We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Grounds and Property, Staff Let Down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Alverton

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Alverton to your Saves list
The Alverton
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Truro
Cornwall
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Grounds and Property, Staff Let Down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Stayed at the Alverton whilst in the area on business. Fist impressions were that the grounds are truly magnificent. An abundance of character meets you as you approach the sweeping driveway, very fairytale.

Staff 'Welcome' was a bit of a let down, as I approached reception I could hear the receptionist speaking very disrespectfully about the management. She did, however, manage a smile as she pleasantly booked me in.

Not quite sure what problems they may be having internally, but i did not let this put me off my stay and everything else failed to disappoint.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    86
    32
    17
    6
See reviews for
53
103
15
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

My husband and I had a 4 night stay so we had the ideal opportunity to get a real feel for the hotel and what it has to offer. The building is beautiful and has a character and charm that is missing from larger chain hotels. The grounds are very well kept and there is adequate parking. The staff are amazing and nothing was too much trouble no matter what the time of day. There is a calmness and efficiency about the place which is very relaxing and is undoubtably down to a well run and happy team of staff. All the reception staff were incredibly helpful, enthusiastic and friendly. The breakfast was a delight and catered for every conceivable taste and dietary need. My husband loves his breakfast and likes to 'stock up' for the day and was never disappointed. Nothing was too much trouble for the restaurant staff and all of our food was freshly cooked to order but without a long wait! Each morning I had perfectly poached eggs with my full English breakfast. The standard of the food was first class. Our quaint bedroom was very clean and full of character, bathrobes were included and we had free WiFi. Our room was cleaned and fresh towels etc provided daily. I have already recommended the hotel to my friends and we have booked ourselves in for the New Year celebrations. I sincerely have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for a delightful stay!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms that overlook the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saltash
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

We were slightly apprehensive having booked and then read some of the reviews for this hotel. Our fears were unfounded. Yes, the room we were in had a faded charm (Room 7), more than made up for by the view over the garden. It was spotlessly clean, as were all the public areas of the hotel. The two outstanding features of Alverton Manor are the staff and the food. The staff were engaging and enthusiastic, nothing was too much trouble. Afternoon tea on arrival was excellent and very reasonably priced. We ate in both nights of our stay. There is a small, but varied menu, with everything freshly cooked. My eight ounce steak on the second evening was more like twelve! And perfectly cooked. If you are in Truro and stuck for somewhere to eat, you could do a lot worse than give them a go. Alverton Manor is an ideal base for exploring Cornwall, well within reach of both coasts. It's only an hour from home, but I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The building was once a nunnery, it’s in a lovely garden setting and looks great from the exterior. Inside the rooms in the public areas are of very grand proportions, unfortunately the bedroom areas are something of a rabbit warren of rooms, corridors and staircases. We were told that the hotel had just changed hands and refurbishment, which it desperately needs, is going to take place.

Our room on the top floor was large and had a lot of character, but the lack of a lift and several staircases to climb made it difficult, if not impossible, to get heavy suitcases to the room.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Great staff always friendly and welcoming.Comfortable lounge to relax in, log fire in the Winter.Rooms need updating but they are very clean and comfortable.The staff will go the extra mile to ensure you have an enjoyable stay.Food excellent and breakfast very good.I have stayed at other hotels in Truro but always go back to the Alverton as it has that something special and am prepared to wait for hot water when taking a bath.

Room Tip: Always state what you need eg.desk,sitting area,bath,double bed,fresh milk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, arriving very late (early morning). Welcomed and taken to our room where, having been told all double beds were standard size, we were greeted by one at least 7 feet wide, sheer heaven. Breakfast was good and served fresh from the kitchen. All told a pleasant stay in a lovely hotel.

Room Tip: We had room 22, what a great bed!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012 via mobile

Only stayed here one night, arriving in the evening of a beautiful day. Truro as always was gorgeous. Reception helpful and friendly. Room large well equiped, water of two types, nice smellies, great huge bed but a bit tired. Hotel, if it is to join premier league needs money spending on it. But I would rather have a lovely supper, which was adapted for me, attentive service, and a really lovely breakfast with field mushrooms and fresh fruit infused yogurt than perfect paint. Staff a delight. Will go again

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Alverton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Alverton

Address: Tregolls Road, Truro TR1 1ZQ, England (Formerly Alverton Manor Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Truro
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Truro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Alverton 4*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Alverton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alverton Manor Truro
Hotel Alverton Manor
The Alverton Truro, Cornwall

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Alverton, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.