We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great refurb, food as good as ever” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saffron Restaurant

Saffron Restaurant
5 Quay Street, Truro TR1 2HB, England
01872263771
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 172 restaurants in Truro
Price range: $0 - $50
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Newly renovated restaurant in the heart of the historic city of Truro, Cornwall. Modern British fine dining offering seasonal, locally produced food, an excellent wine list and attentive service.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great refurb, food as good as ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013 via mobile

I first visited this restaurant a few months ago, but was really then was disappointed to find it closed for refurbishment on my next visit. The refurb is finished and the place looks great, kinda country kitchen chic, more importantly the food was just as good as the first time i was there -the service friendly, very efficient but managing to stay informal.

There's a lot of local fish on the menu plus a good selection of local beers and a great wine list. I had crab gnocchi followed by monkfish, both perfectly executed and at a reasonable price. I will definitely go back and I look forward to doing so

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    60
    23
    8
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“romantic place to dine, stylish decor and relaxing evening was had”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

First time out with husband for over a year and wanted to try newly opened Saffron. Interiors are welcoming, stylish, good lighting so provided a romantic feel! Food was BEAUTIFULLY presented and absolutely delicious. I had main and was a good portion so much so that I had to share pudding with husband. service was good, left to eat in peace which is always a good thing! Will go again as couple or friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Intimate Lunch with Significant Other”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Hubby and I don't get out often enough, but snatched a lunch alone this week.
We had enjoyed an early supper at Saffron last year so returned for lunch during a shopping trip in Truro. A wonderful refurb, homely and relaxing colours, friendly, knowledgable staff and utterly surprisingly exquisite food, all locally sourced.
Delicious, top notch, a local find that beats the more famous names.
We'll be back next time we have a chance.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StAgnes
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Romantic meal, delicious food and lovely ambience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

My husband and I decided to treat ourselves to a meal at the newly refurbished Saffron. We walk in and were met by friendly, helpful staff and given the choice of a table or booth. We opted for the table by the window.

I visited Saffron beforehand and the food was amazing, it still is as they have kept the same superb chef.

They have a lovely wine selection and the menu had a great variety meeting all tastes. We ordered the crab as a starter, which was mouth watering, then for mains my husband order the steak, which he really enjoyed and I had the red gurnard on a salad with a lovely meaty fish. Then we couldn't resist the puddings the Chocolate Easter Egg inspired pudding was a surprise when four version a chocolate desserts arrived, one an egg filled with lovely chocolate molten! A real treat, meanwhile my husband ordered the very generous plate of cheeses.

The staff were friendly and efficient and we will definitely be back! Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A good place for 'Ladies who Lunch'”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

A newly refurbished resturant, a very pleasant place to be. Very friendly service with staff keen to help and advise on the choices. A small range of choices for lunch but an interesting menu providing just the right meals for 'lunching ladies' with the added extra of daily specials.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saffron Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Saffron Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saffron Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.