We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mannings Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Mannings Hotel to your Saves list
Mannings Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

Stayed one night for business on a Thursday.
Room was very comfortable, if a little hot during the night. I have had a variety of sizes of rooms in Mannings (it is an old building, so not all the rooms are uniform), but this was one of the larger rooms at the St Nicholas Street end of the building.

The continental breakfast, included in the price of the room, was excellent, with toast cooked to order.

Staff were courteous and professional as always.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    155
    49
    9
    5
See reviews for
35
164
30
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tarporley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
419 reviews 419 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

The hotel still keeps performing. They are able to keep the room maintenance high and the reception staff are always helpful.
Be aware that there can be some noise, both externally from the street and also from floorboards etc squeaking.
I will always aim to stay here when in Truro

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shaldon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lovely hotel we stayed in the updated part which was lovely bed very comfortable room very
Clean we stayed for evening meal in the restaurant which was first class
The only let down was the breakfast which was continental with a very poor choice unless
You paid an extra £7.50 for full English on the whole very friendly staff we enjoyed are stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agawam, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This was just one night's accommodation when attending a concert in Truro's Victorian Gothic cathedral, and its city-centre location, just a couple of minutes from the venue, made Mannings Hotel ideal. Fairly recently refurbished, I would think: comfortable and surprisingly quiet; a pretty good breakfast (didn't have time to sample dinner). What more could you want? Should I ever need to stay in Truro again, I wouldn't hesitate to go back to Mannings. Staff were friendly, courteous, and efficient (virtues that don't always go together), and very responsive about forwarding some inadvertently left-behind items.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for one night. The room we had was a very good size and fairly clean but a bit dated. The bed was comfy but as our room overlooked the street it was rather noisy. Double glazing would be a benefit. The staff were friendly and worked very hard. The drinks were VERY expensive so expect to use your flexible friend. We dined in the restaurant. Again it was very expensive £24 for a steak!!! I had fish gougons which at the time were very nice but I did spend the whole night being sick. I must add that we have eaten here many times and this is the first time I've been ill so can't really hold it against them. Continental breakfast was included in the price. This was a let down. Not a lot of choice. It was an extra £7.50 for a full English or £3.50 for 2 items off the full English menu!!!
There is onsite parking but it costs £6 a night. Again I was not too happy at the price but parking is a premium in this location. The car park was secure so won't grumble too much.
Apart from being ill it was a pleasant stay but I would suggest you ask for a back room but if you are a light sleeper your bound to be woken up by the cathedral bells no matter what room you are in.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed one night in Manning's Hotel. It is very central with good (paid for), secure parking and was surprisingly quiet despite being right in the city centre. It is very central for shopping, theatre, cinema, walking and boat trips. Buses run from a bus terminus within about 300 yds and the railway station is around 20mins walk.
The room was very clean, nicely decorated and comfortable. The staff were very friendly, polite and helpful. We had a bit of fun trying to get out of the car park, after parking our car as we did not know how to exit through the electronic gates. A phone call to the reception however, assisted our bid for freedom!
A great place to stay.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Slap bang in the centre of Truro, this hotel couldn't be more conveniently situated for seeing the main sights of the city, shopping, restaurants, or rail connections. Decor was stylish and fresh, room was a generous size and quiet in spite of overlooking a shopping street. Secure car parking was also welcome. Breakfast buffet was fine. Small point but the wardrobe and clothes storage space was tiny, even for a weekend stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mannings Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mannings Hotel

Address: Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Mannings Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We're a smart and friendly Georgian townhouse right in the centre of Truro.Our 34 rooms and 9 apartments are beautifully designed and furnished; our busy but relaxed Bar and Brassarie's as popular with the public as it is with guests.We're not part of a chain, we're independent; taking the trouble isn't an extra, it's a basic minimum. Reception is staffed continually, there's room service until 9.30PM. We also have free wifi throughout the building and gated on-site parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mannings Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mannings Hotel Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mannings Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.