We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One Year on” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Merchant House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Merchant House to your Saves list
Merchant House
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Truro
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“One Year on”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was one year to the week that I returned to Truro and decided to stay once again at the Merchant House hotel,although refurbishment has been going on for a year it is no real inconvenience to the guests staying there. My room on the top floor although not refurbished was bright and clean and it camewith a nice deep bath ideal to unwind in after a days work or time spent sightseeing. I spent just the one night as I was down on business and due to the bad weather decided to eat in,the home cooked steak and ale pie was first class although the rest of the menu was a little limited to bar food though I'm sure it would have been to a good standard. Breakfast is pretty standard in most hotels and the Marchant is no different in supplying anything you should need,The staff are cheerfull and efficient in all a comfortable stay

Room Tip: Difficult as refurb is now at the stage of uprating rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    53
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
18
58
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

After a long day travelling it was a real joy to be made so welcome from the moment you walk in the front door - very nice people who clearly care about their hotel and guests.

An informal dining experience with high quality food from a sensible sized menu selection - nothing too much trouble and plenty of smiles from staff who clearly multi-task and enjoy the variety of responsibilities.

Free wifi throughout the hotel which is a must these days for most categories of travellers

I look forward to returning and highly recommend the Merchant House in Truro

Room Tip: Car park at rear of hotel if spaces at front full
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caversham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We have just spent another couple of comfortable nights in this characterful hotel on the outskirts of Truro city centre; and it was just as good as our first stay. Rooms are comfortable and well equipped with a clean and perfectly functional ensuite. Refurbishment of the bedrooms is ongoing and we have twice stayed in an un refurbished room; though at the tarrif I can not in any way complain.

I had a sneaky peek into a refurbished room (coz I am nosey!) and wow! The new rooms are of a very high standard indeed, a lot is being invested into this hotel and I would expect that they will easily be able to up the rates a bit once all rooms are updated.

We entertained a friend to a bar meal at the hotel and the quality and value were outstanding.

If I may make one small observation (not a criticsm!) The breakfast could be greatly enhanced by spending a few bob extra on sausages and bacon. There is nothing wrong with the current breakfast quality, but I suspect that the meat elements of the plate are sourced for price rather than quality. There are a couple of very good craft butchers in Truro, try them! It may cost an extra tenner a week, but I reckon it will be worth it!

Handy tip. A taxi from the city centre or station is well worth the £3 to avoid walking the short distance up hill! Walking back to the city is a five minute breeze, all down hill!

Another very pleasant stay. We will certainly be back for a third helping - and I will take up the challenge of booking directly with the hotel, on their promise of matching any late deal type of web booker.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Hotel under renovation and we were in one of the rooms desperately in need of an update. The staff were extremely helpful and accommodating - especially when we wanted breakfast after the restaurant had already closed (9am on a weekday). The bed was a bit uncomfortable and pillows were lumpy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013 via mobile

Lovely welcome when we arrived. Free parking and wifi. Refurbished downstairs is lovely.

The rooms we stayed in hadn't been refurbished but was very comfortable and I had the best nights sleep I had had in ages. Lovely shower.

Breakfast was delicious and the waitress was very friendly.

There's no denying that the rooms need refurbishing but the hotel is very comfortable, in a great location and was excellent value.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

The Merchant House is the former Carlton Hotel. It is located ten walking minutes from the city centre.

The rooms were clean and the bathroom also - all seems to be in a very good shape.

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast menu offers a large variety of different dishes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bude, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a year ago when it was called the Imperial, and although it has changed names, and the ground floor has been redecorated, we were a bit disappointed that the rooms had not changed, and await refurbishment in 2013. We asked in advance for a room with a walk-in shower, but were offered one with an attachment to the bath; this was quickly rectified and another room offered. The second room was very cold, the heating only coming on at 5.00pm, and even then did not warm the room up. Dinner was from a "snack" menu served in the bar, and was not nearly as good as the dining experience a year earlier -nearly all of the dishes were served with "fries". However the breakfast was up to the previous standard, good food, hot, plentiful and good value.
The staff were friendly and keen to please and assist. We hope that the room re-furbishment includes the provision of a full-length mirror, or indeed any mirror. We will stay here again, but hope that the improvements are not delayed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Merchant House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Merchant House

Address: Falmouth Road, Truro TR1 2HL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Merchant House 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Perfectly positioned near the centre of Truro – Cornwall’s buzzing and beautiful cathedral city – The Merchant House is just a short stroll from the nearby train station and a host of fabulous bars, restaurants and shops.Merchant's friendly crew are on hand to introduce guests to our fantastic facilities. We have free Wi-Fi throughout,ample free parking,garage storage for bicycles,drying room for cyclists/walkers, laundrette(fee applies) and fully-equipped conference rooms. We are a fantastic central base for business or exploring all of Cornwall. Whether visiting for business or pleasure, we have a selection of refurbished and non refurbished rooms – some of which are dog-friendly – all of which are guaranteed to offer a great night’s stay thanks to the fluffy duvets, large flat screen televisions and tea and coffee facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Merchant House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Truro
Merchant House Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Merchant House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.