We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value On The Offer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Baba Indian Restaurant

Baba Indian Restaurant
32 Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2NR, England
01872 262 694
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #63 of 151 Restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Value On The Offer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We went with friends and all went for the special offer of 2 courses for £15.00 (it does say 3 courses, but as one of the 'courses' is rice or naan bread to accompany the main, its kind of not 3 courses) anyhoo, the food was really good, very tasty and more than enough, even to feed to very hungry boys! The presentation was excellent, the service was great and the atmosphere was exactly as you would want.
The bill came to just over £85.00 for 4 people & 6 beers so really good value, looking at the prices, we would not visit when the offer is not on, as some dishes where up to £20.00 for a main course! (these where available on the offer - although there are some exclusions).
All in all, excellent food, service & value!
We will be back! :)

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    36
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Great food excellent service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Great treat as food and service are great.
From Sunday to Thursday an offer of £15 for starter main and a choice of naan or rice is such a good deal.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Not very flavoursome”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

Not sure why but the restaurant only accepts cash, strange as its in the city and a big restaurant, it has very stereotypical surroundings, but the food was bland, it had little flavour and was very watery, not a good advertisment for indian food

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very, very good food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2012

Had a meal here quite late one night as part of a 3 night stay in Truro. Chose this restaurant purely because it was the nearest to our hotel (and I love Indian food). Luckily we weren't dissapointed as the food was of a very high standard. I've eaten in many, many Indian restaurants in my time and I always think that the best ones allow you to taste all of the individual ingredients and spices (as Baba's did) rather than just a big hit of indistinguishable, generic Indian flavour. It is on the pricey side for an Indian restaurant but it is definately worth the extra.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Really enjoyed our food here. Had the 3 course for £15 on Monday night and really enjoyed it. We all had a good fill and thought the food was really nice and the naan breads were amazing.
Good work chaps!

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baba Indian Restaurant also viewed

Truro, Cornwall
Truro, Cornwall
 

Been to Baba Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baba Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.