We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very expensive coffee” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Grammar School

The Old Grammar School
19 St. Mary's Street, Truro, England
01872278559
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 150 Restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, Mediterranean, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: A unique setting in an old listed building, we provide some of Truro's best dining with fresh lunches during the day and lively fresh and original tapas on the evening. Matched with a great coffee, cocktails, wine and beers.
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive coffee”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

First visit to Truro and called in for morning coffee on the way from the car park to the town centre. Coffee came in a depressingly small cup. When will these smaller independents get the message that one reason people go to Costa and Starbucks is because you get a decent sized cup of coffee?. The real surprise was the cost of the coffee - £2.50 a cup! An absolute rip off. My advice would be to go somewhere else if you want a decent sized cup of coffee and better value for money. In addition to Costa and Starbucks there are plenty of independent coffee houses and restaurants nearby.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R, Owner at The Old Grammar School, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Greydog2011, thank you for taking your time to "review" ThenOld Grammar School. We are very disappointed that you did not think our coffee was good value for money, it's a shame that a double shot of Monmouth Coffee made with care and attention did not get close to the "high standards" of coffee you have been used to in Costa and Starbucks. Our coffee price and size falls in line with the rest of Truro and we are more than happy with what we serve, I even think we are cheaper than Costa and Starbucks and we certainly make a better cup of coffee. Next time you write a review please consider all the elements you are commenting on.....you were not just paying for the lovely coffee you were drinking, but also the nice building you were drinking in, the nice member of staff who served it to you etc...next time your drinking your burnt, over priced, extra large mocha in Starbucks, maybe you should consider the last time they payed there taxes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    59
    11
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price in a good setting , service good ,excellent quality burger yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Popped in whilst holidaying in padstow

Great menu and really tasty and large portions all the dishes that came out looked homemade and really tasty we had the burger with pulled pork and love it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“wine if you want quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we go to the the grammer school alot because we live local . so many good things to say the food is a high standard for the price ,if you like white wine the cloudy bay is perfect so refreshing ,the maizes is enough to share ,the goats cheese foccia is so enjoyable with fries ,the homemade burgers well it,s all you can eat so be hungry before hand. jade the waitress is brill she has everything under control and it gets so busy so if you want to eat for lunch or dinner arrive early. the tapas in the evening is a success plenty of food .the whoie dining exeperience is good very lively and a great atmosphere

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Another option to eat in Truro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch with another couple and found ourselves sitting on old form bench seats, in the tradition of the old school! The food was not bad and would use as another option!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
154 helpful votes 154 helpful votes
“Good meze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

3 of us had the meze at lunchtime which was great, fresh tasting and substantial. Not too sure about the big table, hard to talk sat along the side and too wide to shout over. Friendly service, overall very good for a casual bite at lunchtime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Grammar School also viewed

 
Truro, Cornwall
 

Been to The Old Grammar School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Grammar School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.