We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Brewery Tour!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Skinner's Brewery

Skinner's Brewery
Newham Road | Riverside, Truro TR1 2DP, England
01872 271885
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 15 Activities in Truro
Type: Breweries, Food & Drink
Attraction details
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing Brewery Tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

My girlfriend and I had prebooked this brewery tour and were surprised at how brilliant it was. We had a young lady as a tour guide who had an infectious passion for the brewery, leading us through each section of this microbrewery, explaining in detail all the processes, ingredients and systems used. Although she worked on the front desk, her knowledge of the brewing system, and the processes used was akin to that of a master brewer.
Once the tour had finished there was a tasting session upstairs, which probably stopped when the last person left! The tasting session is really good as you are encouraged (by the way the bar is set out...) to talk to your neighbours and it does genuinely look and feel like a pub.
All in all, the tasting session alone is worth the money, the gift shop is very well stocked (not just by skinner's) and the tour is remarkably well thought out. It is a good way to spend time in Truro.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    14
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Old Ale House In Truro - Huge Portions Of Food & Well Kept Ales”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

We had lunch in the Old Ale House in Truro. The prices are very good for the size of food portions. I would definitely recommend a lunch or evening pub meal here. The peppered steak skillet is very tasty and comes with a good chunk of bread to mop up the juices.
The ales are well kept. Being Skinners Brewery owned now, there are obviously Skinner's ales all the time, but then they have guest beers in from other breweries around the UK. It has been a long time since I've had a pint of Old Hooky from Hook Norton Ales. I thoroughly enjoyed it!
The feel of the place is very friendly with the traditional rustic ale house feel, with free monkey nuts to break and drop the shells on floor.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent tour, even better beer!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is an excellent way to pass a couple of hours in Cornwall's only city of Truro.

I went with my nephew (15) and my brother in law on a Saturday afternoon. Bob was a great host, full of enthusiasm and knowledge. It was very interesting to see a small working brewery in action at every stage of production and hear all about the Skinner family.

The tasting session was great and pretty liberal (don't bother driving here!). The gift shop was well stocked and very good value for money.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable experience.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bob is FAB x”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

A must visit just to see bob
He is a big bundle of sunshine x
The shop is great full of gift ideas and beer

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Before we moved to Australia we felt we should visit where some of our favourite ales come from. Bob was great on the tour which is similar to most brewery tours. What we enjoyed was how we could sample a vast selection of ales until we had our fill. A great rainy afternoon and we look forward to coming back. The staff were friendly and also joined us for an after work pint and a chat. We left quite tipsy in matching goodies from the shop which is also worth a visit to stock up.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Skinner's Brewery also viewed

 

Been to Skinner's Brewery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Skinner's Brewery, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.