We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Subtle Changes, best Pub in Cornwall gets better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Royal Oak

The Royal Oak
Perranwell Station | Cornwall, Truro TR3 7PX, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 151 Restaurants in Truro
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: This is a lovely old pub restaurant, serving delicious food. We have eaten there twice & each time has been a wonderful experience. The food is fresh & the vegetables in season. Delicious. We will certainly be going again.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Subtle Changes, best Pub in Cornwall gets better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Lovely to see that the new owners of the Royal Oak are taking a gentle, non radical approach to putting their mark on this lovely pub. Especially pleased to see the new period lighting being installed and the outdoor seating improved. Similarly positive is the useful 'local' map now situated by the bus timetable. The revived wall decor in general is also a pleasing addition. Fabulous beer, fantastic 'new' and 'new world' wines, keep it up, good O!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    17
    5
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“NEW OWNERSHIP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We welcome the new managers of this lovely pub, Tim and Lizzie. We hope that with the new management the quality of wine improves and the good food continues. After 18 years, Richard Rudland, the previous landlord, has now left having retired.

Dorset Man

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
294 reviews 294 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 160 cities Reviews in 160 cities
133 helpful votes 133 helpful votes
“Above average food, decent ambiance, good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Interesting and eclectic menu with some static and some special items.

We has the mezzo and boar terrine, the letter being particularly delicious, the the Trio of Cornish fish that was equally so. Knickerbocker Glory style Eton mess puddings we delicious if rich.

Restaurant would benefit from segregation from the bar area that get's busy with voluble locals.

Very pleasant waiting staff who were prompt with being brusque.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Went here twice on our little break to Cornwall to see friends. Recommended and rightly so. Both times, the food was great. It was also nice to see the menu updated in the week and although I had veg both times, the veg varied which was nice. The food was really good, particularly the fish and crab which was sooooo fresh. Staff were very friendly and helpful and despite being rushed off their feet, were pleasant and attentive.

If I was staying longer, I would go again! Great food, great location, lovely guest ales and altogether positive experience. Perfect...

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Margate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“Always pleasant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

I have visited this fine establishment on many occasions over the last couple of years. The food is always good, and the staff pleasant. A really friendly place.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Royal Oak also viewed

Perranarworthal, Truro
 

Been to The Royal Oak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Royal Oak, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.