We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely great hotel and spa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely great hotel and spa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

This is my favourite hotel ever. The breakfast are beynd beleifs and the staff are great. The spa is absolutely incredably. I could recommend the spa to everybody in the world that likes a spa experience - I dont know enything like it and its worth every penny!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    633
    180
    66
    63
See reviews for
575
1,200
61
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selby, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

Stayed here last week what a fantastic week,the hotel and grounds are magnificent,the food in the buffet restaurants is unbeatable,all the staff are so polite and helpfull (special mention to David in the restaurant and Yolande in Reception).Plenty of sunloungers and daytime activities,good night entertainment and plenty of bars and shops in the area,also went to the Meloneras golf course thi s is on the coast with great sea views and is in great condition and the staff are the most polite and helpfull people i have met in my life.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porsgrunn, Telemark, Norway
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

The hotel was ABSOLUTELY amazing! The rooms were nice and clean, and the area of the resort was beautiful. It was several pools, and the main pool had an amazing view. The staff was really nice and helpful. It is a BIG BIG hotel, so i struggled finding my room several times. But other than that, its perfect. And the location outside the hotel was also beautiful. Nice restaurants, bars and stores.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llantwit Major, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Wonderful hotel and will definitely go back. We (professional couple in 30s) went B&B as we like going to La Bodega, Gran Italia and Grill Faro for lunch and dinner (the best three restaurants outside of the hotels). Three minor criticisms are below but overall it was superb. With these things corrected it will be the perfect hotel in the perfect location.

1. Mini disco 8pm. This is the time adults are gathered for pre-dinner (or post-dinner for early birders) drinks by the outside pool yet they stop the wonderful band and music to play daft music with annoying animation people for the two or three toddlers there at the time. There is sudden mass exodus by the money paying adults! Crazy. There are plenty of areas the hotel could put on the entertainment for the few children, not the main congregation area for adults.

2. Pillows - hard thin things and if you want a comfortable pillow you must pay 6 euros a night. This is not acceptable - it should be taken for granted the standard pillows will be comfortable!

3. Carpets in hallways need replacing. A minor thing but this is the obvious thing preventing an official 5 star rating in my opinion.

Best things - piano music in main bar and cocktails from approx. 7pm. Amazing pools and gardens. Great service. Excellent resident band in evenings from around 7.30. Spa fun for a half day of unusual experiences! Suggest a sea view/spa pool room for peace if you don't want to be kept up by music which finishes at eleven. High up for sunny balcony and more privacy.

Shall be returning next March. Age range from 20s to elderly. Decent crowd. Mainly German, French, British. Some Spanish.

Room Tip: I have given 3 stars for sleep quality due to pillow issue!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We wanted a week's break to get a first taste of the resort of Meloneras, so location was vital rather than choice of hotel this time round!. Didn't really fancy such a large hotel [ usually opt for less than 100 rooms] and buffet dining isn't my sort of thing .However, we were totally won over after the first 24 hours. We've already booked to go back there for a 2 week stay!.
So why the change of heart? We didn't feel as though we were in such a large hotel as the grounds are gorgeous with more than sufficient terraces and eating options to fit everyone in comfortably and without the need to book or queue. Service was excellent - professional, friendly, helpful staff who gave personal attention to guests. The food is very good quality - definitely opt for the half board package. There is an amazing choice everyday [ breakfast and dinner] for all tastes. I don't eat meat and often find menu choices restrictive and repetitive - not here. Much on offer in the buffets is cooked for you. We also tried their Las Rias restaurant - excellent. This hotel offers good entertainment and lots of classes daily [ pilates/ tai chi / aqua gym etc ]. Lovely ambience.. Ideal location - just across road from designer shopping![ Take your credit card and leave some space in your luggage for the return flight]
This hotel is also right on the promenade which abounds with lovely restaurants and bars and also right on the edge of Mapalomas beach if you want to lie on the beach rather than around one of the many pools or in the hotel's gardens.
Yes wifi is limited - personally we found this refreshing not to have everyone hogging terrace / bar seats transfixed to their social media. Reception with plenty of very comfortable seating, offered good free Wi-Fi access if wanted or as said by others you can pay for in-room reception. Paying for a safe does seem rather petty in the grand scheme of things but was only 2 euros a day. The most disappointing aspect of our stay was the room. The bathroom was lovely and well equipped. We were upgraded to a junior suite with 2 enormous rooms - but there was only the same amount of furniture as in a standard room The vast empty floor space in both rooms made the accommodation feel very sparsely furnished. The décor was also dark and not to our taste. But at the end of the day we were in the room for so little of the time and everything else was 100% which is why our overall rating is excellent

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Knew we were in for an excellent holiday the moment our cases were removed from the coach and taken to our room. Nothing was too much for the staff. Spotless hotel, fantastic landscaped gardens, immaculately clean swimming pools.
Only one slight negative comment; no tea making facilities in room and cost of renting a room safe. Didn't spoil the holiday. Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just back from the Lopesan. We have stayed there on previous occasions..without children...
Now having returned there with our daughter...this hotel is definitely adult geared. Our daughter did not enjoy it.
Have to say staff very friendly..that the only positive point..sorry.
We had a junior suite which was so dark and dated...beds very uncomfortable and horrible pillows....if u went to change pillow there was a daily charge!!!!.
We did not sleep a wink due to noise from upstairs coming through air con vents.
I did inform reception but he was not bothered.
It was very chilly in the evening and the only entertainment was outside...we tried on several occasions to get seat inside in the lobby but to no available.
This hotel is extremely expensive..and definitely not worth it.
Try sister hotel across the road..much better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras for your last short break in the south of Gran Canaria and also for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that you and your family have not enjoyed your room and the climatic conditions during the evening and we are also sorry to hear that you had problems with noise coming from another room. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Every guest comment helps us to improve our services and is therefore very valuable for us.

Even so, we feel the need to point out that the mentioned pillow change refers to our special pillow program with a selection of different pillow styles and it is true that the change from our standard pillows to one of the premium pillows goes along with a supplement.

Regarding your comments about the price-performance ratio, we think that we are a reasonably priced 4*+ Hotel, but of course we accept your constructive criticism of our price-policy.

We also think that our animation program (adults, children, wellness, music and daily shows) offers something for everybody and not just for adults, but of course we are taking your comment about your daughter not having enjoyed the stay very serious and we have forwarded it already to the responsible department manager.

For any question or wish please do never hesitate to contact our Public Relations Department – during, before and after your stay.

Either way, we would like to welcome you again in one of the hotels of the Lopesan Hotel Group and remain.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Corallium Spa & Casino is situated on the sea front on thesouth part of Gran Canaria, very close to the Dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve. It issurrounded by an undeniable natural beauty environment, this spectacular hotel complex offers allthat is needed to enjoy unforgettable holidays, full of restful moments, leisure and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa And Casino
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Resort Maspalomas
Costa Meloneras
Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras
Gran Costa Meloneras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.