We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, start to finish” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino)

Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino)
Mar Mediterraneo, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
+34 928 12 81 00
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $48 - $192
Cuisines: French, Spanish
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Excellent, start to finish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012 via mobile

Ate here last night, food service and surroundings were excellent. The potato soup was Superb and the beef main was excellent, tender, juicy and very tasty. The desert (white chocolate soup, with tangerine sorbet) was the best I have tasted In a long time. To be honest this was a superb restaurant serving absolutely top class food at local prices. You will not get better value for money or better food, in this area. Don't miss it.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    17
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

Excellent restaurant on all counts; food, service and ambience were all first class

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great food, wine, service and surroundings at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

Went here for special occasion having read previous reviews. We had a fantastic evening from start to finish. Nice bread sticks with dips, followed by squid wrapped in bacon hmm. Both had the duck with mango - yum. Followed by apple pie and cream. Delicious. Had a spanish chardonnay and canarian 1/2 bottle red, both v enjoyable. Staff were very genuinely friendly and attentive. Best of all, total bill circa €90. No dearer than seafront restaurants and way better than most. Can't recommend enough.

Visited February 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CHESTERFIELD
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
211 helpful votes 211 helpful votes
“You just can't beat this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011

I have reviewed this resaurant before but as we have just returned from another trip and two further meals in the Ambassador I feel it deserves another one.
As I say in the title you just can't beat this place for quality and for value. There were only a couple of changes to the menu since last year, I guess they can trust the quality of the produce and know what works. I love the way the chef will produce amazing food form humble ingredients, try the potato soup, it may not sound much but it is the way this soup is prepared that makes the difference. The rack of lamb again was to die for and the fillet steak not only was tender but had amazing depth of flavour. The deserts are lovely too, try the white chocolate soup with fruts, fab!
Being British one thing I do miss on their main meals is a green vegetable of some type but that seems to be the done thing out there so I forgive them as that is one tiny gripe when everything else is faultless.
The service is up there with the best, the staff are obviously very proud to work there and it is so nice to go back year after year and see the same faces. As for the cost, you will pay the same along the sea front but will not get a fraction of the dining experience.
We have been to the hotel six or seven times now and have eaten in the Ambassador probably 12 times and have never been let down by them, I wish I could say that about some of the so called top notch places in the UK.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Meath, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Could not get over the service and value for money at this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

Everything about our meal in this restaurant was above our expectations. Service was 1st class. Food 1st class and the cost was really good value for money.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino) also viewed

Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
Maspalomas, Gran Canaria
 

Been to Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ambassador (Lopesan Costa Meloneras Resort, Spa & Casino), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.