We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Cliftons

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Cliftons to your Saves list
Cliftons
46 Tregolls Rd., Truro TR1 1LA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 38 Truro B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Somerset
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Cliftons fully justified its high grading.I stayed there two nights.My single room was pleasant comfortable and airy with an extremely high quality attached shower room.The rest of the house was furnished and decorated in a very imaginative way.The house itself was an elegant Victorian property an easy walk from the centre of Truro.
Helen and Stephen served delicious breakfasts of the highest quality ingredients and ran the place with great charm and skill.A great and memorable find.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for your kind words John. We hope you decide to take that cycling holiday with us and trust you received the pack with some ideas.

Kind regards

Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    19
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
24
70
17
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

A very friendly, comfortable place which does a great breakfast. My room at the back was very quiet and I'll stay there again. The owners are very helpful and, in my case, sympathetic as I was staying because my mother was in the local hospital.

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review. We trust your Mum is making a speedy recovery and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

We spent 3 nights at Cliftons following a recmmendation from friends. It was a wonderful time, Helen and Stephen are excellent, witty and considerate hosts. The breakfasts used good local ingredients and was beautifully cooked to order. Ideal location for Truro, an easy walk into the city. The room was delightful with real individual pieces of furniture, not just standard run of the mill commercial stuff bought from catalogue, you felt that every room was going to be different. If we return to Cornwall we would not dream of staying anywhere else.

Room Tip: Splendid view of the garden from the front bay windowed rooms, perfect to sit and admired the camell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a review - we love the view from the front bay windowed bedrooms - on a sunny evening you cannot beat sitting in the window of rooms 4 or 5 with a glass of wine or two!!

Thanks again

Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We have just spent 3 nights at Cliftons and we had a fabulous time. Helen and Stephen are great hosts and the service and food at breakfast was super. Everything prepared to order and it was all very tasty. They were so welcoming and their house was a joy to stay in; It was warm and exceptionally clean. The bed was comfortable and cosy, the towels were lovely and fluffy, the shower was hot and having a choice of shower-heads was a nice touch There was a good choice of hot beverages in the room. The attention to detail was very noticeable, Their local knowledge was much appreciated. The house is convenient for town, the cathedral and the bus to Malpas where we took the ferry to Falmouth via Trelissik Gardens on their recommendation. There are plenty of great pubs and restaurants to choose from nearby. A highly recommendable place to stay..... but if you go out..don't forget your bird!! Really lovely B&B!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and our suggestions of things to do in and around Truro. We look forward to seeing you again before the end of the year. Helen, Steve and Benny
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a fabulous stay. The bedrooms are really comfortable, clean and quiet. Helen and Steve are great hosts - top scrambled egg in the morning Steve, I'm still trying to emulate it. Good location too, an easy walk into Truro. Would definitely recommend to others!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review Soo. We really hope to see you again very soon.
Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed at Cliftons for two nights during a recent visit to the UK from Australia, this was easily the nicest B&B or Hotel we stayed at during our holiday. Helen and Stephen were so welcoming and made the visit seem just like home, the room was a twin it was spotlessly clean and decorated to a very high standard with very comfortable twin beds. The bathroom was excellent with high quality shower and screen and lovely fluffy towels. Helen and Stephen had first class knowledge of the local area and recommended excellent day trips. The full English breakfast included in the price is excellent with the choice of eggs any way you like them.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and thanks for taking the time to write a review. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we do hope to see you again - maybe in Australia you never know!! Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed for just one Friday night in early Feb and can strongly recommend Cliftons for short or long break. Very comfortable, very clean and a very warm welcome from Helen and Steve. Well situated for easy flat walking distance to great places to eat/drink. Leave room for a great breakfast in the morning! In short, you can't go wrong by staying here.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helen H, Owner at Cliftons, responded to this review, April 25, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again. Helen and Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cliftons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliftons

Address: 46 Tregolls Rd., Truro TR1 1LA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Charming Victorian detached 4 star property situated within walking distance of the city centre. Whatever your reason for visiting Truro, Steve and Helen will always give you a warm welcome. There are 6 bedrooms all with en-suite shower rooms. A Continental or full English Breakfast is on offer using local produce wherever possible. There is free WIFI and parking and we have a Hot Tub for guest use. Truro is a great base for touring Cornwall and visiting its beautiful gardens and coastal resorts. We look forward to your visit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Cliftons reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliftons Bed And Breakfast
Cliftons Hotel Truro
Cliftons Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cliftons, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.