We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent customer service and wonderful food !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Alverton to your Saves list
The Alverton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Truro
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent customer service and wonderful food !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here in feb as visiting friends nearby. Read some of the reviews about the decor and was a bit wary but should not of worried. Although some of the hotel is in need of a luck of paint (I believe the hotel is being refurbished throughout over the coming months) the rooms were perfectly clean, comfortable, had extremely comfy beds and everything you need for a weekend away. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent, the steak was one of the best me and my husband had eaten in a long time and very good value for money. Waitresses very friendly and only to happy to meet our needs. Some of the reviews mentioned the young staff and they are right but I have to say they are brilliant, friendly helpful and very professional. I was particularly impressed with the reception staff. Wouldn't hesitate to go back or recommend it to anyone, in fact we've booked to return after the room refurbishment.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    86
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
53
103
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

The buildings are historic and beautiful, with interesting features. Our room (2) was recently refurbished and very well furnished. The hotel is away from the main road and looked out across Truro, so quiet with interesting views. The grounds were classic and well maintained. Breakfast was a little disappointing, as the fresh oranges were off. Also, no alternative to butter was available. However, the remainder of the food was delicious. Generally, the staff were very young and a little unsure when dealing with the public. Also, they lacked knowledge about the building, which was little frustrating - they didn't seem to know why the attached bulding had scaffolding or what the bell rope in the entrance hall did - shame in such a historic building!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed one of our newly refurbished rooms. However, it is saddening to see that you were disappointed with the breakfast and the waiting staff.
I am pleased to inform you that we have just hired a new restaurant manager Rodney Gill and our staff have recently received further training.
If you wish to stay again, in regards to the history of the building, you will be able to find booklets that will answer all of your questions in regards to the historic building.
Kind Regards,
The Alverton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The building is full of old charm very beautiful, old and elegant in appearance, with modern, very comfortable facilities. The great Hall looks fabulous as a venue for weddings or conferences. Our room very large and warm, we even had alternative heating available and very much larger than many other hotels in which we have stayed. The bath was a bit stained, a cast iron bath, and the water coloured, although we mentioned it, it would not put us off visiting again. The breakfast is amazing, probably one of the best that I have sampled over many a year with a wide range of cold foods and hot meals freshly cooked to order. some very nice special orders especially the smoked salmon and scrambled egg. It's out of this world and set refreshingly on a plate that was hot too. All the staff we saw were very young, however, we very professional, friendly and helpful, well trained accommodating too. Will visit again.

Room Tip: Just enjoy the service and the Breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Firstly the staff are really nice and polite, you can't fault them at all.

Free wifi throughout!

The rooms and furniture are badly dated and the carpet had tea stains on it.

The bathrooms have carpet in them, enough said!

The public areas are badly worn, everything needs painting, tiles need replacing in bathrooms, the bar and restaurant need a refurb.

Can't say I'd stay here again unless everything else in the area was full and the only other option was a Travel Lodge.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am pleased to see that you had a great experience with the staff. In regards to the interior of the hotel, I am happy to announce that the hotel is coming to the end of extensive refurbishment. Should you wish to visit again, I will be happy to give you a tour of our modern and stylish facilities.
Please email me at laura@thealverton.co.uk.
Kind Regards,
The Alverton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

This hotel has fantastic character and charm in masses! A super warm welcome and shown to a lovely spacious room with the most wonderful furniture and space. The fixtures and fittings were in need of updating-bathroom especially, shower was a little rickety. But the service, staff and restaurant were second to none and all essentials -quiet and comfort bed made up for the small flaws. Even though only stayed for one night on business would definitely visit again. Lovely hotel

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay here at The Alverton. When you next visit you will be able to experience our newly refurbished facilities and rooms. All fixtures and fittings have been updated!
Kind Regards,
The Alverton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lostwithiel, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We had an overnight stay DBB. The building is lovely, excellent location to walk into town if you want to. Room was nicely furnished and spacious. We tend to go off peak so the hotel was quiet. Evening meal was superb. All beautifully presented, top quality ingredients and really delicious (and we are foodies). Staff were attentive but we were not rushed at all. Breakfast the next morning was equally top notch.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We recently returned to The Alverton for a lonng weekend, having had our Wedding Reception there almost 20 years ago. The service then was exemplary and this weekend it continues to live up to those exceptionally high standards.
The room we stayed in was recently refurbished and I was concerned that they may have lost that special charm of the hotel, but they havent. The very tasteful redecoration retains the charm and feel of this beautiful building.
The restaurant has always served expectionally high quality foood on each of our visits adn this occasion was no exception. High quality ingredients, presented beautifully and extremely tasty.
The recently started 'Steak Night' is a fantastic idea, 12 of us ate there for the first Friday Steak night a real bargain considering the quality of the steaks, all cooked to each diners preferences adn all served hot.
Finally the staff, every single member of staff was so helpful, polite and willing to do everything they could to make the stay an absolute pleasure.
Get to this hotel quickly because once all the refurbishments are complete they could certainly increase the prices as I believe the star rating will rocket - it certainly deserves to.

Room Tip: Room 21 is beautiful - but so are all the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AlvertonManor, Front Office Manager at The Alverton, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
I am pleased to see that returning to The Alverton after 20 years you still had a fantastic time. I have passed on your compliments to the staff and look forward to seeing you soon - hopefully not 20 years.
Kind Regards,
The Alverton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alverton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.