We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“very good hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2009

very nice hotel, good service, good food, very clean and very nice gradens and pools!

Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    707
    206
    71
    67
See reviews for
628
1,315
68
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2009

Just got back from a week's holiday at the Gran Hotel in Costa Meloneras in Gran Canaria. The hotel was clean and spacious and the staff were very attentive and friendly, the overall service was excellent. We spent most of our time sat in the shade around the infinity pool which was fabulous! Then at night we usually went out of the back of the hotel onto the promenade and ate in one of the numerous restaurants. The 3 restaurants I would recommend were the Chinese/Faro Grill and the Grand Italia. We were on a B&B basis at the hotel and usually ate in the 'El Portico' restaurant for breakfast as this was the coolest and least busy restaurant in the mornings. The buffet breakfast was the best I have ever had, the choice of food was unbelievable. The only drawback was there were very few English people in the hotel but all in all I would say it was one of the best holidays I've experienced in a long time. The hotel catered for young families through to young couples and the elderly.

  • Stayed October 2009
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

Gran Hotel Lopesan is a fantastic resort! You really can't go wrong here. Yes, it is hugh and during peak season there are a lot of people but the staff does a great job processing the number of people who come through there. Also, because the resort is so big it doesn't seem like there are as many people. It was still quite.

I was so surprised by the rooms ! Our regular room would have easily been a junior suite in other places. My husband and I are American but we live in Europe so we are getting used to European standards when it comes to rooms. They are usually very small but, not here. Not only was it a nice size but it was very clean and well maintained. My husband and I each had our own closets which is always nice. The shower and bath were separate. The bed was comfortable...clearly Lopesan doesn’t buy the cheapest mattresses they can find. Also, don't expect to have the beach right outside your room. The resort sits back off the beach.

People complained about being nickeled and dimed here and there was a truth to that but as long as you know before you go it's no biggie. The thing that I didn't read before we left was the fact that there is a little grocery store inside the hotel and it's pretty cheap. So there was no reason to buy the expensive bottle of water in the room cause you can get the same thing for 0.80p in the store. They also had snacks, beer, candy and juice. It was nice to see that the prices weren't jacked up just because we were at a resort.

I wasn't impressed with the food at the buffets. I thought it was overpriced and just blah. Men also have to wear slacks which we didn't know the first night. The lady who was standing at the door of the buffet restaurant was VERY,VERY RUDE about the fact that my husband had shorts on. I understand that a rule is a rule but there's no need be rude to guest about it. We ate at The Hard Rock Cafe the rest of our stay. It's a 5 Euro ride away with better food and nicer people. The other restaurants at the resort were booked 4 days out so we didn't get to eat at them for dinner. We did eat at one for lunch and it was good.

We did do the whole spa thing and it was well worth the money. We really enjoyed the whole spa experience. We also liked the gym at the spa. We had to pay to use it but it was nice. I did a spin class and I’ve never sweated so hard. Great class ! There's also a free gym.

Overall Lopesan just get's it. The grounds are very nice. They have great kids programs. Nice entertainment at night, great pools and the service is very good…except for the grouchy lady at the buffett. You can tell they really try hard to make the resort the very best that it can be. It’s a 4 star that could pass as a 5. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2009

Good upmarket location. 6 trips in 4 years, but now too busy. Great pools and well maintained grounds. Good selection of activities but entertainment could be of a higher standard. As much free champagne as you want at breakfast, but pay extra for orange juice..ridiculous!!! Mostly friendly staff but a few are patronising. Very annoying always being greeted in german assuming everyone staying at the hotel are from Germany! Difficult to get a sunlounger(in the sun) after 10am. Great system where your room access card can also pay for anything within the hotel grounds. 100m long swimming pool. Sandy area by the main pool....good for not sticking to you, bad for making sandcastles! New charge for hotel carpark 12 euro a day.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2009

Fisrt stay to this hotel, and wow what a fab place. Needed to check with holiday Rep that we had actually arrived at the right hotel........... Thank god we had.

First impression were great and this continued through a week long stay, very well furnished, water features almost everywhere, well maintained garden and a service which was 100 %. The hardest decision was which pool to use, the infinity pool which overlooks the sea gives you a sence that your actually in the Sea, very cleverly desinged.

Food was good, but we were on a B&B basis so this is based on that, without a doubt the best breakfrast that we have had in a hotel of this magnitude.

Good nightly entertainment, supberb maids that cleaned thr rooms and nothing was too much trouble.

Despite other reviews that suggest drinks at the hotel are expensive , I would say that price are affordable and comparable to local bars. Cocktails are about 6 Euros, definitely reccomend the Mojito.

The spa is a must...........................

The only critisim is that the standard of the rooms do not appear to match the standard of the the whole hotel, altough confortable in comparison to the elegance of the hotel it seems a little lacking.

Will definately return

Well done to the who staff team that made our stay very special. Thank you

Suffolk

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2009

The hotel is stunning, no doubt about it. The staff are mostly very friendly, the whole place is spotless and service is generally very good. The food I would say was average only and on half board the restaurants were very busy at times, mostly having to queue to be seated outside but not for too long, and then of course you eat your meal with everyone else's cigarette smoke wafting across your table but then that's europe for you!
I think you could have a wonderful holiday here but for us it was very disappointing and we wouldn't go back.
I'll give pros and cons, first the cons:
Our main issue was that the guests are 95% German I would say and we found them to be very unfriendly. They stared and stared and stared and when you looked back at them and smiled they would not return the smile and would not even look away, just kept staring. It made us uncomfortable at first, angry at times and quite unhappy over the course of the week. We are in our early thirties and the great majority of guests are 50+, very few children here. We found it impossible to get the really good sunbeds, they have towels on them from 7am. The beautiful gardens look wonderful but the reality is so many sunbeds are in the shade, as we had a very cloudy week this was not ideal but it may suit some people. Our room was on the ground floor and dark all of the time, we needed the lights on during the day. Getting a seat for the entertainment was very difficult, we only managed it one night out of 6 and were joined by a German couple as all the seats were needed. We sat as a group of four but with no communication at all, it felt awkward. The one night we did get a seat for the entertainment it was really bad and we left early, however, we think this was the worst of the week as we stood and watched a couple of others that were brilliant. I was keen to join in with activities to ease the boredom but as I approached the mini golf the group were all German men, mostly in speedos and over 50 and the member of staff was talking in German so I didn't bother.
Pro's:
The hotel and grounds are very well designed and look gorgeous. The pools are incredible with 4 to choose from, a hot tub, mini golf that is pretty good, there seemed to be aerobics or tai chi type activities everyday. The spa was incredible, we had a great day here and I highly recommend it. The staff have high standards of cleanliness and are mostly very courteous (there'll always be some that aren't!) The pools are fun and good temperature with a swim up bar at one of them. We found the local restaurants and bars to be very good for lunches or a change of scene. The beach is walkable and we even walked across the dunes which was great - (although be warned, the nudists are out in force round here and we passed many as we walked both in the dunes and along the beach. Not a problem particularly but we had no idea so it came as a bit of a shock!)
Tips:
Apparently you can change one of your half board evening meals for a night in the Vista Mar restaurant for free, we were not told this, it's not written anywhere and no rep let us know. We found out by accident on our last day when we went at lunchtime and were considering eating there in the evening assuming that we would have to pay and they were fully booked by that point. Ask about this as you need to book a table but its a straight swap. The other restaurants I believe give you up to 15% discount in place of your half board meal.
There is a newsletter sheet printed daily, we realised this towards the end of our week but picked one up each morning once we knew. We got ours from the teattro cafe on the bar but saw some in reception and other places dotted around. These have lots of offers such as two for one cocktails and snack foods at lunchtime. It has excursion offers and 10% discount on the spa on certain days so worth looking out for.
The room you get will make a big difference to your holiday. The cheaper ones look out the front of the hotel and the road, car park etc. The ones out the back face the pools and the sea but ground floor are very dark. Clarify what room you're getting if you can.
We had a great night at the nearby casino but it is not linked to the hotel in any way despite the hotel often referred to as "hotel casino and spa". You need a passport or driving licence and cash or credit card to play.
Conclusions:
I can understand why this hotel gets so many good reviews it is certainly possible to have a great holiday here. We chose it based on the reviews we read here which is why I am writing this review as an honest opinion to add into the mix for those debating which to choose. If you are going in a group, are over 50+, are German (or immune to staring), wishing to have a quiet holiday as a couple without wishing to chat to others then you'll be very happy.
This holiday has made us realise that we prefer self catering, prefer to have some English families around us for those little chats you can have as you bump into the same faces, how important a sea view or at least a bright room is and that the quality of the hotel does not necessarily match the quality of your overall holiday.
I would recommend this hotel to a friend if I thought it would suit their needs. If you have booked dont worry you will have a great holiday - enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2009

This is the kind of tourism that some people are going to love, and some are going to loathe.

If you like behemoth cruise ships with a minimum of 1,000 cabins and with enormous, glitzy public rooms, you'll like this place.

If you like cruise ship buffets where the emphasis is on quantity and carbohydrates in every possible form, and not on quality, you'll like this place.

If you think that having your breakfast serenity shattered by screaming babies and unruly kids is charming, you'll like this place.

If you don't object to being nickel-and-dimed for every possible drop of blood the hotel can squeeze out of each visitor (2 euros for a glass of fresh orange juice with your otherwise mediocre, albeit copious breakfast; 2.30 euros per day to make your in-room safe functional; 7 euros per day to work out in the gym; 12 euros per day for internet; 12 euros per day for parking, etc.), you'll like this place.

If you find it comforting to stay in a hotel so vast that the check-in clerk needs thirty seconds to explain to you where your room is located, using an actual map, you'll like this place.

If don't mind that the shampoo comes in little aluminum envelopes, you'll like this place.

If your idea of a great holiday destination is Las Vegas, Atlantic City, Honolulu, Key West, San Juan or St. Thomas, you'll like this place.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Corallium Spa & Casino is situated on the sea front on thesouth part of Gran Canaria, very close to the Dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve. It issurrounded by an undeniable natural beauty environment, this spectacular hotel complex offers allthat is needed to enjoy unforgettable holidays, full of restful moments, leisure and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa And Casino
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Resort Maspalomas
Costa Meloneras
Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras
Gran Costa Meloneras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.