We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious eating experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bustophers Bar Bistro

Bustophers Bar Bistro
62 Lemon Street, Truro TR1 2PN, England
01872279029
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 169 Restaurants in Truro
Price range: $19 - $33
Cuisines: Bar, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Cape Cod meets Cornwall is how we'd describe this city centre Cornish bistro which is renowned for its progressive and seasonal modern British menu. Decorated in stylish rustic colours with minimalistic hardwood furniture, a zinc-topped bar and a glass-roofed atrium, Bustopher's Bar Bistro is a cosy family-run venue that is a hit with both Truro locals and visiting gourmands alike. The kitchen specialises in creating bold dishes from Cornish produce and simple British traditions, and the wine list here is excellent. Popular dishes include the seared tuna steak with a warm side of sugar snap peas, cherry tomatoes and spinach with sauce vierge; the bowl of River Fal mussels; and the pork belly with seasonal vegetables.
UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Delicious eating experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

This is my second trip to Bustophers in as many months and it didn't disappoint. Great ribeye steak, cooked to perfection with scrummy giant chips on the side. The service was even better than last time which did take longer in spite of the restaurant being less busy. One fly in the ointment was a sudden change in policy re my TasteCard being unable to use the 2 for 1 deal on the steak dishes. It was honoured on this occasion but won't be next time, so will think twice about heading back here if I wanted to use the card again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    106
    54
    32
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“GOING DOWNHILL”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My wife and I have eaten at Bustophers about 5 times in the last 2 years, because of the atmosphere, however the food quality and value for money is going rapidly downhill. They ought to send their chef to the Rising Sun in Truro to find out the sort of food a good gastro pub/bar is providing.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Polruan,Fowey,
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great eating experience in Truro.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

We went to Truro to shop and meet friends for lunch, they had been recommended to try this bistro for the first time and we were pleasantly surprised, it is a wonderful eating experience with delightful staff a relaxing atmosphere the food is varied very tasty and well presented.We would recommend it from our experience today and will go again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Happy Diner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Only our 2nd visit to Truro & Bustophers. As on the previous visit, we found the food & the atmosphere very good & our waiter on Saturday night was very attentive when needed.When we are back in town will certainly visit again

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Never again”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We had lunch there on 27 March. Our French onion soup was completely tasteless and when we mentioned it the waitress merely said that she would inform the chef. Not another word was said. Main courses okay . When it came to pay the bill the waitress had the temerity to ask if we were going to leave a tip and if so explained in detail exactly where the amount should be entered on her card machine!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bustophers, Manager at Bustophers Bar Bistro, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your experience here at Bustophers.
Since your visit and review we have undertaken a great deal of change, starting with a new head chef, kitchen team and new menu. There have also been a number of changes to our front of house team.
I agree that you should not of been asked if you would like to leave a tip, this should be a discretionary procedure and should not be an expectation. There has been an injection of training into the front of house team to improve product knowledge, standards of service and customer care.
I believe that with the changes that have been made since the time of your review a lot of the points you raise have been addressed and put right.
We hope that you do come back and give us another try one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bustophers Bar Bistro also viewed

 

Been to Bustophers Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bustophers Bar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.