a sloping path leads down to the hotel's private and peaceful beachfront and on the other side steps from the hotel grounds lead directly down to the most famous sandy and vibrant beaches of the island.The complex is comprised of a main building as well as a bungalows wing and has 162 guestrooms and suites scattered around the property. The 60000 square meters seafront property, is filled with well-maintained Mediterranean vegetation with pines palm trees and bougainvillea and enjoys amazing sea views from every vantage point. A vast air-conditioned Lobby Lounge with standout interior design and Lobby bar with Sun terrace are centrally located in the main building. A lift and a ramp takes you to the Main Restaurant and stairs down to a ground floor Panorama Bar & A la Carte Restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
White Rocks Hotel And Bungalows
Hotel White Rocks
White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows Greece/Cephalonia - Platis Gialos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Rocks Hotel & Bungalows, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.