We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Going again next year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
1 review
“Going again next year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

Knew we were in for an excellent holiday the moment our cases were removed from the coach and taken to our room. Nothing was too much for the staff. Spotless hotel, fantastic landscaped gardens, immaculately clean swimming pools.
Only one slight negative comment; no tea making facilities in room and cost of renting a room safe. Didn't spoil the holiday. Looking forward to returning next year!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,335 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,390
    635
    181
    66
    63
See reviews for
575
1,202
62
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Just back from the Lopesan. We have stayed there on previous occasions..without children...
Now having returned there with our daughter...this hotel is definitely adult geared. Our daughter did not enjoy it.
Have to say staff very friendly..that the only positive point..sorry.
We had a junior suite which was so dark and dated...beds very uncomfortable and horrible pillows....if u went to change pillow there was a daily charge!!!!.
We did not sleep a wink due to noise from upstairs coming through air con vents.
I did inform reception but he was not bothered.
It was very chilly in the evening and the only entertainment was outside...we tried on several occasions to get seat inside in the lobby but to no available.
This hotel is extremely expensive..and definitely not worth it.
Try sister hotel across the road..much better.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras for your last short break in the south of Gran Canaria and also for taking the time to share your opinion with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

We are sorry to read that you and your family have not enjoyed your room and the climatic conditions during the evening and we are also sorry to hear that you had problems with noise coming from another room. Please accept our apologies for any inconvenience you might have experienced. Every guest comment helps us to improve our services and is therefore very valuable for us.

Even so, we feel the need to point out that the mentioned pillow change refers to our special pillow program with a selection of different pillow styles and it is true that the change from our standard pillows to one of the premium pillows goes along with a supplement.

Regarding your comments about the price-performance ratio, we think that we are a reasonably priced 4*+ Hotel, but of course we accept your constructive criticism of our price-policy.

We also think that our animation program (adults, children, wellness, music and daily shows) offers something for everybody and not just for adults, but of course we are taking your comment about your daughter not having enjoyed the stay very serious and we have forwarded it already to the responsible department manager.

For any question or wish please do never hesitate to contact our Public Relations Department – during, before and after your stay.

Either way, we would like to welcome you again in one of the hotels of the Lopesan Hotel Group and remain.

With kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is huge and has so many rooms, the breakfast and dinner are a generoius buffet but of v poor quality especially dinner. Nothing is for free you pay for wifi 8eur per day. You pay 35eur to have access to the spa facilities. The bed is not v comfortablr and the piloes are bad. I would never go back

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras for your recent stay in the south of Gran Canaria and of course we are grateful for the time you invested publishing your comments on tripadvisor.

In our daily improvement process the comments of our guests are one of the most important part for being able to continue fulfilling wishes and expectations and we are sorry to hear that in your case we did not manage it. We would like to inform you though, that our guests can have access to a complimentary Wi-Fi network in the hall of our hotel.

For any question or doubt during your stay or in advance, please do not hesitate to contact our staff from the public relations department, they are always delighted to help you.

We are truly sorry to read that you are not likely to return to the Lopesan Costa Meloneras but we really hope that you will change your mind, giving us another opportunity to convince you of our services.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile


Just arrived back from this lovely hotel. The problem stems from tour agent Thomas Cook, we were late getting out of the airport due to my hubby needing assistance and our case going missing. We went to get our transfer, but told it had gone as we had taken to long, and they can't hold a coach up! Did they not think of putting a message out ! So we asked how we would get to our hotel we were told we would have to wait until the next flight came in. So we arrived at out hotel about 2 hours later than we should have. Not good when we had been traveling so long and one of your party is not feeling well.
However, we did have a good holiday, and like some of the reviews I have read, we were treated equally as good as our continental neighbours .
Yes they do take towels of unattended sun chairs ( about time a hotel took this stand) but they left all the personal belongings , so no-one would sit on them anyway ;-).
The only downside it the hotel is so big and now the Baobab hotel has been built across the road, all the rooms at the front and side do not have any views at all.
We have stayed at this hotel a couple of times before the Baobab was built, but I don't think we will be staying again, purely for the non view and the garden views are so expensive

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, Director General at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having chosen the Lopesan Costa Meloneras for your last holiday in the south of Gran Canaria and for having taken the time to post your comments on tripadvisor.

We are sorry that you did not have quite a good start into your holidays, experiencing inconveniences at the airport regarding the transport service.

Though it is nice to know that unless the problems at your arrival date, you did enjoy your holidays with us, although we are sorry to hear that you are not planning to visit us again.
We really hope that you will change your mind, giving us the opportunity to convince you of our services, again.

Please do never hesitate to contact our Public Relations Department for any question or doubt you might have during your holiday or in advance. They are always glad to help you.

It would be a pleasure for us to welcome you at our Hotel again, soon.

Best regards,

The Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westcoast
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

Stayed there in February 2014 with my husband and two children age 12 and 16. We loved every part of it! Tranquil, exellent rooms, good service and food. Lots of activities to do at the hotel. Large hotel, but we didnt get the feeling of all the people because the area around it is so large. Our daughter celabrated her 12th birthday when we were there and she got a card and chocolate from the director and staff :-)

Room Tip: Seeview rooms are nice but you must be prepared for some noise from the Music shows at night. We had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

One week's stay as VIP guests, and we're treated as such. The music shows are a bit disturbant in some rommes and suites, but all entertainment next to the pool ended at 11 pm every night.
Enormous hotel area next to the ocean, but the approx 1000 palms covering the property could be reduced to allow more sun in the pool area.
Excellent breakfast buffets with a wide choice. (We had other meals at restaurants other places on the island.)

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

Had a lovely stay at the costa melanores, the hotel itself is beautiful, spotlessly clean and staff very helpful. It's nice to have entertainment in the evening, nice area to sit and have a drink and listen to music. Beautiful large pools and lazy river. Rooms were a bit basic for such a luxurious hotel, although very clean and comfortable. Stayed at the lopesan baeobab last year that was also a good hotel, have booked villa del Conde this year as melanores is a nice resort.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Corallium Spa & Casino is situated on the sea front on thesouth part of Gran Canaria, very close to the Dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve. It issurrounded by an undeniable natural beauty environment, this spectacular hotel complex offers allthat is needed to enjoy unforgettable holidays, full of restful moments, leisure and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa And Casino
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Resort Maspalomas
Costa Meloneras
Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras
Gran Costa Meloneras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.