We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good lunch for two” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mannings Bar & Restaurant

Mannings Bar & Restaurant
Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2QB, England
44 (0)1872 247900
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 169 Restaurants in Truro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We’re one of Truro’s most popular places to eat, meet and drink. The atmosphere’s informal and relaxed and all budgets are catered for. We have everything from prime rib steaks butchered on the premises, fresh local fish, aromatic sizzling platters, right down to oversized baguettes with fries and vegetarian options. You’ll find the very latest cocktails, cool crisp international beers and an extensive, varied range of wines from different countries and regions around the world.
Quesnel, BC
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Good lunch for two”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Friday lunchtime, got in without a reservation. Quick service, drinks brought pretty much right away (Raspberry Nojito...very good), order taken with similar speed - mushroom omelette for me, ham & cheese omelette for my wife...and both were quite excellent.
Also impressed with the retro-style decor

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    106
    28
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband & I were in Truro and happened upon Mannings and we were very glad we did. We had a lovely lunch, beautifully cooked, Omelette and chips for my husband and a Burger and salad for myself. great service. reasonably priced. We went early and got a table easily but it did fill up quickly so either book or be early.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Friendly Dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

First to state I don't give five stars unless something is exceptional. Mannings restaurant is an excellent location for a good dinner with a good menu choice at reasonable prices. The wine list is also well thought out with a good choice that is not dominated by ordinary Chilean wines. The service was really excellent. Good quality location that was very well maintained with moderb furniture. My daughter and husband visited a few days earlier and also found the service was really excellent and the food was good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very very good...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

My wife and I visited the Mannings restaurant as we were staying near Truro for the weekend of our wedding anniversary so looking for somewhere a little nicer to get some food.

What a fabulous place. The service was exceptional, the food superb and the price surprisingly reasonable. Not only was the food of a very high quality but we ordered for two and had enough food for four! They do not skimp!

We will definitely return again and would 100% recommend to anyone else visiting the area.

Also worth checking out the hotel as this looks very smart and also very reasonably priced for a stay in Truro centre.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food and service with a smile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

We were on holiday and visiting Truro, it got to lunch time and using the tripadvisor app I found this restaurant had some good reviews.
We hasn't booked but 4 of us were allocated a table for an hour. So might be worth booking if you know your heading there. The homemade burger was fab, fish finger sandwiches went down well and an omelette which also ticked the boxes.
The only extra advise from my son who is an expert in mayonnaise woild be that it would have been nice to have home made rather than a small jar.
On the whole reasonable value we would certainly eat there again and recommend.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mannings Bar & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mannings Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mannings Bar & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.