We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mannings Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mannings Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mannings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
JULY DISCOUNT WEEKEND
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Truro
Hampshire, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Classy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2014

Stayed in room 18 - very spacious and well fitted out. The restaurant was stylish with excellent, reasonably priced food - I agree with a previous reviewer - great steak!
I had a late start the following morning and the staff were very accommodating. I would highly recommend this hotel.
If you travel there and use the gated car park, it is before the hotel on the left . . .miss it and you've got to go round the one way system again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    124
    130
    43
    9
    5
See reviews for
28
132
27
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Comfortable and clean room on the second floor - there are no lifts here so if you have mobility problems make sure they are aware when you book
Ate in the restaurant - great steak - busy not only with guests but also locals - always a good sign
We went on a 'deal' £99 b &(continental) b - included 2 cocktails to the value of £7 each and £25 meal voucher so all in all good value
Great location just off the city centre - secure parking albeit you have to pay extra

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Arriving late on a very damp January having just fallen off the London train my day got a whole lot better from the moment I was greeted by the welcoming receptionist. A comfortable room and more than might be expected for the price. Down to supper and greeted by the bar and restaurant staff as if they had been waiting just to offer me, a late guest, hospitality. The hotel was full of a mixture of locals and guests. Perfect glass of NZ Sauv January blues were now fading fast,,,,, local mussels followed by equally local and delicious lemon sole. By the contented buzz in the restaurant I was not the only happy customer being fed well that night. It seemed too early to leave such a welcoming crowd for bed and I settled for a nightcap in the quirky cosy comfortable bar. A quick dash for a mornings work in Cornwall was becoming a vacation. Next morning a generous continental breakfast...... How lucky Truro is to have this little gem of a hotel. So good when things are done well. By the attitude of the staff they were enjoying making this little hotel something special on this damp dark January night. They succeeded!

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

OK so it has its own car park and is perfect for town. The restaurant served v good food and the staff were efficient and charming - a rare combo. The room was v nice and warm! Bed FAB. But I didn't lurve it. Can't say why really - perhaps a feeling that it has an identity crisis? Half boutique half surfer chic? Perhaps that's unfair. As I've said before, I'm a closet traditionalist and for me the number of items on the menu with an Indian flavour or spiced sauce was frustrating. But the battered fish was GREAT. Summary, a really nice hotel, nice staff, good food, great location, would stay again - just not quite "to die for" for me. But hey - I'm happy to return!

Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiez, Switzerland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you want to shop or visit the city of Truro, this is the ideal location, everything is within a few minutes' walking. Even the railway station can be reached on foot, or by a short, cheap taxi ride.
We rented an apartment, which gave us space and kitchen facilities, it is also round the back, so not subject to traffic noise. The car-parking is directly outside the door.
We stayed 6 nights, my only complaint about the continental breakfast is that it did not vary in the slightest detail in that time, but it was good!

Room Tip: Apartments are a little more expensive, but quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights for my wife's birthday. Have to say that it was great value for money. The room we stayed in was large and had an extremely large and comfortable bed which you could get lost in! The staff were attentive and the continental breakfast had a good selection and was more than ample for our requirements. Having to pay six pounds a day for parking was not an issue for a hotel in a great central location like this. Will definitely stay here on our next visit to truro.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed one night for business on a Thursday.
Room was very comfortable, if a little hot during the night. I have had a variety of sizes of rooms in Mannings (it is an old building, so not all the rooms are uniform), but this was one of the larger rooms at the St Nicholas Street end of the building.

The continental breakfast, included in the price of the room, was excellent, with toast cooked to order.

Staff were courteous and professional as always.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 10pm, and plenty of flexibility regarding our corporate room and private dining. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mannings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.