We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grounds, not so good rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino to your Saves list
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Irish in Chile
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely grounds, not so good rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This was out first time here, stayed in PRincesa Yaiza in Lanzarote earlier this year, so on a comparison between both, the Yaiza had gorgeous rooms, simple white decor but nicely laid out with nice balcony, not at all impressed with our room here, big room but horrible dark red bathrooms, scrape marks on TV cabinet as its stupidly placed in middle of bedroom so previous guests dragged it around to watch at the table nd while in bed, Yaiza had a nice minibar area with sink, and a teas aid, no teas maid in Lopesan, which is bad for a five star, especially if you lie in. Our balcony here was huge but overlooked a carpark and noisy road....awful.
They could have a tapas restaurant...Yaiza had a yummy tapas restaurant, offered Spanish choice to meals. Staff in Lpesan were lovely except the Ovo restaurant where the staff had poor English and my husband was sent out to change into trousers, Yaiza was much more informal and to be honest when on holiday you should be surely entitled to be more laid back and dress down.
Pools and grounds were beautiful and I liked the no booking loungers straight after breakfast or at 6am as a certain European cohort do! Itmeant people had to relax and enjoy breakfast without rushing.
Prosecco option for breakfast- as in Yaiza- nice
The main hall is impressive but whoever did the interior design....ugh...Yaiza was more aesthetic and relaxing, this place is pink/green/red pained walls and some distasteful cactus paintings....mmmm....
The spa was amazing, best ever, only other small fault was no sandy beach on doorstep like Yaiza. But nice promenade to walk on. Better shopping in this resort vs Playa blanco so if bad weather, this is better all rounder.
Gorgeous restaurants outside of resort are El Churraco and the Sushi Mex. Sushi and champagne sangria cocktail is yummy
Also the Lopesan outside areas are stunning, beautiful plaza and pergola I think the name is are lovely, just pity the decor didn't play out indoors.
Nice to see two resident cats too!

Room Tip: Perhaps ask for room in front of main pool area
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,499
    703
    205
    71
    67
See reviews for
627
1,311
68
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is a very impressive hotel. It looks great & the staff are very attentive & helpful. The main pool for me was the big draw which is a huge infinity pool overlooking the sea. Our room was large with a balcony & to a high standard, it had aircon & tv ( only 2 english channels) & was cleaned everyday (at random times). There are a number of restaurants on site to choose from although we only used one for breakfast so can not comment on the food. There are also a number of poolside bars selling food & drink during the day. Evening entertainment everynight was ok. You also get direct access to the local shops & restaurants through a private gate, these too are to a high standard & food was excellent. The huge beach & dunes are also just a 5min walk away. Overall the place is to a very high standard & is very relaxing with everything you need onsite or nearby. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is our third time at this resort and the second time at this hotel. This time we stayed for a week and went for rest and relaxation.

We had a junior suite (Room 4342) which was great, a large living room and seperate bedroom, two balconies and facing a pool. The rooms are always immaculate and cleaned and tidied every day.

The grounds are large and mature with lots of palm trees enabling shade to be sought out very easily. Plenty of sunbeds and parasols with both quiet and not so quiet areas to sit. We went mid October and it was very busy but everyone still got a seat! In the height of summer I have seen the groundsmen getting out more beds when asked. There is always staff going around tidying and maintaining the grounds.

The staff are superb at their job, always welcoming and making it feel like it is not too much trouble. My 11 year old daughter joined in with the older 'kids' club and they are great! She tried paddle boarding, water polo and generally had fun.

The restaurants are very good with lots of different food choices. It is a little busy but you are not rushed and can take your time.

We go here for some switch off time and that is exactly what it does. You can just go and enjoy the superb weather and relax in the pools and grounds. We have never had any issues here.

I have also stayed at it's sister hotel across the road (The Baobob) and we came back to the Costa. The Baobob has not yet matured enough, did not have the same atmosphere and also lacked a little in location, the extra 200-300m to the seafront somehow made all the difference!

Room Tip: We ask for a 'high' room as the ground floors open straight out onto pools/communal areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

I stayeddt the hotel from October 29th to Novembed 5th 2012. The rooms are really big and have spatious bathrooms with a bathtube andda shower. The 2 buffet restaurants offer a great variety of dishes and it also offerd a great choice of foods if you want to eat very healthy. The servers make you feel welcome and ( besides the sometimes longe qu

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We have just returned from 11 days at the hotel and first impressions were stunning, I must say the grounds are spotlessly clean and the young man who takes your luggage was charming and so was Julie on reception - a real credit to the Lopesan group and deserves a special mention.
It was our 14th wedding anniversary and we chose this hotel due to the location and the stunning pool area as well as the write ups
So good things first
We stayed in room 4322 from 24th October until today 4th November and the hotel room was good, even though we had no shampoo / conditioner in the room which I would have expected from this hotel, the maid marjorica was lovely...
The grounds were great, in fact breathtaking, however the sun loungers are packed in and mainly covered by too many trees...also between 8am - 10am you cannot reserve loungers, something that caqused alot of ill feeling....amongst all!
The food itself overall was fabulous....lots of choice....however will come back to the staff and restaurants later...
Julie on reception - excellent

However, we were half board and the restaurants were cramped each evening, the tables were so close to each other, it was ridiculous and like a canteen each evening...Also we usually stay in the Riu Maspalomas Grand Palace which is next door and the staff there are fabulous and so attentive...here, every evening...and I mean every evening the staff were blatently rude, not attentive, to the point on one evening they relaid our table whilst we were going for our main course and gave it to another couple!!!! Also on one evening they spilt the candle all over the table cloth - I blew it out in the end and the wax went all over my bag!! When I complained, I really wasnt listened too...
I did fill in a questionnaire during our stay and we got a card through asking us to go to reception the following day, but no-one was there to deal with our complaint at the time of going, even though we went at the times suggested - which tells me, they werent listening...we have come back today, so upset, that the hotel we thought was going to be out of the world was actually NOT!!
We ate twice in the Ambassador restaurant and that was amazing, so please thank your wonderful team in there and ask them to train the team in your half board restaurants to smile and treat every guest as an individual who deserves to have a truly great dining experience....
It will be interesting to see the comments by the hotel now we have left as when we arrived we did receive a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine for anniversary, however this didnt make up for the experience at the hotel overall..
Ms. McEwan

Room Tip: pay extra for a pool / garden view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LopesanHotelGroup, General Manager at Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Dear Mr. and Mrs. McEwan,

We are really sorry to read that you are disappointed with your stay at the Lopesan Hotel Costa Meloneras.
Your suggestions and comments are very much appreciated, as we are always interested to improve our service and satisfy the demands of our guests. In your case, we do really apologize to hear about the incidents you experienced during your stay and especially in the buffet.
We guaranty you that the responsible of our buffet is already informed, as we are very interested in detecting, why your complaints haven’t been passed to our public relations department and the management, as this would be the regular procedure the hotel realizes in case of inconvenience. We will definitely research into this problem in order to avoid occurrences like this in the future.
Please receive our sincerely regret that we did not manage it in your case.

The hotel philosophy is based on the thought, always to do our best to make our guests feel comfortable and satisfied during their holidays. Regarding your comments about your welcome in the reception, the cleanliness and the service in our Ambassador Restaurant we already passed your positive words to the different departments, as this is a brilliant motivation for proceeding in the same way.

We hope that you will give us in future another opportunity to provide you the excellent and professional service our hotel is known for, because we would really look forward to welcome you again as guests in our resort.
We kindly ask you to get in contact with our public relations department, to inform us if you are thinking about visiting us again and if you have any questions they will remain at your disposal.

Best regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Recently spent 2 weeks holiday a superb hotel only downside is the towel brigade and the number of palm trees that gives too many shaded areas fantastic staff superb pool would stay again staff did do a towel collection needs this every day vast selection for breakfast very good air conditioning and spotlessly clean everywhere

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

What a lovely hotel. Spotless and welcoming. The staff bar none are very friendly and helpful, the reception team are excellent, a team of cleaners seem to work non stop. Bright and light, although so big it never seems too busy and it was fully occupied during our stay. We went b & b and there are plenty of restaraunts to the right and left of the lighthouse only a short stroll away. However, you can't go wrong with the one's at the hotel. We ate in the Argentinian steak house top right of the Infinity pool and also the a la carte inside the hotel, both first class and worth the visit. The buffet restaraunt has 2 evening sittings and often you have to queue but nonetheless they are very good. Breakfast has an amazing choice from full cooked to pancakes, fruit,pastries, smoked salmon, everything you could possibly think of. Now for the bit that really annoys me though. I have read so many reviews that berate the "95% of Germans" "Don't speak English" Are they not entitled to holiday too ! If you want a holiday where everyone can speak English I can highly recommend Whitby !! Get a grip. Try speaking a little Spanish, the locals like it and it earns respect too. Rant over, The evening entertainment is just that, the house band are entertaining only because you have to laugh at their singing, although some of the shows are a bit better they did have a tribute band to Il Divo who were top drawer. All in all this place is a truly great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino

Address: Calle Mar Mediterraneo 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino 4*
Number of rooms: 1136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Corallium Spa & Casino is situated on the sea front on thesouth part of Gran Canaria, very close to the Dunes of Maspalomas Nature Preserve. It issurrounded by an undeniable natural beauty environment, this spectacular hotel complex offers allthat is needed to enjoy unforgettable holidays, full of restful moments, leisure and fun. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Expedia so you can book your Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa And Casino
Lopesan Costa Meloneras Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Hotel Maspalomas
Gran Resort Maspalomas
Costa Meloneras
Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Costa Meloneras
Gran Hotel Lopesan Costa Meloneras
Gran Costa Meloneras

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.