We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, but..............” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lopesan Baobab Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lopesan Baobab Resort to your Saves list
Lopesan Baobab Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, but..............”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I have to start this review by qualifying it...........we discovered on this holiday that we no longer want to go on resort package holidays, no particular reason I think we've just grown out of this type of holiday - with that in mind please read on...........
The first view of the hotel as you pull up is stunning and it lives up to the promise as you enter. From the cascading waterfalls to the open plan vistas everything is set out to impress and it surely does.
Check in was swift and helpful and we were provided with very clear instructions on how to find our room and a map in case we got lost - you will need the map, this hotel is huge.
We had booked a family room and I had also emailed the hotel in advance to ask for a quiet room away from the reception area and the bar having read previous tripadvisor reviews. We got exactly what we asked for - room 3128 is a top floor corner room overlooking one of the pools and the mountains the only drawback is that the bathroom window does not have a blackout blind (in fact it does not have any kind of blind) so our son was disturbed in the mornings - that said his bedroom at home is like a cave so maybe it will not be a problem to others. The room was very large, absolutely spotless and had all the usual touches such as toiletries, bathrobes, pool towels and a beach bag and also the bane of my life the hotel hairdryer - you know the ones that only work if you hold down the button? My advice is take your own hairdryer as not only is the one provided awkward to use it is not very powerful. The beds in this room are queen size and very comfortable. There is ample wardrobe and drawer space and because the room has a vestibule we didn't spend 2 week tripping over our cases. There is a large bath and a huge shower which has a hand held shower as well as the overhead.
It took 3 phone calls to get our luggage delivered, the hotel like to bring it to you - so if like us you are delayed in arriving and are in a hurry to get to the restaurant before it closes you may want to hang on to your bags and take them to your room yourself.
The two buffet restaurants are large - one is air conditioned the other is not - and both have outside terraces - which have sun shades but if it has been a misty night they drip onto your breakfast, we found it nicer to sit inside in the airconditioned restaurant for all meals (we were on half board). The food is plentiful, fresh, well presented and bland. The concept of herbs and spices appear not to have reached this hotel - in addition to which when I'm in Spain (or Spanish Territory) I really would like to eat Spanish or local dishes NOT Indian, Greek, Chinese, Japanese and what appeared to be leftovers night. Paella appeared once a week - and that brings up the other gripe about the food - it is on a one week menu so if you are there a fortnight you get it all twice. The restaurant staff are very friendly, quick to take your drink order and serve the drinks but slow to bring the bill if you are paying cash rather than charging it to your room, and even slower to bring the change.
The grounds of the hotel are magnificent, clean and beautifully kept with 9 swimming pools and plenty of sunbeds, sunshades and natural shade from the trees and shrubs. The pool that appears to be the favourite is the lazy river and if you want a prime position here set your alarm - you have to put your towels out early (7.30am) - there are notices by the pool and in the room asking you not to do this but do not be fooled, nobody takes a blind bit of notice and the hotel do not stop it, there were beds available at all times by some of the other pools but we were there before the majority of the English schools had broken up so this may not continue to be the case in the middle of August. You can change your pool towels daily if you wish. There are bars in the grounds which provide the usual drinks, toasted sandwiches (very expensive) etc and also the Pili Pili buffet restaurant which does a sit down service or Pizza takeaway. The cheapest way to eat by the pool is bring your own in from the supermarket just down the road, also bring in water it is much cheaper to do this - there is room in your mini bar to chill the water and the hotel are relaxed about this - I have stayed in places where it was necessary to smuggle in snacks and drinks. We also noticed parents with very young children were using the breakfast buffet to take fruit and make up sandwiches for lunch, there is a sign asking you not to remove food from the dinning rooms but again the hotel seem not to mind. There are also plenty of toilets in the grounds, all spotlessly clean.
The hotel has one large bar - the Richard Burton Bar, as well as a bar in the reception area, which seems weird - who wants to sit inside in the Canary Islands in the summer? The reception bar has an outside terrace with a few seats but it is difficult to get a seat out there. The Richard Burton Bar has free wifi access which is great during the day but useless at night when the bar is crowded, not a problem for us as we needed it for daytime business emails but there were some very fed up teenagers. I think you may also be able to access the free wifi in reception but we did not use this. There is also a bar at the Plaza Marimba where the evening shows are held but this appears to close when the shows finish and that causes a huge problem as the Richard Burton Bar has nowhere near enough seating and although the hotel provided extra bar tables and stools whilst we were there unless you are prepared to get to the bar very early or very late you will not get a seat which is a pity as the bar prices are reasonable and the bar itself is fantastically themed like the rest of the hotel. There are also not enough bar staff which means the service is extremely slow - 20 minutes to half an hour to get served some nights and when they are very busy they will not serve you directly from the bar.The live music acts in the bar are awful and loud - what happened to the concept of backgound music? And unless you like hearing the Rolling Stones, The Beatles, Elvis and Dire Straits being mangled by a variety of acts (they all appear to have the same repertoire) make sure you are sitting as far from the band as possible.
We did not go to any of the Plaza Marimba shows as we like to linger late by the pool and have a very late dinner but if you have been to the Canary Islands before (we are frequent visitors) you will already have seen all the acts or ones very like it.
Underneath the Richard Burton Bar is a television area where they show some sports, we were able to watch, if we wanted to, the mens Wimbledon final, German Grand Prix, the open golf, international youth football but not the cricket. There is also an indoor bar behind this which is not in use during the summer but has a large screen and is used every afternoon to show a cartoon film for little ones - which is a nice touch to get them out of the sun for a while.
The childrens entertainment (Animacion) team were lively and friendly but the things on offer were limited to football (5 a side), ping pong and bingo and our son chose not to participate. The youth club (which is for teenagers) did not start until the end of our second week and offered more or less the same with the addition of water volleyball. The problem for the hotel is that the majority of the site has been given over to rooms and pools so there are no tennis courts or any other spaces where activities can take place. The ping pong tables are packed away after the organised acitivities and there are no pool tables, card tables, chess tables or mini golf. Other hotels offer a much more extensive childrens and adults entertainment programme with other activites on site for self goverened activities - so if this is an important part of your holiday then this may not be the hotel for you.
In short the hotel is large, modern, beautifully kept, and clean but it falls short of being a 5 Star hotel in my opinion. If we were looking to do this type of holiday again we would not return here because of the lack of facilities and the fact that the food and entertainment seem to be stuck in a 1980's timewarp.

Room Tip: Room 3128 - quiet top floor corner family room but bathroom window lets in light as there is no wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,870 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,786
    675
    253
    82
    74
See reviews for
1,147
1,239
39
41
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (557)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We had 2 weeks at this amazing hotel for our Honeymoon and had the best time!

When we arrived at the Hotel it was just breathtaking, an amazing entrance and stunning first impressions. It was late, around midnight, but we were still greeted warmly by the staff and given a room upgrade to one with a stunning view of the Lopesan Costa Meloneras and lighthouse and in our room was a bottle of champagne from the Hotel!

The room was lovely, spotless, modern and lovely with the air conditioning & a balcony. A favourite feature of mine was the amazing shower which was lovely! My only slight complaint about the room was that the bed was 2 singles pushed together with no latch or anything holding them in place so they moved apart if you sat to close to the middle. Other than that though the room was amazing!

The size of the hotel was slightly daunting at first but after a few days you quickly find your way around and the stunning architecture and pools made it interesting when we did get a bit lost at first! The african theme was also really nice and different.

The food was delicious, we were half board and only ate at the 2 buffet restaurants. Breakfast was great, a really nice variety of cooked through to fresh fruit and cereals with tea, coffee etc all included and dinner was exceptional, a real variety of different types of cuisine. I thought some of the drinks were slightly overpriced and we mainly stuck to water for dinner and then smoothies or cocktails in the day and eve but the prices weren't as high as they could have been!

Location wise its great, close to local supermarkets and a good shopping area. Great access to the beach and brilliant transport links with a big bus station only 5 minutes away!

Although it was busy when we went the hotel never felt overcrowded with lots of nice areas to sit and relax. Although there is a rule in place not allowing you to put down towels on the sun loungers everyone did and it was slightly annoying having to get up early, because if you didn't you wouldn't get a seat by the pool until later in the afternoon if you were lucky.

Overall though the hotel massively exceeded our expectations, and is probably the best hotel I have stayed in yet!

I would definitely recommend it to family & friends and can safely say that we will absolutely be returning one day! Had a fantastic honeymoon there!

Room Tip: We were very lucky to get an upgrade to a room with a view which was lovely, so could be worth going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Positives
We booked this a year ago and really looked forward to something a bit different. Arrived at night and the hotel looks particularly impressive at night. We had a family room which was fantastic, plenty of room and a lovely balcony looking out over the resort and into the mountains. Plenty of great pools to choose from. Food is great, plenty of high quality to choose from. Loved all the quality planting and spectacular trees around the resort. The staff are fantastic and really work hard to make you feel welcome and look after you.

Negatives
Only the decor along the corridors let it down. The paper on the walls is looking tired and very scruffy around the safety hatches of which there are a few. The "safari suits" worn by the male bar staff and others look terrible, very unflattering and need to be revised asap. Needs more of a modern safari, linen look.

Great time all in all thank you Lopesan Baobab!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Our family has just come back after a weeks stay at the Baobab resort in Meloneras, Gran Canaria. This is a huge hotel and will even be a little bit unnerving for anyone with very small kids as they could easily get lost because the hotel is so vast. That aside the place is kept spotlessly clean as most people have commented and visually it has all the appearance of a 5 star hotel, the reception area is even scented with essential oils.

The pool areas are about the biggest I have seen in any hotel anywhere, there are around 7 pools and at least 4 are huge with a lazy river included, all are heated and pleasantly warm but now the bad side. Like all hotels there are signs up everywhere stating not to reserve sun beds however during our trip the hotel was at full capacity, I went down to the pool area the first morning at 8 am and there was no one there but every sun lounger had a towel on it. The next day I went at 7 am and 90% of beds were reserved, it appears that many people reserve them from 6 am or earlier, the pool staff don't care and will do nothing to help you, we even found that some people had reserved beds both in the sun and in the shade in case they got too warm!!! Also many beds with towels on them remained empty during the day. There are also umbrellas beside every row of 4 beds but many people had taken other peoples umbrellas so they could have one for each bed, this caused a lot of angry confrontations with the pool staff not interested in getting involved. This was the biggest gripe we had with the hotel and what let it down badly, the reception staff said they were aware of the issue but didn't know how to deal with it and the pool staff didn't give a damn.

From a food perspective no one could be disappointed, the range of food was huge and all very fresh and tasty, I feel there would have been a big enough selection to please anyone, we did eat out twice during the week just for a change but you wouldn't need to as the hotels food quality and selection were fantastic.

The rooms were also really nice, very modern with good air conditioning, comfortable beds and an excellent wide bath and walk in shower, the toilet was in a very small separate room which was really tiny, some might actually find it claustrophobic. Otherwise the rooms and walkways were immaculate and beautifully finished. My parents were booked into one of the double delux pool rooms, there are only 20 of these and they have an additional deck area with two loungers and a small swimming pool for each room, if you have the opportunity to book one of these definitely do, they are worth the extra cost.

Overall we liked the Baobab but sadly it was let down by the pool / sun bed issues, if this had been a small issue I could have ignored it but you spend all day at the pool and having to get up at 6 am or earlier just to reserve a sun bed in my opinion is not acceptable in a 5 star hotel and spoiled the overall holiday. The staff in the hotel were all very friendly and everyone even maids would say hello when you pass them.

To the Baobab management you have a great hotel which is almost perfect but let down by seriously poor management of the sunbeds at the pool, you need to put a system in place to control this issue as it would put our family off coming back, otherwise your hotel was excellent.

Room Tip: Get the double delux room with the small swimming pool at the end of the room, there are only 20 of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
falkirk
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

African theme gives you something different and it was fantastic the entrance to the hotel really does have the WOW factor. Hotel is huge, which i dont personally think is a bad thing. Lots of little relaxing places to sit and chill. Food was good not the same boring things each night. The hotel is spotless thanks to the army of friendly cleaning staff. Number of pools to choose from lazy river was excellent. Would return in a minute! Truly amazing!

Room Tip: We travelled as a couple (No children) and requested a room looking onto the quiet pool. It was fant...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

on arrival this hotel is breathtaking, when leaving this hotel it was breathtaking! my girlfriend and i absolutely adored this hotel! we stayed there for 2 weeks and you just cant get bored of the hotel! at first its a little over whelming due to its shire size but, after a couple of days you realise its actually pretty easy to find your way around it. the pools are beautiful, never really had problems finding sunbeds although, often when you are looking for a nice spot you'll find that even though you are not allowed to reserve sun beds everybody does, which was annoying when they dont turn up for hours later!!! the food near enough repeats itself each week but the food was beautiful, i love the fact the cook a steak for you whilst you wait! my girlfriend and i only went half bored but was so happy with it as it included an all inclusive breakfast! so tea, coffee, squash, juice etc etc was all included. lunch we would often take a 5 minute walk down to the boulevard where there are some lovely lunchtime restaurants.
when my girlfriend and i booked this hotel we was worried we was going to need a car to explore, we was wrong as the main taxi rank and bus depot is a short walk out of the hotel and nearly all excursions covered your travel. the hotel was a beautiful and enjoyable place to stay the smell of all the wood as you walk through the entrance was so welcoming!

we only have one complaint...

sometimes at dinner you wait a rather long time for service but, we dont blame the staff as they were rushed off their feet so maybe some more staff for dinner is needed.

all in all we would love to come again and would strongly recommend it to anyone looking for a luxurious holiday, suitable for all types of holiday goers!

Room Tip: we had the double standard with view... the view we had was over the main road and a bit of land wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This hotel was nothing like we had stayed before it was huge, but it was always spotlessly clean and we felt safe, the food was a good variety , entertainment was good , drinks expensive as expected though. My daughter loved the chocolate pool and the kiddie pool, will return x

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lopesan Baobab Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lopesan Baobab Resort

Address: Mar Adriatico, 1, 35100 Meloneras, Gran Canaria, Spain
Location: Spain > Canary Islands > Gran Canaria > Meloneras
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Meloneras
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lopesan Baobab Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 677
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Priceline, Expedia and Despegar.com so you can book your Lopesan Baobab Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lopesan Baobab Hotel Maspalomas

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lopesan Baobab Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.