We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy, friendly and inviting!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Baking Bird

The Baking Bird
2 Old Bridge Street, Truro, England
+44 1872 277849
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 170 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $2 - $5
Cuisines: Bakery, Dessert, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Takeout, Delivery, Dessert
Description: With sofas upstairs overlooking Truro Cathedral, we offer the best selection of hand made cakes, brownies, cheesecakes, pies, loaf cakes, muffins, flapjacks, caramel shortbread and cookies. And a vast range of coffees, tea, hot chocolate and soft drinks. Open 10am-5pm Mon-Sat
Rochester, MI
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Cozy, friendly and inviting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

At the recommendation of my wife's cousin, we stopped in for a coffee and a treat. All homemade cupcakes, pastries and cakes and the decor is charming. The upstairs has many couches and comfortable chairs and perfect for socializing. We ordered the Wimbeldon Meringue (special treat during the tennis matches) and 2 coffees. Perfect!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    40
    15
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing cakes, lovely atmosphere and great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is my favourite place to meet for coffee in Truro. There are so many beautiful cakes to choose from which not only are lovely to look at but taste incredible to - the maple and pecan cake is a personal favourite!

Cakes and tea are very reasonably priced too and the seating upstairs is a very relaxed place to sit and chat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“One word AMAZING!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013 via mobile

The Baking Bird is decorated with lovely comfy armchair and sofas. The cakes are truly to die for, so much choice, it took us ages to decide what to have. It was my birthday treat with my children so I got a free cake from signing up to their email and the staff sang Happy Birthday to me. They are very friendly. They operate a loyalty scheme and I know I will be returning time and time again, not just for this reason.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A feathered friend, with cake :)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Delicious cheesecake, friendly faces from the staff, and very comfy sofas to snuggle up in - what more could you ask for xx I had read the previous reviews and replies from the owner, and I feel that the offer here is perfect!! There are loads of places in Truro doing lunch with pudding, but a specialist in the cake world is a usp I thoroughly approve of - keep up the good work!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Austell, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cakes to Die for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

So much choice of beautiful cakes that you almost want to just look at, than eat they are so nice. Very relaxed atmosphere and wonderful colourfull sofa's and chairs upstairs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Baking Bird also viewed

 

Been to The Baking Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Baking Bird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.