We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Save Saved
You added Lopesan Baobab Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lopesan Baobab Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“WOW”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel looks amazing from the moment that you arrive. The decor and surroundings are unique and stylish. You really do get the holiday feeling when you are here.

Unfortunately my husband fell ill as soon as we arrived and ended up in hospital, but the hotel reception staff were really helpful and that really helped me with dealing with other things.

In terms of the hotel, the lazy river is brilliant, they have statues of animals around the resort and one of the bars reminded me of the Flintstones.

Overall an amazing hotel, and I would definitely come back again.

Room Tip: I was in the Junior Suite which had a bigger balcony and huge bathroom/shower area. The normal twin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,227 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,377
    522
    196
    68
    64
See reviews for
889
944
31
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (442)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spain
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel is a large 600+ roomed property with, as its name suggests, an African theme. It has an impressive entrance and the grounds are large with different pools to choose from and caters for families and couples. Rooms are large and many overlook the pool areas, if you want a view of the dunes you need to ask for a high floor. I was here on business at a Conference and whilst the hotel does cater very well for a leisure stay, due to its facilities and location (short walk to shopping area/restaurants/beach), it was perhaps not totally geared up for a Conference/business traveler (slow internet/charge for safes).
That said the hotel staff from Reception through to bars and restaurants and housekeeping are all very friendly and courteous and make you feel welcome and Martin the Public Relations Manager does a great job, attentive and professional.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor for sea and dune view. There is a charge for the hotel safe so ask at Reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week 9-16 Sept. This is a impressively designed, African themed, huge hotel. Our superior double room was spacious and well appointed. Staff were friendly and helpful. Pool areas are lovely, and we found sun beds for the two of us around the Lazy River at any time of day. Choice of food was varied and good quality with themed dinners such as Indian, Chinese, Italian, Spanish and Japanese, plus many other choices each day. Central location with a few minutes walk to the beach, promenade, shops, bars and restsurants. Would recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I visited this hotel during a business conference having been to Gran Canaria previously. I really like the location in Meloneras because you are close to the sand dunes at Meloneras and the night time action in Playa del Ingles. The rooms are modern, clean, comfortable and located about 8 mins walk away from the light house at Meloneras. The food during my stay was great, the staff were friendly and I loved my evening swim in the pools.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Just returned after an enjoyable week at the Baobab. Holidays are often enjoyed more if the staff are attentive, friendly and good at their job, we found this to be the case with all the staff members we encountered on our visit. The hotel is excellently themed, looking and smelling very African. Rooms clean, spacious and well equipped, surprised our was given the 'Standard' rating!! Food in restaurants plentiful and good variety, perhaps some waiter service in the evenings would have been nice. Greater care needs to be taken by chefs in family restaurant, cutting raw chicken with same knife and board as cooked meats, whoops, not good. Lighting levels low which added to the hotel theme, but did not add to the enjoyment of our meals, not being able to see what we ate! Stair lighting also needs reviewing.
Moan over, great holiday overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enniskillen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is my second visit to the Baobab Resort and was again very impressed with the efficiency at check in, I had requested an upper floor room overlooking the Lazy River however this was unavailable so was allocated a room on the other side overlooking the Chocolate Pool which is a fairly quiet location. The room is a pleasant walk from the reception and only took a few minutes. We were very pleased on the standard of the room and the view of the pool was excellent. The room is equipped with a good quality hair drier, super wet room and shower, wide screen TV and fridge with mini bar. We emptied the bar and replaced it with locally bought drinks; much more cost effective and nobody appeared to mind. Breakfast was the usual array of cereals fruit and hot and grilled fare generally very good however some items were at best look-warm by the time we returned to our table. The breakfast area furthest away from the main entrance is best and least crowded it also helps to arrive before 0900hrs. We took up residence at the chocolate Pool which was close to our room the sun hit this area at arond 1000 and was generally very peaceful no problems getting a sunbed although there were some early rises placing towels before 0700. Dinner is again self service and of excellent quality with something to suit all tastes again some of the dishes are at best Look-warm. The hotels location is excellent and the main shopping area is a very short walk away. This is an excellent family orientated hotel and caters well for children however it does not quite tick all the boxes for 5 star. The Villa Del Conde also a Lopesan Hotel ticks all the boxes for a five star and is probably worth paying the extra few Euros. Overall a very good hotel but not quite great.

Room Tip: Be Careful. Many rooms have very limited or restricted views, somew overlooking road or scrub. I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My friends and I returned yesterday from 7 days at this fantastic hotel. The hotel, services, facilities, food and staff were all '1st Class'.
We were very fortunate to receive an upgrade to our room but have to say that even if we hadn't been so lucky, my rating for this hotel would not change.
Without doubt, the food (we were half board) was amazing and we were never disappointed with the choice on offer and despite other reviews never had an issue with the food being cold. In fact, I dread going on the scales!
The hotel in its entirety is spotless, the cleaning staff very polite as indeed are all the staff. The pool area around the lazy river was fab, and the staff at the nearby bar were very attentive.
Evening entertainment is nice and the walk to other nearby bars is worthwhile.
I appreciated a previous recommendation on TripAdvisor that suggested emptying the room fridge and filling it with water from the supermarket - great tip to avoid spending too many euros on water! Would I recommend this hotel and go again? Oh yes!

Room Tip: Block 2 overlooking the pool was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Costa Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Costa Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Costa Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Travelocity, Prestigia, Otel and HotelsClick so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Baobab Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.