We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best meals I've had!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gravy Boesti

Gravy Boesti
8 Edward Street, Truro TR1 3AJ, England
01872 222237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 170 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $25 - $33
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Illogan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“One of the best meals I've had!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We visited as a family group of six of us on a Friday night. The food was absolutely gorgeous and all of our party really enjoyed what they had. I had scallops, cod and strawberries & cream for dessert, which were all really tasty and presented beautifully. The cod dish was probably one of the best fish dishes I have ever had. Everyones meal options looked great and the wine was lovely. The service was friendly and attentive and generally there was a really good atmosphere. I will definately be coming back and can't wait to try some of the other food on the menu. Definately the best place to eat in Truro by a mile!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

335 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    286
    34
    6
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

My husband & I had a meal here for our 2nd Anniversary and we were not dissapointed. The food was amazing & the attention to detail on the food presentation by Scott was superb. All the staff are very friendly and make you feel welcome.
We would highly recommend eating here, we will certainly be going back.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mevagissey, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic lunch experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Found this restaurant via Tripadvisor. We were given a warm welcome from the minute we stepped into the restaurant and this carried on throughout the meal. Service excellent. We went on a hot sunny day and we able to eat in the courtyard. The food - all home cooked - is truly scrumptious - you have to visit - worth every penny! Thanks for a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Superb find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

I was looking for somewhere special for myself and my fiancee to go during our annual trip to Cornwall. After searching the internet for best places to eat, I came across this restaurant on the trip adviser website. After reading recent reviews, we were excited and intrigued at what this restaurant had to offer so decided to book a table. We were not disappointed. From the moment we walked through the door until the moment we left, it was professional, but relaxed; informative without being intrusive; enjoyable and extremely pleasurable. On arrival we told them that I couldn't have anything with alcohol in. The chef was informed but this was not an issue for them as all food is freshly prepared (another thumbs up).

We started with complimentary homemade fresh bread with dipping oils (very good). I had the confit of mackeral (superb); my fiancee had the homemade soup (delicious). I then had the rib eye steak which was by far one of the best steaks I have ever had and my fiancee had the curried chilcken which was lovely. By this point we were quite full but were very tempted by the desserts so asked for a short pause before the next course. This was not a problem and it was nice not to feel rushed out. Our desserts were delicious sharing homemade ice-creams and raspberry and peach sorbet with macroons and raspberries on the side. We eat out regularly at top class, sometimes Michelin Star restaurants and Gravy Boesti is certainly well on it's way to being up there with the best of them. Hope these guys make a success out of this restaurant as they have only been open for a few months, but they certainly don't lack in effort or enthusiasm. We will definitely be returning next time we are in Cornwall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lifton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Superb food & excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Discovered this excellent restaurant on Tripadvisor. What a great discovery. Tucked away on a quiet street. Great welcome & fab to see the chefs in action on arrival. Delicious complimentary homemade breads with oil & vinegar. Fab king prawn starters, Caesar salad, followed by supremely tasty pulled pork sliders & grilled cod (never seen such white fish). Followed by outstanding strawberries & cream and banana & peanut parfait. All outstanding & amazingly good value at £15 for 2 courses, £20 for 3. Hope they keep up this standard of tasty, innovative dishes to delight the palette at reasonable prices. Hard to believe they have only been open 3 months but they thoroughly deserve all the excellent reviews & accolades. They made us so welcome, especially our 12 year old son who was fascinated by watching the chefs in action & dearly wanted to go back for dinner! We highly recommend & will definitely return.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gravy Boesti also viewed

 

Been to Gravy Boesti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gravy Boesti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.