We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food at reasonable price in a good setting , service good ,excellent quality burger yum” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Old Grammar School

The Old Grammar School
19 St. Mary's Street, Truro, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 172 restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Tapas, Café
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: A unique setting in an old listed building, we provide some of Truro's best dining with fresh lunches during the day and lively fresh and original tapas on the evening. Matched with a great coffee, cocktails, wine and beers.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable price in a good setting , service good ,excellent quality burger yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Popped in whilst holidaying in padstow

Great menu and really tasty and large portions all the dishes that came out looked homemade and really tasty we had the burger with pulled pork and love it

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    85
    39
    7
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“wine if you want quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

we go to the the grammer school alot because we live local . so many good things to say the food is a high standard for the price ,if you like white wine the cloudy bay is perfect so refreshing ,the maizes is enough to share ,the goats cheese foccia is so enjoyable with fries ,the homemade burgers well it,s all you can eat so be hungry before hand. jade the waitress is brill she has everything under control and it gets so busy so if you want to eat for lunch or dinner arrive early. the tapas in the evening is a success plenty of food .the whoie dining exeperience is good very lively and a great atmosphere

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Another option to eat in Truro!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We visited this restaurant for lunch with another couple and found ourselves sitting on old form bench seats, in the tradition of the old school! The food was not bad and would use as another option!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Good meze”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

3 of us had the meze at lunchtime which was great, fresh tasting and substantial. Not too sure about the big table, hard to talk sat along the side and too wide to shout over. Friendly service, overall very good for a casual bite at lunchtime.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Maybe just a bad day”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Having read other reviews, and even been told it was worth a visit by a friend, I decided it was somewhere to try whilst out shopping in Truro. I popped in for lunch, was seated in a window seat, all well and good and the service was very friendly. Ordered a drink, and was told what the soup of the day was and the fish of the day. When my drink arrived, I order the fish (sea bream).

It didn't take long for it to arrive and how disappointing. It was a tiny flat fish sitting on top of what has to be said was a nice coleslaw and 4 discs of beetroot. I thought that I must have heard the waitress wrong when she said what the fish of the day was, was it a mackerel? But on asking again I was told it was sea bream. It was so overcooked that it had gone hard round the outside, it might have been deep-fried (it was that crispy in places). It was tasteless. I did mention this to one waitress who said she would tell the chef.

The second waitress was lovely saying I should have said, but my rationale is that if this is what you serve, this is what you serve and for £9.50, and infact I had said.

It is such a shame, and I guess it was just a bad day.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simon R, Owner at The Old Grammar School, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Charlie the Chaplin

What a shame you have felt the need to write a poor review on tripadvisor about the The Old Grammar School. As it was only yesterday, and i was working, i remember you and how you were dealt with, and you were given many opportunities to correct your "bad" experience. The fish you have eaten came fresh from Matthew Stevens St Ives that morning, and was I fact a sea bream fillet. It is then pan fried not deep fried as the fish would fall apart. The skin was crispy because that is how the chef cooks it, and I am sure you would have had something to say if the skin was soggy. Also being such a professional on fish you would have definitely been aware that is was not a piece of mackerel ...you were checked throughout the meal and it was only at the end that you made your point. That dish is very popular and you really are the only person to complain about it. It is mostly disappointing that you did not let us deal with your complaint before you left the building......and I can assure you it was not a bad day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Grammar School also viewed

 

Been to The Old Grammar School? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Old Grammar School, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.