We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kathmandu Palace

Kathmandu Palace
19 Old Bridge Street, Truro TR1 2AH, England
+44 1872 241330
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 170 Restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Indian, Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Voted in the 20 top Curry restaurants in the UK. You will find the Kathmandu in the shadow of the Cathedral in the heart of Truro. A cosy and relaxed establishment in Truro, the Kathmandu is hosted by charismatic and friendly hosts Raj and his family. Fresh herbs and ingredients are used to ensure the best curry experience, so that you can enjoy eating healthier and exotic Nepalese flavours. As a result the mouthwatering dishes are a lot lighter and more subtle than traditional Indian fayre.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The food was exquisite and a delight to eat on our second night in cornwall. Best food by far. The atmosphere was great and both raj and sunny were great in being the best servers and made our dinner ever more special. Will definitely love to go back!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    302
    58
    24
    8
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Another Great Visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Always busy so booking is advisable, but the best Indian in Cornwall. Our absolutely favourite, food isfresh and delicious, service is great and the drinks are good too! A definite must when in Truro.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Always great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's worth booking a table as its always busy but for a good reason. Great food and happy service been to this place a few times as a couple and large group and its always been the same faultless evening meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Indian meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

I booked a table for 5 on Thursday 29th August. I was concerned after reading the reviews on here about being rushed through the meal however I need not have worried. The service was very attentive from the owner and all the staff. Our meal was delicious and we weren't at all rushed. All 5 of us were delighted with the whole experience and would definitely recommend the Kathmandu Palace.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Always Superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013 via mobile

This is our second visit to Kathmandu and had a wonderful meal again this evening. My wife and I like to try a variety of Indian/Nepalise dishes. Food is always of a high standard and Sonny the owner is excellent at recommending accompanying side dishes. Staff are always polite and helpful. We can't fault the service. We were seated by the river side which was pleasant. Restaurant has always been busy, a true reflection of its popularity, as other restaurants were empty on the way back to our hotel.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kathmandu Palace also viewed

 

Been to Kathmandu Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kathmandu Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.