We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good food and atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shanaz

Shanaz
1 Edward St, Truro TR1 3AJ, England
01872225895
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #75 of 169 Restaurants in Truro
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Truro, Cornwall
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food and atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a busy restaurant with take away option. Food is fresh, well cooked and tasty. Some of their specials are excellent - would be lovely to see them venture away from the traditional Indian menu options.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    11
    8
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Simply Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am a HUGE fan of indian food and was recommended this restaurant while I was down Cornwall with a few friends. As soon as we walked in, we were greeted by the waiters, they were extremely friendly and very fun to chat with. The menu had a wide range of dishes and included a few that I had never tried before. I thought I would try one of the Shanaz exclusives the chicken panasia? (sorry if I spelt it wrong) I cannot recommend this dish any highly, I have to say it was one of the the best, if not THE BEST indian dishes I have ever tried! My friends were very pleased with the dishes they had too. The prices are very reasonable compared to most indian restaurants i have visited. Overall great food, great staff and amazing atmosphere. Will definitely be coming in next time i am down Cornwall, highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
1 review
“And Flo loves it too”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I am a regular at the Shanaz at least once a week and i have never had a bad
experience I live ten miles away I originate from Manchester living in
Cornwall for 45years I have lots of relatives visit in the summer. Since i
found the Shanaz about five years ago couldn't believe my luck I have eaten
Indian curries since I was young so have my relatives all regular visitors
to the famous curry mile Wilmslow Road. Manchester they all think the Shanaz
food especially the chicken Nagha Mukim exclusive to the Shanaz. Is the
best, fantastic food, staff and excellent portions? So to trip advisor
commenters. Shankar1976 & Californian Man why not join me and my relatives
my treat at the shanaz and stop being miserable cheap skates because you
can't get your own way. For every time I've been to the Shanaz I would vote
it 5 star every time

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best Indian in Truro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

I have pretty much tried all the Indian restaurants in Truro, and have always found Shanaz to the be the best. The food is good and the service is excellent. They even opened up the restaurant a specially for us after rugby trip on a Sunday. The take out is just as good to

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Nagha Chicken”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Excellent service, fantastic food, only one star dropped because it wasn't quite as hot as my taste would have preferred (which is, to be fair, pretty hot). Otherwise, a lovely meal.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shanaz also viewed

 

Been to Shanaz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shanaz, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.